Agraceful
The Great I Am


2.0
poor

Review

by Bitstream USER (21 Reviews)
January 31st, 2009 | 35 replies | 8,747 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Unimaginative, immature, and overreaching. AGRACEFUL steers their potential in the wrong direction, with unfortunate results.

4 of 11 thought this review was well written

Sometimes, the fame of a new member carries the soon-to-be-popularity of a new group. Such is the case with Agraceful's debut, The Great I Am. The claim to fame for this band would be they have the ex-Emarosa singer as their front man. Ironically, Emarosa gained popularity for having the ex-Dance Gavin Dance singer. Moving on to the review itself, here goes:

The album is fairly disappointing. What could have been entertaining was marred by uninventive playing, bad mixing, and boring songwriting. The guitarists constantly illustrate their abilities of melodic and creative runs, but the execution is ineffective. The drummer follows a repetitive pop-punk / metalcore routine with mixing that brings cymbals and clicky bass to the front. The mixing of the guitars brings trebles to the front, and the low end (Along with the whole bass part) is sucked to the background.

The vocalist is eager to show off what he's learned since Emarosa, and he certainly does. Unfortunately, for the sake of songwriting, he should have taken it down a notch. His clean voice is good, although obviously layered, but the problem comes from his screams. He mainly uses a higher scratchy scream, but now he dips into low growls and yells. The growls sound fine on their own, but they rarely fit the music. If used more effectively than random switching, it would have been more effective, but it seems regardless of the music, he just does whatever he wants.

The songs are fairly repetitive, and the album ends up sounding almost the same on each song. The choruses are generic and almost all of them follow the same pattern. The verses are unimaginative metalcore playing with some occasional catchy melodic leads. Another thing is breakdowns. Lots of them. While everyone will draw their own opinion on those, I'm going to go ahead and call that a negative. Repetitive writing coupled with immature lyrics brings down this album that had potential for so much more.

The lyrics generally follow a boring faux-emo style. For example:

“The water is rising above my neck
The tide, it is pulling me farther away from everything
That I have grown to love
Away from everything I know
Pull me back in
With all this said I know that you're afraid
But I can't go on unless you're next to me
Take me now”


Quote:
"AGRACEFUL packs a definite punch on their debut Sumerian release "THE GREAT I AM." The record has everything from incredible vocal melodies to pummeling, intense breakdowns that would give the most heavy extreme band something to talk about. THE GREAT I AM has those parts that make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up while vocalist Chris Roetter is singing his ever so passionate lyrics. The message is something AGRACEFUL taps into quite frequently as they are a Christian band with something to say rather than be labeled something that they are not."
That is their description on their labels website. This illustrates common marketing techniques. Like lying.

In the end, this album comes across as a badly mixed, badly executed attempt. But it's a badly mixed, badly executed FIRST attempt. If they grow from their flaws, they might live up to some of the hype their label seems to adore. Hopefully, they try again with more vigor and a little more bass, and maybe then we'll remember them.



Recent reviews by this author
Sea of Treachery At Dagger's DawnDance Gavin Dance Downtown Battle Mountain
Jonny Craig A Dream Is A Question You Don't Know How To AnswerBorn of Osiris A Higher Place
Margot & the Nuclear So and So's The Dust of Retreatmc chris mc chris is dead
user ratings (134)
Chart.
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
sba4life
January 31st 2009



363 Comments


great review and I totally agree man

Zippermouth
February 1st 2009



1305 Comments


Very awkward review... way too ranty.

Asiatic667
February 1st 2009



4648 Comments


The lyrics are fairly immature and leave much to be desired.

An example would be nice
It's nothing special, and loses your attention really fast.

Speaking of which, the review could do with some work. maybe flesh it out a bit, and go into a little more detail on individual tracks
If the guitars learned to actually do something

Guitars are inanimate objects:Tools, and as tools they are only as good as the person playing them. Perhaps you meant to say Guitarists
This Message Edited On 02.01.09

Bitstream
February 1st 2009



296 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This is my first review I wrote in the little box. Usually, I write in a word document and paste it here. And it's ranty because it was too short to start with. Plus, I reaaally don't like this album.

Bitstream
February 1st 2009



296 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

LOL SINGINGER WAS A STUPID MISTAKE. Will fix. Thanks for spellchecking. Lesson learned.

WhiteTieBlackJacket
February 1st 2009



792 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I disagree.

Completely.

WARisalliknow91
February 12th 2009



493 Comments


I can't take this review seriously.
everyone has bias but you clearly wrote this review to express bias, not fact.

Bitstream
February 19th 2009



296 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Uhh, I think there's enough fact in there. The only biased part was the "band bio" I copied and pasted in a month later just for lols.

Bramm
February 20th 2009



15 Comments


quite a bad review, cd isnt like bad, but just normal id say...

upagainstthewall
February 25th 2009



838 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yuck

patswhatshesaid
March 18th 2009



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To the writer of the review:

you're a complete idiot.
please don't ever write a review on this site again.
you are probably musicly retarded.
just don't express your opinion.
cause i for sure don't wanna hear it.

Bitstream
March 19th 2009



296 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I love how you made an account just to tell me that. Yeah, this was a fail review. But the world doesn't revolve around you, hun.

HighandDriving
March 19th 2009



3288 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Fail review for a fail album.

stangz9
March 19th 2009



10 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I personally think the vocalist is the best part of this band. I do not find his high screams annoying, in fact it is what drew me to the old Emarosa and this band.

On the other hand, this band musically just isn't there. Its a vocalist with no help. It's too bad... this could have been so much better.

Bitstream
April 3rd 2009



296 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I pretty much completely rewrote this. Sadly, I think people will keep the negs. That's a shame.

upagainstthewall
April 3rd 2009



838 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

To the writer of the review:

you're a complete idiot.
please don't ever write a review on this site again.
you are probably musicly retarded.
just don't express your opinion.
cause i for sure don't wanna hear


Coming from a person who has just made an account, and has not submitted a decent review, if any.
Yes this site is about opinions, but not in reviews like this one has but still need to rag on seeing its his first review.. CONSTRUCTIVE. you are the idiot..

I needed a rant.

Bitstream
April 3rd 2009



296 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

That wasn't my first review... It was a bad one that I completly re-wrote three minutes ago.

upagainstthewall
April 3rd 2009



838 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Oh sorry.. just trying to bring order to the noobs

This is my first review I wrote in the little box.


i only read the first part of the sentence.This Message Edited On 04.03.09

Bitstream
April 3rd 2009



296 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Them noobs need to know who's boss, that's right. And yeah, this got negged alot, so I improved it, but I don't think anyones going to come back and switch it. Between this and saying Fortress Instrumental was excellent, approval went down, down, down.This Message Edited On 04.03.09

As I Fall
May 27th 2009



5 Comments


I think that overall the album was a complete let down. The thinks that I liked about roetter from emarosa didn't show up as much in this album. I'd like to point out that I that all the songs were bad except 2 that I thought were good and 1 that I thought was ok.. The one that I thought could of redeemed my faith that this band could potentially put out a good second effort was The Great I Am and These Servants are Tounges Of Fire Pt.2. The Great I Am was sort of nice and a subdued epic and the tounges was pretty much the sound they were trying to go for but done right.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy