Iron Thrones
Visions of Light


4.0
excellent

Review

by Crimson USER (60 Reviews)
January 6th, 2009 | 43 replies | 8,137 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Although they have a bit of a way to go before being up there with the veterans of prog metal, Iron Thrones don't half know how to make an entrance.

Here's something I noticed the other day. My top three CD's of '08 were débuts by bands I'd never even heard of before. I'm not going to go into detail and name them, because that would be far too trivial, but it does show one thing, if only for me; 2008 was the year of the débuts, as ridiculous as that sounds. So, in order to strengthen my view and impose it upon all you lesser mortals, I put forward Iron Thrones and their début release, Visions Of Light!

Iron Thrones play prog metal Opeth style, with lots of amazing riffs and atmospheric soft acoustic breaks, and a vocalist that roars and screams his way through every track like a better Tommy Rogers (Between The Buried and Me). Although young, their style is very mature and convincing in it's delivery, the production is slick and powerful, while songs flow and develop naturally. The appeal of this young band lies not in their originality, but simply in the way that the songwriting is absolutely phenomenal on this release. Even the instrumentals on the album are stunning, in fact, they're one of my favourite parts about the album. While not being the most varied release, it doesn't get repetitive, and each track stands on it's own with it's own highlights and moments of brilliance. 'Still Waters' has a climax that is simply phenomenal, 'The Final Farewell' is succesful thanks to it's amazing acoustics and classical solo arrangements, while a track like 'Cover of Smoke' is simply beastly, coming in at no less than twelve minutes.

For an unsigned band releasing their début, the production on Visions Of Light is stellar. The guitars are definitely at the front of the music, but not enough to get overbearing, they let the rest of the instruments breathe. Thankfully, the guitarists manage to justify being the band's centre point, blasting out riffs as if they have been doing this for years. They can be technical, melodic, aggressive or soothing, and they pull it all off well. But yet despite this, Visions Of Light is still easy to listen to. It's a focused effort that doesn't jump around haphazardly, you can listen to this in the background for it's beautiful atmosphere, or focus in on it and notice all the amazing subtleties (just listen to the last three minutes of 'Cover Of Smoke', it's up there with my favourite musical moments of the year), even when the guitarists blast away with a blistering solo, it is always done tastefully and never sounds forced. Even at a tender age, the music that Iron Thrones play puts many an established act to shame.

All in all, Visions Of Light will appeal to many people, it's a solid, focused effort from one of the brighter young acts in the metal scene. Although long, and a bit overbearing at first, Visions Of Light reveals itself to be one of the most well constructed prog metal albums of the year, up there with the best of them. Although they have a bit of a way to go before being up there with the veterans of prog metal, Iron Thrones don't half know how to make an entrance.



Recent reviews by this author
Ea Au EllaiEa Ea II
We Insist! The Babel Inside Was TerribleBe'lakor Stone's Reach
Senate The Great Northern ScenekillNahemah A New Constellation
user ratings (59)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crimson
January 6th 2009


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

probably should have been on my 2008 top 20 list, but ah well.

BallsToTheWall
January 6th 2009


44294 Comments


Long time no see stranger. About time this had a review, good work. Track listing is a little sketchy though. What amazes me is how many prog-metal bands do it Opeth style. These guys, In Mourning, Ikuinen Kaamos, and cutting it short with Bilocate. It's like post metal where every band rips off Neurosis. Nonetheless, I love it.

Digging: Tiamat - Clouds

Crimson
January 6th 2009


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh aye, I tried not to mention Opeth at all, but I had to throw them in once, because you WILL be reminded of them when you listen to this. What do you mean about the track listing, it's the one that the band actually give out, so it's probably correct :P Thanks as well though, I've been pretty busy lately, I try and get online but meh.

BallsToTheWall
January 6th 2009


44294 Comments


Must have been technical difficulties because last time I went on here, the whole side was blank. I like how this band allows you to download this from there site, except for having to give your adress.

Nagrarok
January 6th 2009


8239 Comments


Your review makes me want to check out these guys.

*goes off to check out these guys*

FistfulOfSteel
January 6th 2009


894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Waiting for a review on this. Great album, love the solos and all. Always find it hard to listen to the last track after hearing something as epic as Cover of Smoke.

AngelPhoenix
January 6th 2009


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This isn't prog metal?
Well either way, it's damn good, nice review Crimson.

KSE19
January 6th 2009


37 Comments


I downloaded this off their site.. it wasn't bad. Gonna give this a couple more listens before I rate it though.

Crimson
January 6th 2009


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This isn't prog metal?

Iron Thrones play prog metal Opeth style

I didn't add the band in the database.

jrowa001
January 6th 2009


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yay! go Crimson! glad to see this finally up. your rating and review basically summed up this album perfectly. i agree that this band has much room for improving and growing, yet at an early stage of their career they have made an album that most other bands could never accomplish. im glad i told you about this album. you should also mention how awesome the dudes are that are in the band (i.e. how on last.fm theyll talk to you about new bands and what not). you can just tell they love music.

heylelshalem
January 7th 2009


71 Comments


im going to check these guys out! if they are anything close to opeth im sure ill really dig on this.

Zoo
January 7th 2009


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good stuff Crimson. Album is pretty awesome.

jingledeath
January 7th 2009


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hmm album is quite fucking awesome.

Great review man.

Cover of Smoke kinda gave me an Ikuinen Kaamos vibe, only less dark.This Message Edited On 01.07.09

lauriej
January 7th 2009


1711 Comments


dled today, will listen soon. how do you find this stuff??

Digging: Robin Trower - Bridge of Sighs

Crimson
January 7th 2009


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

jrowa rec'd this one to me

jrowa001
January 7th 2009


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i found this on a blog. thats where i find most of the albums i recommend. but rarely do i find something great like this.

thomasj12e34
January 7th 2009


195 Comments


favorite release of the year and good review

gaslightanthem
January 8th 2009


5209 Comments


sounds good - will look into this
oh and

My top three CD's of '08 were débuts by albums I'd never even heard of before.

bands maybe? lol!

AngelPhoenix
January 9th 2009


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jebus Cripes this is fantastic

Nagrarok
January 16th 2009


8239 Comments


Shouldn't this be on the metal page istead of the rock page it is now?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy