House of Pain
Truth Crushed to Earth Shall Rise Again


4.0
excellent

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
January 18th, 2009 | 45 replies


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist

Review Summary: House Of Pain’s 3rd & final album is a mainstream tilt which was arguably ahead of its time and ultimately resulted in the band’s demise. The trio’s most rounded, consistent & memorable LP is grossly under-appreciated.

Album structures can often be determined by the genre of music performed. For instance, on a large proportion of hip-hop albums, quantity seems to reign supreme over quality. Such LPs will usually contain upwards of 17 tracks, including a lot of short songs and an overabundance of filler. House Of Pain’s 1992 debut release was one such release, containing 18 tracks where only one song made it to the 4 minute mark. Conversely, on the trio’s third and final album, ‘Truth Crushed To Earth, Shall Rise Again’ (TCTESRA), six of the thirteen tracks reach that same duration. Most importantly though, the cuts included here which do cross the 4 minute barrier are for the most part the album’s better tracks, resulting in a feeling of quality over quantity in this case.

Following the lukewarm commercial reception to the much more hardcore sounding ‘Same As It Ever Was’, House Of Pain were required to make a decision as to which direction they were heading with their sound. They eventually attempted to incorporate their distinctive style into a more mainstream sounding and conventionally structured album. That may not be apparent initially as the first few tracks act as a bridge of sorts between albums, with the ominous sounding opener ‘The Have Nots’ sounding as if it could have easily come off this album’s predecessor. However, after an arguably sluggish start, ‘TCTESRA’ kicks into gear with its mid-section (notably tracks 5-11) impressing.

‘Earthquake’ kicks off this phase of excellence, proving how good House Of Pain can be when Everlast’s dark and raspy vocals combine well with Danny Boy’s smoother style. The cut flows superbly throughout its near five minute duration and has a super conventional sounding chorus to top it off. The choruses are a huge key to this album’s success, as they are catchy, memorable & recitable more often than not. For another example, see the double billing of single ‘Fed Up’ in the positions of tracks 2 and 11. The original version contains tinges of reggae, while the superior remix has a dancier vibe and a value-adding cameo by Guru.

The party anthems that were missing from the trio’s second album are also back. Released single ‘Pass The Jinn’ is one example of this, but it is outdone by album highlight ‘Choose Your Poison’, which has numerous recitable lyrics throughout. In addition to an effective bass loop and an excellent middle verse by Danny Boy, the chorus is simply contagious, if a little cheesy; “Hey now come on y’all, if there’s money in your pocket and you’re walking tall, make your way to the bar, get your poison chose and drink it old-school style in your b-boy pose”.

Another component that went AWOL on ‘Same As It Ever Was’ was clever and/or memorable lyrics, which thankfully return here in a variety of guises. From the boasting that littered the debut, to the more aggressive themes of the follow-up, House Of Pain improves on this outing. There is even the cheeky and naughty, which is best served up on the playful ‘Shut The Door’, as Everlast at one stage professes “You want the 4-1-1, baby here’s my style, I like ‘em young, but I’m no freakin’ pedophile”. And add that track as another with a catchy and recitable chorus.

Of course, there still is some filler included on ‘TCTESRA’, but it does not seem an accident that for the most part, they are the shorter songs on the album. ‘What’s That Smell’, ‘No Doubt’, ‘X-Files’ and ‘Killa Rhyme Klik’ are all only so-so, but they average out to approximately 3 minutes each in duration. Furthermore, most of these cuts provide a variety in sound with some reggae flashes courtesy of guest artists Divine Styler & Cockney O’Dire, as well as some sci-fi like musical hooks. Even the customary closing shout-outs cut isn’t too bad here on the back of an effective bass loop.

There is admittedly a mainstream tilt to ‘Truth Crushed To Earth, Shall Rise Again’ which will offend some hardcore rap aficionados. To that extent, this album was a little ahead of its time considering the proliferation of mainstream hip-hop which was to follow years later. Unfortunately, due to all of this, it can also be seen as the album which resulted in House Of Pain’s break-up. Regardless, this is arguably the trio’s most rounded, consistent and memorable album of their career. For that reason, it is grossly under-appreciated and worth revisiting for hip-hop fans.

Recommended Tracks: Choose Your Poison, Fed Up (Remix), Earthquake & Shut The Door.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (32)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok, who's the d!ckhead that rated this a 1 & lowered the average rating?

AtavanHalen
January 18th 2009


17927 Comments


Who's the freak who's close to 100 reviews and reviewing a House of Pain album without Jump Around on it?

Douchebag
January 18th 2009


3624 Comments


lol ^

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ooh Ooh, I know... It's that stud... What's his name... DaveyBoy.

AtavanHalen
January 18th 2009


17927 Comments


NO HIS NAME IS CHAMP KIND

Spamue1G
January 18th 2009


1292 Comments


Are the lyrics better on this album than on the self-titled? Cos if so, I might hold off getting the debut and get this instead - I'm too busy (read: lazy) to do much independent research, so any help on that would be much appreciated
Great review, easy to read, concise, (insert compliment here).

soundless
January 18th 2009


171 Comments


I APPRECIATE LYRICS

Spamue1G
January 18th 2009


1292 Comments


I APPRECIATE YOUR MUM
Sorry, had to be done

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Spamue1, if I had to choose one or the other album that had the better lyrics, I'd probably just go with the self-titled. It's all in the delivery however, as they are quite different between the 2 albums. This is a lot more polished (production-wise) than the raw debut, while there is also more variation here from a vocal standpoint since DannyBoy raps a lot more than previously. So yeah, it comes down more to personal taste; Whether you like raw old-school rap or polished up mainstream rap.

Spamue1G
January 18th 2009


1292 Comments


Ah right. I'll go with the self-titled then, thanks
EDIT: I found a torrent for the best of House of Pain, which seems to be a much easier option with something like this.This Message Edited On 01.18.09

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh hell yeah, as much as a lot of people are always rubbishing a 'Best Of' compilation for one reason or another, they are often the best way of getting into bands... Or at least seeing where to start with a band's discography.
When you give it a listen, let me know what stands out.

Fugue
January 18th 2009


7354 Comments


So uhh why did these guys split? Because it seems to me like they were making pretty decent music.

Digging: Damien Rice - My Favourite Faded Fantasy

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey Ross. I think that pretty much the main reason for the split was Everlast's infatuation with branching out and making folky acoustic albums... Which he ended up doing with his 'Whitey Ford' series of LPs. One shouldn't forget that he was also given a shot of confidence when he had that worldwide hit with Carlos Santana.
From what I know, this album also didn't sell too well. Like I said in the summary to my review, it was arguably ahead of its time. But it was also in between audiences. Everlast's raspy voice wasn't exactly mainstream, while the slicker production and near-poppy nature to this release most probably alienated a lot of the trio's fans.

robin
Emeritus
January 18th 2009


4257 Comments


good work as always dave. never even heard of this band, but i'll rpboably give this a listen seeing as it seems to be the album you hold in highest-esteem by them.

Fugue
January 18th 2009


7354 Comments


Ahh makes sense, so would you say that this is a good place to start, or should I try to get the debut as the only House of Pain song I know is "Jump Around", and I think I remember you saying it was quite accessible. This Message Edited On 01.18.09

bastard
January 18th 2009


3435 Comments


nice review, haven't heard this album, but review makes me want to check it out.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 18th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Robin, surely you've heard 'Jump Around'?
Ross, see my above response(s) to Spamue1 for the answer to your question. I do think they have an actual released 'Best Of', so that may in fact be the go.
I'd actually like to know what you think of this Maxy. It's quite different to their debut. I think this has aged quite well.


DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

*****NEWSFLASH*****
Brock Kentman reporting here where we've just learnt that there has been a leak in the DaveyBoy camp concerning his upcoming 100th review. According to un-named sources, the reviews for the 2 front-runners to fill the slot - Def Leppard's "Hysteria" and Rise Against's "Appeal To Reason" - have indeed both been written!
When contacted for a comment, the man himself had the following to say: "At this stage I'm taking it one review at a time and keeping my options open. I can neither confirm nor deny the allegations... But if I get my hands on the f**ker that leaked the information, I'm gonna manually insert my hand into his throat & rip his vocal chords out. Thank you very much and have a nice day".
Betting markets have adjusted with this news, seeing Hysteria paying $1.50 for your $1, while Appeal To Reason wll get you back $2.20. No other album is currently in the market.

Fugue
January 19th 2009


7354 Comments


I'd go Appeal to Reason, not hugely confident though, if I were a betting man I think £5 would be my limit.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

5 pounds is a lot more in Aussie dollars with the way the exchange rate is right now Ross. But I see you're a man of deep pockets, so your bet is taken to win 11 of whatever currency we are dealing in (Monopoly money most likely).



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy