Living Colour
Biscuits


3.0
good

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
March 2nd, 2009 | 32 replies | 7,958 views


Release Date: 1991 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 2 out-takes, 4 covers & 2 live recordings; yet only 6 tracks. However it adds up, this EP is predominantly for the fans.

Instead of the oddly titled ‘Biscuits’, ‘2 + 4 + 2 = 6’ probably would have been a better moniker for this EP, the 3rd release from NYC funk-metal quartet Living Colour. Strangely released while singles from previous LP ‘Times Up’ were still receiving airplay, it is simply structured to contain two live recordings, two out-takes and two cover versions of songs performed by well-known artists.

Kicking things off is the band’s above-average reworking of James Brown’s ‘Talkin Loud and Sayin Nothing’. Coming complete with turntable scratches, saxophone and Vernon Reid’s trademark guitar-work, the track flows well and holds interest throughout. More disappointing however, is the later take on Jimi Hendrix’s ‘Burning of the Midnight Lamp’. Was it the weight of expectation and comparisons that weighed Reid & Co down here, or is it simply a dull and dreary choice to have made? Surely something more challenging could have been attempted.

Of the 2 out-takes, one can easily see the reason why they did not make the cut for ‘Times Up’. The soulful, almost bluesy, rendering of Al Green’s ‘Love and Happiness’ begins very well, but leads nowhere as soon as the volume is turned up on the instruments. Similarly, EP closer ‘Money Talks’ contains portions of a potentially exciting up-tempo cut that includes some of the band’s telling lyrical content. However, when an earlier than usual guitar solo morphs into an extended instrumental jam section, the track well and truly runs off the rails.

That aforementioned jam could very well have worked better in a live setting, where the group once more proves their proficiency here. Bravely, they have chosen two of (debut LP) Vivid’s lesser-known tracks to appear and it pays dividends handsomely as both improve on their recorded versions! ‘Desperate People’ is especially impressive with William Calhoun’s ferocious drumming and Corey Glover’s snarling vocals brilliantly emphasizing the theme of the piece. Meanwhile, Talking Heads’ ‘Memories Cant Wait’ is given further life with an exhilarating performance that contains some surprisingly effective backing vocals from Muzz Skillings.

With the two live cuts being the highlights of this release and Living Colour’s penchant of including live recordings elsewhere (‘Times Up’ and the later “Best Of” titled ‘Pride’), it simply would have been better had they released a live album which also included one or two of the covers included here. While being nowhere near a write-off and being good value for money at 30 minutes in length, ‘Biscuits’ simply doesn’t have anything approaching outstanding on its four studio recordings to warrant listening to over any of their full-length releases. For that reason, this EP is predominantly for the fans.

Recommended Tracks: Desperate People (Live), Memories Can’t Wait (Live) & Talkin’ Loud and Sayin’ Nothing.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (9)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

At the moment, I'm mainly listening to bands that I will be seeing on Friday at the upcoming Soundwave Festival down under. So for the next week or so, I'll be slowly finishing off the Living Colour discography.

Merkaba33
February 22nd 2009


702 Comments


living color > Living Colour
(the show) (the band)

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sorry Merkaba, your comment fails on 2 counts:
(1) The show was called 'IN Living Color'
(2) The band is better than the show.

Vooligan
February 22nd 2009


3541 Comments


Nice review Davey, once again.
Wish i could get to Soundwave

Douchebag
February 22nd 2009


3624 Comments


Nice review as usual. I'm not going to soundwave (but I AM going to the final melbourne stray cats show!).

You gotta slow down with the reviews! I still need to check out that first living colour album lol.

Merkaba33
February 22nd 2009


702 Comments


oh big deal so i forgot the "in" lol and noooooooo the show is better i think. jim carey was a boss.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Billy, I presume $$$ is the problem. I'd hope so anyway, since the festival would be worth chucking a sickie for. Beg, steal, borrow (interest rates are low you know) & you can still make it.
Thankc Croc. Good to hear you are finally making it to the Stray Cats show. And I have slowed down with my reviews!!!


Vooligan
February 22nd 2009


3541 Comments


Yeah a combo of no cash and having a SAC on the same day, which i cant miss. Otherwise i probs would take a sickie.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That's a shame Billy. Can't schools organise around our music festivals? Disgusting on their behalf. LOL!
Just reading up on Brisbane's Soundwave now & it all seemed to go off well. The problem for us here in Melbourne is Friday's weather forecast!

Vooligan
February 22nd 2009


3541 Comments


Bloody disgraceful if you ask me, lol.
Is friday meant to be hot again? I'm so cut about not being able to see NIN, hope they come back.

Douchebag
February 22nd 2009


3624 Comments


Uh oh what's happening friday weatherwise?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, you could say Friday is going to be darn hot again. The forecast has been changing from day to day, but it's currently listed as 37. The day before & after is forecast as being a fair bit cooler though, so I don't think we are going to have a repeat of a couple of weeks ago.
And as for NIN Billy, from all reports these could indeed be their last Aussie shows for either ever or for a very long time.

Fugue
February 22nd 2009


7353 Comments


Nice one Davey, although I must admit I didnt quite get where you were coming from with the whole 2+4+2=6 thing.

sickofantsid
February 22nd 2009


129 Comments


I often don't fancy the stuff you review but always worth a visit.

Spamue1G
February 22nd 2009


1292 Comments


I haven't used last fm much in a while now, I might just start up again soon. Probably with these guys, but I doubt it'd be with this EP - I'm not a great fan of live CDs, although I love DVDs. Might just give the covers a listen, even so.
What you need to do now is a DFelon style review (i.e. pick one of your favourite albums and jizz over it for 20 pages), then I might be able to finally neg you you're just too good for that now. pos'd

Fugue
February 22nd 2009


7353 Comments


i.e. pick one of your favourite albums and jizz over it for 20 pages


made me lol

MassiveAttack
February 22nd 2009


2688 Comments


Still at the discography reviews, love 'em. Not many people can stay so determined. I always wanted to check these guys out, what album do you suggest?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Ross. Are you still confused with the 2 + 4 + 2 = 6 equation? If so, one of the out-takes & one of the live recordings are also covers, so there is a double-up there. Meh, I just like to confuse people I guess.
Thanks for the visit sickofantsid
LOL Spamue1. Sometimes it seems as though my favorable reviews go 20 pages anyway. Hmmm, I suppose I could get a little "hysterical"! ;-)
If there is one thing I am Marko, it is "determined". Haha. With these guys, definitely start at the beginning; 'Vivid'. The only down-side to doing that is that track-1 from album 1 is still the best song they have ever made... & I can assure everyone they won't top it EVER!

Douchebag
February 23rd 2009


3624 Comments


The new format on this site really confused me!

Jim
February 23rd 2009


5110 Comments


nice one davey.
probably won't investigate this, even though i enjoy vivid quite a bit thanks to your recommendation!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy