Wintersun
Wintersun


2.0
poor

Review

by devsol USER (4 Reviews)
January 27th, 2009 | 844 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: a tedious journey into metal clichés that just cannot stop ruining itself

Beginning with a thinly played melody that is both as catchy as hell and an interestingly juxtaposed piece of greatness against the load of bullshit that is yet to come, Wintersun’s debut is the supposed culmination of all folk/power metal, the spawn of Ensiferum, the holy grail for all tasteless metalheads who are deeply enveloped in their ever decreasing standards when it comes to originality and well written music. Akin to how Necrophagist failed at writing a good song with their constant barrage of technicality, Wintersun never seems to rid itself of completely forgettable melodies and at oftentimes cringe-worthy hooks, the band’s brittle song writing and repeated musical ideas coming to effect with tunes that sound similar to every other such album, more often than not even repeating themselves to the point where one feels like the album is chasing its own tail.

Jari Mäenpää of Ensiferum fame heads Wintersun, and the similarities between the two entities is very evident; his performance as a musician is equally as poor in both bands. Asides from the terribly unoriginal and repetitive song writing which is yet to be elaborated on, Jari’s vocal performance is nothing short of tiresome and annoying, his screams never changing pitch and contributing to every song sounding exactly the same. His cleans are in line with the medieval inspired synth effects – utterly mawkish, adding to the album’s dull and clichéd concept.

After the short and promising ‘Beyond the Dark Sun’, the overly long ‘Winter Madness’ wastes no time in pronouncing Wintersun as a great in the halls of the metal gods; in other words, expect from Wintersun not good songs, but consistently irritating chugga chug riffing, below par drumming and solos that are thought to be superb purely on the tempo at which they’re played. ‘Sleeping Stars’ is perhaps the band’s first attempt at proving that they’re not all about sucking the Norse god’s genitalia; the song begins with what one could loosely describe as an ‘atmospheric’ section, but is a complete waste of time in an album that mostly travels at the speed of the Faceless had they been schooled in Asgard rather than California. Furthermore, the melody that opens the song sounds unsurprisingly similar to the one that opened ‘Beyond the Dark Sun’, not two songs before. ‘Starchild’ then goes on to reintroduce us to this melody, though a slightly different variation, leaving one to wonder whether the entire album was based off the same composition and tweaked just enough so as to make it seem varied to the casual listener.

It’s this which ultimately makes Wintersun a complete travesty of a metal album; it relies on the repetition of similar ideas throughout its entire length to cover the distance, the worst of the genre’s ideas at that, and it would only take the majority of the metal listening populace to not realise this as a complete sham. Wintersun are probably sitting in their wooden huts in the mountains of Finland laughing at their own false success, enjoying the benefits of a witless fan base.


user ratings (1122)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of
related reviews

Time I

Comments:Add a Comment 
gaslightanthem
January 27th 2009


5209 Comments


album always was laughably overrated

fireaboveicebelow
January 27th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

even though this is overrated the review comes off as jealous and bitter

devsol
January 27th 2009


347 Comments


yeah of course, im really jealous of all the people that like this i wish i was them

fireaboveicebelow
January 27th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

no, it reads like you're jealous of the people on the record, you can't deny they have a lot of talent regardless of whether you like this or not, The Faceless have no reason to be mentioned either

you really don't even elaborate at all on any points, and parts where you think you make points you just sound stupid

His cleans are in line with the medieval inspired synth effects – utterly mawkish, adding to the album’s dull and clichéd concept.
his clean vocals sound nothing like the insipid gregorian chants you say they do, and do you even know the concept of the album no because you would've talked about it
Sleeping Stars’ is perhaps the band’s first attempt at proving that they’re not all about sucking the Norse god’s genitalia; the song begins with what one could loosely describe as an ‘atmospheric’ section, but is a complete waste of time in an album that mostly travels at the speed
so variation is useless if you don't like it?This Message Edited On 01.27.09

devsol
January 27th 2009


347 Comments


you can't deny they have a lot of talent

yes i can seeing as i just did with this review
you really don't even elaborate at all on any points

there are plenty of points made in the review, all of which i cover rather well while keeping myself brief and to the point.
his clean vocals sound nothing like the insipid gregorian chants you say they do, and do you even know the concept of the album no because you would've talked about it

when did i mention gregorian chanting? or maybe you think 'medieval' and 'gregorian' are the same thing, in which you're an idiot. and it seems like you know the concept, why don't you tell me about it im dying to hear because it really makes a difference to how the album sounds
so variation is useless if you don't like it?

variation is useless if it doesn't fit in with the album. a death metal band using rap sections might make them varied but not by any means good

devsol
January 27th 2009


347 Comments


i think you're just butthurt because they're sitting in their huts laughing at YOU

fireaboveicebelow
January 27th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes i can seeing as i just did with this review
ok I'll rephrase saying these two people have no talent is like saying 7+5=11 you're just wrong, I'm not even talking about songwriting
there are plenty of points made in the review, all of which i cover rather well while keeping myself brief and to the point.
way to back yourself up there with a predictable statement
when did i mention gregorian chanting? or maybe you think 'medieval' and 'gregorian' are the same thing, in which you're an idiot. and it seems like you know the concept, why don't you tell me about it im dying to hear because it really makes a difference to how the album sounds
Gregorian can be placed with medieval sound as it had a large impact on it, study up
variation is useless if it doesn't fit in with the album. a death metal band using rap sections might make them varied but not by any means good
..because that's totally the same thing!
i think you're just butthurt because they're sitting in their huts laughing at YOU
oh you know it, it feels so goodThis Message Edited On 01.27.09

devsol
January 27th 2009


347 Comments


you're just wrong, I'm not even talking about songwriting

good defense there, 'you're just wrong', because opinions can be just wrong. having technical talent =/= musical talent
Gregorian can be placed with medieval sound as it had a large impact on it, study up

haha I'd just stop now if i were you. i don't even say his singing sounds like gregorian chants, which just shows you haven't even read the review. read it again dumbarse
'His cleans are in line with the medieval inspired synth effects – utterly mawkish, adding to the album’s dull and clichéd concept.'
I'm talking about the synth effects when I use the word medieval, not his singing.
..because that's totally the same thing!

it doesn't matter if it's not the same thing, it just proves my point that variation isn't necessarily a good thing

JumpTheF**kUp
January 27th 2009


2716 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hahaha awesome review

taylormemer
January 27th 2009


4953 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol

lucazade22
January 27th 2009


532 Comments


sorry but you're wrong. This album is great. Can't wait for the new one!!!

Thor
January 27th 2009


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

below par drumming

You fail for saying that.

Digging: Black Crown Initiate - The Wreckage of Stars

jingledeath
January 27th 2009


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

review was good but I didn't enjoy reading it, though the spat between you and fireabove was entertaining.

taylormemer
January 27th 2009


4953 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ah, this just keeps on gettin' better.

rasputin
January 27th 2009


14555 Comments


hahaThis Message Edited On 01.27.09

gaslightanthem
January 27th 2009


5209 Comments


mhmm

Thor
January 27th 2009


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

After the short and promising ‘Beyond the Dark Sun’, the overly long ‘Winter Madness’ wastes no time in pronouncing Wintersun as a great in the halls of the metal gods; in other words, expect from Wintersun not good songs, but consistently irritating chugga chug riffing, below par drumming and solos that are thought to be superb purely on the tempo at which they’re played.

It sounds like you just don't like the genre as a whole. Is there something in this sound/genre that you could compare this to and say that something is a bit better, or are you just using this review as an excuse to slam the genre as a whole? Just asking.

devsol
January 27th 2009


347 Comments


i don't dislike power metal this is just a poor album

Thor
January 27th 2009


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I liked review for it's brevity and occasional wit (the first paragraph was pretty solid) but I got a bad impression from that quote in my post above. That exerpt made it seem like you weren't just writing for this album, but the genre as a whole, which I always have had a problem with. It would be like writing a jazz review and complaining that there are too many solos.

devsol
January 27th 2009


347 Comments


the genre as a whole certainly does have those elements that i mentioned but the point is that a lot of other bands do it far better



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy