Eric Hutchinson
Sounds Like This


3.0
good

Review

by Persona6 USER (1 Reviews)
March 3rd, 2009 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist


Eric Hutchinson's album "Sounds Like This," is an interesting album name. You don't know what Eric Hutchinson sounds like? You are definitely missing out. It's a diverse plethora of style pouring from the heart of Eric Hutchinson. This is Hutchinson's third album and his talents are as diverse and entertaining on it as ever. He not only provides the vocals, but also plays piano, acoustic guitar, keyboard, percussion and the moog bass. He is supported by other musicians on this album as well, providing an amazing background.
The sound of Hutchinson's music has drawn comparisons from many styles, from Jason Mraz to Stevie Wonder and even The Beatles. When heard, only one thought should cross a person's mind: originality. His album is a clash of styles that form a symphony of great music. He has a touch of green-eyed soul, as some might say.
His opening act, "OK, It's Alright With Me," is how you will feel about the song describing how living a life has its problems, but they should not affect who you are. The album exerts mellow vibes that aim to calm the nerves of its listeners. It is a mellow style that encompasses the talents of Hutchingson's physical abilities and his understanding of many people's daily grinds.
The album has a song that not only sounds great, but also tells a story in a subliminal fashion. "Outside Villanova" is actually a song about him getting into a relationship with an under-aged girl, also known as "robbing the cradle." It turns out that he gets arrested at the end of his story and never really figured out why he wanted the relationship. The song is so smooth that you tend to disregard what the song is about until you recite the lyrics yourself.
The only problem I have with this album is its length. Only 10 songs long, it won't please those looking for an extensive collection. The quality and re-playability of this album should make up for the fact that it is so short. I didn't even notice it until I went through the album a second time.
This album is for listeners who like music that is mellow but fun and creative. It is also an album for those who have a sensitive ear for instrumentals. Grading this album on a five-star scale, I would give it a 4.5. It has great tracks that are going to be replayed generously. Hutchinson was wise to name the album as he did; he really sounds like this.


user ratings (19)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
doug (4)
Jason Mraz, but with balls....

related reviews

Moving Up, Living Down

Comments:Add a Comment 
charlesfishtitz
March 4th 2009


784 Comments


what is this?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fairly good review of an album I wouldn’t mind giving a listen. Although I personally doubt it could be as great as a 4.5. ‘Rock & Roll’ is definitely a catchy piece

kitsch
March 5th 2009


5107 Comments


its a 3 now?

TheDMV
March 5th 2009


64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a great melodic pop rock album I would reccommend it highly.

upagainstthewall
March 31st 2009


838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I dont mind this guy, pretty good

‘Rock & Roll’ is definitely a catchy piece

Thanks to Packed to the Rafters...

Funny that he is touring with jason mraz - they sound very similiar.



.
This Message Edited On 03.31.09

Douglas
May 10th 2009


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I heard 'ok, Its Alright Still Today' on rage, not to bad might check this guy out.

I would give it a 4.5

Then why the 3?This Message Edited On 05.10.09

AtavanHalen
May 10th 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I fucking hate this.

Douglas
May 10th 2009


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Blantent, but fair.

AtavanHalen
May 10th 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

blatant*

Douglas
May 10th 2009


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

watevs

AtavanHalen
May 10th 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

*wotevs

Douglas
May 10th 2009


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whatever*

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Shutup with the 'w' word ladies.

Douglas
May 10th 2009


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whatever.

AtavanHalen
May 10th 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Git farked

Douglas
May 10th 2009


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Oh, how I hate you. I hate you so much it gives me energy. I have to get up early in the morning just to hate you because there's not enough time in the day! Please go away!"
Sorry, I am watching a Dylan Moran DVD

AtavanHalen
May 10th 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Dear Tina,

Everybody hates you. Including people you haven't met yet.
Your mother rang just to say how great it is that you haven't called.

Douglas
May 10th 2009


9118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There's just something about Germans. You can listen to a nice, young, affable German fellow and he'll be saying things like "Vell, ja, dis is a critical time for Germany now, economically we are good, but ve have been better. Ve are investing a lot in ze arts, and emerging globally..." and you'll be there listening, thinking Mmm, yeah, mmm... Hitler... mm, yeah, Hitler, Hitler, Hitler, Hitler, Hitler, Hitler...

BSX
June 8th 2009


1633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sh!t AtavanHalen you're everywhere on this site

AtavanHalen
June 8th 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Like the wind baby



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy