Rook
Add Colour


4.5
superb

Review

by Billy USER (32 Reviews)
January 24th, 2009 | 70 replies | 8,612 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The little band that could

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

For over six years Rook have been mainstays of the Melbourne alternative rock scene, their talent and prowess obvious in the live arena but, while their earlier EPs showed the band’s potential, they never really managed to (pardon the pun) add the colour of their live shows to record (bar the amazing Live on Manchester Lane). On Add Colour however, this has changed with Rook managing to put together five songs that are all subtly different, showing off the bands wide range of influences, without sounding like any of them.

With previous studio releases being plagued by dodgy production and recording Rook put an end to that on Add Colour enlisting Shihad drummer Tom Larkin to produce and uber-producer Forrester "the fourth/fifth/sixth member of every band in Australia" Savell to mix and master the record. The result has payed dividends for the band as it has brought their funk and reggae infused alt rock to levels rivalling scene giants Karnivool and Dead Letter Circus.

After a short intro track, first single “27 Seconds” begins and it is immediately obvious just how far Rook has come in the last few years in both song writing and musicianship. Featuring .hinge’s Glenn Johnstone on guest backup vocals, “27 Seconds” has a slow build up before vocalist Forbes McKail shows of his new and improved range in the soaring chorus, proving to be one of the finer moments on the record and showing why McKail is considered one of the better rock vocalists in Melbourne.

“Come” is a typical Rook track, funk infused alternative rock with McKail’s commanding vocals, while “Sonny” shows how tight the band has become since their last EP. “Sonny” sees Bassist Adam May and guitarist Tyson Fish taking the lead taking the traditional Australian alt rock sound and infusing some funk and reggae for good measure. While on paper it sounds like it doesn’t work, Rook manage to blend the genres seamlessly to create what is the standout track on the EP.

For the final two tracks “Then The Jury Decides...” and “Animals and Chemicals”, Rook turn to their more progressive influences such as Karnivool and Tool, again showing their wide range of influences. “Then The Jury Decides” sees McKail take a more aggressive approach to his singing on what is the heaviest song on the EP, while “Animals and Chemicals” gives drummer Rod Crowe his chance to shine, his thumping hits providing the perfect back drop for the rest of the band to let loose and McKail to again, show off his vocal prowess.

All in all, with Add Colour, Rook have done exactly that, adding some needed colour to their music and while the only major complaint for the EP is its length (a measly 22 minutes) Rook have managed to offset this by creating a killer set of songs which will only see them move higher on the pecking order of the ever growing alternative rock scene in Australia.


Listen to “27 Seconds” and “Then The Jury Decides...” here: www.myspace.com/rookband



Recent reviews by this author
Twelve Foot Ninja Silent MachineMonuments Gnosis
Uneven Structure FebruusFair to Midland Arrows and Anchors
Trial Kennedy Living UndesignedOver-Reactor Lose Your Delusion
user ratings (15)
Chart.
4.3
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
MassiveAttack
January 24th 2009



2688 Comments


A tiny bit vague for my taste, but it is your first review and its solid. I kinda feel this sentence is a run-on:

With previous studio releases being plagued by dodgy production and recording Rook put an end to that on Add Colour enlisting Shihad drummer Tom Larkin to produce uber-producer Forrester "the fourth/fifth/sixth member of every band in Australia"

Hope to see more

Vooligan
January 24th 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks MassiveAttack, fixed that sentence up a little bit now so it should look alright.

bastard
January 25th 2009



3435 Comments


ist das plagerized Billy?

Vooligan
January 25th 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nein, go look yourself.

bastard
January 25th 2009



3435 Comments


doesn't like it is...

welcome back brotha

Vooligan
January 25th 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ta, but i must urge you to check these guys out.

bastard
January 25th 2009



3435 Comments


yeah they seem pretty good from your reviewing, even though they don't seem like my type of band.

Vooligan
January 25th 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

give em a go anyways

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2009



20856 Comments


Good stuff Billy. Like Marko said, your sentences often run on too long, so just keep an eye on that in the future. There are also a couple of spelling mistakes ('payed' instead of 'paid') & 'of' instead of 'off' in the 3rd paragraph. All in all though, a pretty good review.
As for Rook, I've never really looked into them and it sounds like I should. When you said alt-rock with touches of reggae & funk, I'll give you 1 guess which band I thought of immediately... Living Colour! How timely!


Vooligan
January 25th 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers Davey, i shall fix nowish, you know i get told the same thing in literature at school, my sentances are too long.
Yes as i said to max, you should check these guys out quick smart. Cant compare them to living colour as i havent heard them yet though. I'll leave that up to you.

Spamue1G
January 25th 2009



1292 Comments


From the review, I expect them to sound exactly like Mammal. I'll have a listen, as I like Mammal, but I have a feeling there's a few other bands that I should check out before these guys.

Good review, got nothing to add as far as criticism goes. pos.

Jim
January 27th 2009



5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they're not really like mammal, just great alt rock.
i've streamed this a few times since it's release but haven't grabbed a copy for myself yet. it's quite good.
good review billy. nothing more than this is required for a release like this really.

Vooligan
January 27th 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ta james. i'm really, really starting to like this band

Vooligan
February 21st 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They've put two more songs up on their myspace from this. (Sonny and Animals & Chemicals).
Listen to them people.

Captain North
March 21st 2009



6784 Comments


Just checked these guys out on myspace. Sonny is a really awesome song. 27 seconds is cool too, but I'm not sure they're cut out for heavier stuff like The Jury Decides.

Vooligan
March 21st 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah Sonny and 27 Seconds are my faves. Really, what makes you think that? I thought Then The Jury Decides was one of their more well written and executed songs.

Captain North
March 21st 2009



6784 Comments


They just don't seem to have their heart in it, I mean its well intended and everything, but they lack the oomph, the anger to do something that heavy.

Vooligan
March 27th 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Saw and met these guys at Fed Square last night, nice as blokes. They were playing a free gig, the songs on here translate awesomely live, specially 27 Seconds and Then the Jury Decides.
Oh and as a side note, turns out these guys all used to go to my school. Mass respect.This Message Edited On 03.27.09

Vooligan
December 10th 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Rook have split. Fucking sucks. Mammal, Bushido, Icarus and now Rook in the space of a couple of months...

Rumour floating around that Forbes is going to sing for the Mammal guys' new band.

Piglet
January 17th 2010



4653 Comments


this looks interesting



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy