Nirvana
Nevermind


3.0
good

Review

by Killtacular USER (34 Reviews)
July 15th, 2005 | 1443 replies


Release Date: 1991 | Tracklist


Ah, Nirvana. To many, they represent one of the greatest rock bands to come out in quite some time. Nirvana's rampant success is usually attributed to this album, and rightfully so, as it's the album that launched them into the mainstream. Ranked number nineteen on Rolling Stones Greatest 500 Albums list, Nevermind is filled with distorted guitars, memorable lines, and catchy overall songs. It contains twelve tracks, with a running time of just over fourty-three minutes. What is within, is mostly good.

This album is host to some of Nirvana's best songs. Smells Like Teen Spirit is the most popular, and easily recognizable. It's also probaly the most important, as it helped launch them into fame. The clean intro is a staple to up and coming guitar players looking to learn some of their favorite songs. Vocals here are nigh understandable, as Cobain mumbles nearly everything. The solo contained within emulates the vocal melody present in the chorus, and is a nice touch. Come As You Are is one of my favorite tracks here. It's got a wonderful guitar line, good vocals, and some fairly decent lyrics. "And I swear that I don't have a gun" repeats Kurt during the bridge. This song also contains a solo, and it works fairly well. Lithium is also a fan favorite, with it's frequent shouting during the chorus and soft vocals during the verse. It also contains a great line in "I'm so horny, but that's okay/My will is good."

Musically, this album isn't really anything spectacular. It's all fairly simple stuff. This isn't a bad thing, though. If you're a musician, the songs here should be fairly easy and fun to play, which is always good for beginners. There's also a few great musical moments here. The cello in Something in the Way is wonderful, and adds to Cobains monotone vocals. The solos are done sufficiently. They aren't out to blister your ears, but they do their job. Mr. Grohl does his job well. The drums always fit the songs, and even add to them at times. Bass from Mr. Novaselic is done properly, as well. The intro to In Bloom is good. Often times, the verses are devoid of guitar, leaving just bass and drums. Breed's bassline is chunky and fits perfectly with the high-pitched guitar.

Overall, this is a pretty good album. It's not the giant, steaming pile of genius some make it out to be, but it still makes for a good listen. It changed the mind of the mainstream public to allow grunge bands to be a commercial success. This also helps them be over-rated. Does this change it from being a good album. No. So go on, give it a listen. If you like rock, you should be able to enjoy it. It's not really complicated or mind-blowing, but it's full of catchy, simple songs. That's good enough.


SCRUPLES



Recent reviews by this author
The Dillinger Escape Plan Calculating InfinitySunn O))) The Grimmrobe Demos
Mr. Bungle CaliforniaBrian Eno Ambient 1: Music For Airports
Staind Break the CycleNine Inch Nails The Fragile
user ratings (5070)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rudd13
July 15th 2005


952 Comments


...............I just saw this sumwhere!!!

I swear!!!

Killtacular
July 15th 2005


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It doesn't matter, because mine's better.

Rudd13
July 15th 2005


952 Comments


hahaha, yea it really is. Great job dude, keep it up. I think you should be a 15 after this review. It only seems fair.....

......Still, sucks for the other guy. Hey, you gota feel SOME pity, you knocked him right outta the spotlight!!!!!!




masada
July 15th 2005


2733 Comments


Good review, as always. :thumb:

I would give this album a 4, honestly. It's great, but a lot of people base it on it's profound influence.

Killtacular
July 15th 2005


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I do feel a little sorry for stealing his spotlight. But not very much because it will teach him to write better reviews. Hopefully.

I was Top 15 for like... a day. Then I was knocked off by Final Origin. And then I got some negative votes on some reviews, so it'll take me at least one more review to make it back.This Message Edited On 07.15.05

SlashHalen
July 16th 2005


2 Comments


its an ok review. The format was rather hard. And i think the lyrics added were ok but at times unnecessary. THe main thing i disagree with you aobut is your opinion on Polly. I find it to be a good song. Kurt more sings this song than the others he lowers his voice and sings and makes it less growly i know on other songs on the album he does it. but i jsut think that this is a good song. The new wave version on Incesticide is also good.

analrightstart
July 16th 2005


96 Comments


nice review, but i have to say i'm not a big fan of this album. Of ccourse what it did for music was great, and all together its a good album, but compared to albums like 'In Utero' and 'Incesticide' it isnt much. The album has been played too much, not just by the radio but just by people think they are big nirvana fans just because they like 'smells like teen spirit'. In my opinion this album is overrated, no doubt very good, but still overrated, i agree with 'something vague'.

masada
July 16th 2005


2733 Comments


The noise at the end on "Endless, Nameless" is Kurt basically destroying his guitar. Fun stuff.

a_flower_blooms_as_i_decay_101
July 16th 2005


39 Comments


wtf dude do u even no what the naked babie represents.if you dont no(or if your brain is to samll to comprehead the idea)it is basickly a picture saying that even from when were born we have already been sweet into the worlds sins eg the money on the fishing wire depics what i just said....

Final Origin
July 16th 2005


383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey soz man for knockin you off the top 15, you're an excellent reviewer and this is proof.

Personally I would give this a 4 but I do agree with the cons and what you say about the songs.

Excellent Review!

Werny
July 16th 2005


148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

a_flower_blooms_as_i_decay_101, your brain is too small to comprehend basic spelling.

This album has a cool atmosphere, good riffing, a great voice and the drums occasionally do something interesting.

francesfarmer
July 16th 2005


1477 Comments


defenitly on the top three best albums ever recorded.

Killtacular
July 16th 2005


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No, it's not quite that great. And a_flower_blooms.. is an idiot.

My comment on the art was a reference to the record label almost censoring the cover. The only compromise Kurt would accept was a sticker over the wang, and claimed that any who were offended by the art were "closet pedophiles."

masada
July 16th 2005


2733 Comments


Owned.

Rudd13
July 17th 2005


952 Comments


indeed


NEDM
August 4th 2005


1113 Comments


I know it doesn't mean anything to anyone buuut.... I hate Nirvana. And yes... a_flower_blooms likes baby pecker:lol:. Also, something vague, I think PwNed is more appropriate. :lol:

morrissey
Moderator
August 7th 2005


1688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

UGh I hate this album and band. 0.5/5 biased, 3.5/5 realistically.

DesolationRow
August 7th 2005


833 Comments


I used to love Nirvana.......In Bloom rocks still, though.

Killtacular
August 22nd 2005


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not Top15, buddy.

:wave:

Jawaharal
August 22nd 2005


1832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol used to be



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy