Saves the Day
Stay What You Are


4.5
superb

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
February 1st, 2009 | 628 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Tonight will be the night that we begin to ease the plugs out of the dam.

It happens every day. You hear a song that tickles your fancy and you make a mental note to check out the band only to have your sorry excuse for a memory to toss it out in order to learn something that it deems more important like algebra or your girlfriend's birthday. In 2001 the aforementioned scenario happened to me after hearing "At Your Funeral" on a local radio station, but luckily a few years later I was again reminded of Saves the Day when I became friends with a girl that loved their music more than she professed to love Jesus Christ. Ever since, there isn't a week that goes by with out me giving Saves the Day's Stay What You Are a few spins. It is the perfect Pop-Punk album.

The songs found on Stay What You Are are centered around the words of Chris Conley. He is a superb lyricist. The ideas he tackles are far from complex and the language he uses is relatively simplistic but the words are perfectly penned for the situations that the songs are describing. Just as Glassjaw's Everything You Ever Wanted To Know about Silence is the perfect album for dealing with a relationship gone sour, Stay What You Are is the soundtrack to teenage love. All the awkward moments, and infatuation are described to a tee. When Chris Conley sings
"And I hope, your majesty that you like your position/ I'll do everything I can to keep you by my side/ and I'll stare off through the darkness to find us a kingdom. Just kiss me before I go," it brings a sort of wistful innocence to mind. The same is true for the album's closer Firefly. The chorus of "To me you are the light/ from a light bulb that breaks sometimes/
and the tender warmth inside is released into my life", though relatively insipid on paper, resonates with me like few songs can.

Stay What You Are's finest moment is This Is Not An Exit. As far as pop punk ballads go, the only song that even comes close to This Is Not An Exit is The Get Up Kid's Out of Reach and it misses it by a mile. Every sentence drips with vivid imagery and a beautiful sense of honesty. This is accentuated by the simple yet perfectly fitting clean guitar. Instantly relatable lines like "...And sail/ belly up to the clouds/ the rocks scraping our backs/ To breathe in the air will be the only thing that we have," and "And you walk across the stage/ Take a bow, hear the applause, and as the curtain falls, just know you did it all," are what concert sing-a-longs are made out of.

For those that like Pop-Punk, Saves the Day's Stay What You Are is mana from heaven. If you've heard it before, chances are that there are some wonderful memories tied in with this album, and for those that never have, give it a chance to find its way in to some of your life's favorite moments.



Recent reviews by this author
At the Gates At War with RealityWeezer Everything Will Be Alright in the End
YOB Clearing The Path To AscendUnited Nations The Next Four Years
Matter TeraphimThe Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is There
user ratings (506)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Hogan CONTRIBUTOR (4.5)
Saves the Day's best release, and a huge milestone in the history of Pop Punk....

The_One (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2009


20857 Comments


Cue 'The Twilight Zone' music because I was literally just listening to this + some of their other tracks. Going to see them live in 4 weeks time!

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2009


17224 Comments


Nice! They are amazing live. If you ever get the chance to see Conley do an acoustic show take it. Its like a religious experience.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2009


20857 Comments


Noted. Say Anything is also on the bill, but Two Tongues have not been officially listed, so who knows!
By the way Adam, review was good. It was probably a little too lyrics-centric, but I sort of know why; It was personal & the music is nothing special & probably your typical pop-punk stuff.
I do agree that this is their best album by the way. But as I said in your Two Tongues review, I don't mind 'Under The Boards' at all.
As for best pop-punk ballad ever... Gee, that's a tough one. Maybe Bayside's 'Winter' or Taking Back Sunday's 'New American Classic'. I'm probably forgetting something obvious.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2009


17224 Comments


Thanks. I've been warming up to Under the Boards but i still find it somewhat underwhelming. It'll probably end up being like my experience with In Reverie: a luke warm reception that grows to a full on love.This Message Edited On 02.01.09

VicariousIntent
February 1st 2009


1597 Comments


Very nice review...I was waiting for someone to do a good review of this.
It's a shame how Saves The Day is sort of under appreciated on this site. Oh well.
Fantastic album, fantastic band. Nightingale is so beautiful. This whole album is a heartfelt masterpiece.
I need to get more of their stuff. I only have this, Sorry I'm Leaving and Through Being Cool.

bustyagunz
February 1st 2009


911 Comments


haha, i just bought this last night and like davey was just listening to it, loving it so far. great review

DaveBum69
February 1st 2009


699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great album, Nightengale is an amazing song, I love this band

Abaddon2005
February 1st 2009


684 Comments


good band/album. i don't think this is a 4.5, more like a 3.5. it doesn't really have anything special to me that puts it THAT high, though they are one of those bands i still listen to a lot in spite of that.This Message Edited On 02.01.09

Yotimi
March 25th 2009


6543 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I missed this review when it was posted I guess. I agree with what is said about "This is not an Exit". In my opinion it is EASILY the greatest pop/punk song of all time and will most likely never be touched. It's one of maybe 2 or 3 pop/punk songs I would even consider being close to epic.

Digging: Sand Circles - Motor City

Jom
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2009


2689 Comments


Amazing record.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2009


17224 Comments


a jom post! sweeeeeet.

PatchworkNeurology
November 16th 2009


352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best pop-punk record everrrrrr

Knott-
Emeritus
August 25th 2010


10198 Comments


theoretically should this album be about 38MB if you were to put it into a rar file

theoretically of course

cvlts
October 4th 2010


8976 Comments


one of the greatest poppunk records. like. ever.

accompliceofmydeath
October 4th 2010


4297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I always heard Through Being Cool was the shit. I only have this one and Sound the Alarm. Should I get any others?

Digging: Weekend Nachos - Unforgivable

Yotimi
October 4th 2010


6543 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah - check out my review for In Reverie.

accompliceofmydeath
October 4th 2010


4297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Will do.

Enotron
October 20th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

at times album is a bit homogenous, but still really awesome

Kiran
Emeritus
January 16th 2011


6002 Comments


def. one of the best pop punk records

Digging: Harry Nilsson - Nilsson Schmilsson

Yotimi
January 16th 2011


6543 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Def.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy