British India
Thieves


2.5
average

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
December 16th, 2008 | 115 replies | 7,656 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Insufficient energy, hooks & highlights ultimately result in a disappointing 2nd album for this talented quartet. Give their debut a listen instead.

When reviewing British India’s excellent 2007 debut ‘Guillotine’, some handsome devil listed ‘Highly Evolved’ by The Vines as the album most similar to it in the ‘Recommended By Reviewer’ section. The 2 bands have much in common; They are both Australian (despite emanating from opposite coastlines) and they both play a brand of garage rock (British India lean more towards an alternative form of dance rock as compared to The Vines’ grunginess).

Alas, it seems they now have one further characteristic in common and this is best illustrated with these portions of Heather Phares’ AllMusic.com’s review of The Vines’ second album ‘Winning Days’… “A textbook case of the sophomore slump, the album lacks the hooks, melodies, and enthusiasm that made for such a promising debut… Aside from some slightly more complex song structures, these songs just aren't particularly notable or memorable”. It is genuinely freaky how dead on those same words can now also be attributed to British India’s follow up, ‘Thieves’.

As the old adage states; “first impressions last”. For this reason, ‘God Is Dead, Meet The Kids’ is a poor choice as opener as it sets the tone for the album in general. Unfortunately, that tone is a lifeless one with no real discernible hook or attraction of any significance. This is too often a weakness of ‘Thieves’, with ‘Put It Right Down’, ‘Mona Lisa Overdrive’ and ‘The Golden Years’ all falling into the same trap.

While being one of the better tracks on the album, lead single ‘I Said I’m Sorry’ also tells a story. A solid mid-tempo cut which reveals itself on further listens rather than being super immediate or catchy, there are signs of matured songwriting here. Unfortunately, with only a year between releases, it appears that the band have yet to properly find their feet. Too many songs have tidbits of something impressive (a guitar riff, a melody or a lyrical direction) that are simply not followed through on. Track 6 ‘Airport Tags’ is also rather similar.

Strangely enough though, one instance where British India has fully realized the potential of a song is on one of the two slower cuts contained on it, ‘Funeral For A Trend’. The methodical approach used here allows both the vocals and music extra room to breathe, thus maximizing its effectiveness.

Thankfully, there are also some signs on ‘Thieves’ of the impressive combination of raw rock and energetic dancey post-punk sound which made ‘Guillotine’ so impressive. Should have been opener ‘This Dance Is Loaded’ and track 7 ‘You Will Die And I Will Take Over’ almost overdose on energy, both in the form of Declan Melia’s enthusiastic vocals as well as the swirl of background guitars, drums and super effective toe-tapping high-hats. Later, on penultimate track ‘Nic The Poet’, the volume gets further turned up on a frenetic 3 minutes worth of punk.

When all is said and done though, ‘Thieves’ ultimately disappoints. It is not necessarily a bad album and will actually grow on many listeners to be half-decent. However, that is if the listener is willing to be patient and listen closely, which is a big “IF”. British India may still be a band to keep an eye out for in the future, but ‘Thieves’ will be looked back on as an aberration. Pretty much half of the tracks are filler, while the highlights are simply not sufficiently impressive to make up for them. Give ‘Guillotine’ a listen instead.

Recommended Tracks: Funeral For A Trend, I Said I’m Sorry & This Dance Is Loaded.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (18)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtavanHalen
December 16th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Great stuff as always.
Watched these guys from a distance at Homebake. Eugh.

Vooligan
December 16th 2008



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Sick review, not very good band

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 16th 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ta DavID. In all honesty, I have not yet seen them perform live.
Ta Billy. Now do you get my annoyingly cryptic hints from earlier this week?

Vooligan
December 16th 2008



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

yeah i do, wasnt aware that these kids had links to other countries though.
its weird, i should like these guys i mean, theyre australian and they play some form of rock music but i cant stand them.

AtavanHalen
December 16th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

i should like these guys i mean, theyre australian and they play some form of rock music

I lol'd so hard at this.
And also this: http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=BzBzdPkd58g

Vooligan
December 16th 2008



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

hey its the truth
i guess i have to watch the video as wellThis Message Edited On 12.16.08

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
December 16th 2008



3760 Comments


Yea, these guys sorta suck.

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 16th 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ummm Billy, the link to other countries is their band name.
And to think that I actually thought that video would be British India related DavID.
I dunno, I reckon these guys have some potential... They just need to settle down and find their niche. I still enjoy their debut.

Vooligan
December 16th 2008



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Ummm Billy, the link to other countries is their band name.
Ha! im just a tad retarded for not seeing that.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 16th 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nah, like I initially said, I'm annoying that way.
If you didn't catch the other clue in question format, it included the name of the lead single off this album; "I Said I'm Sorry".

Vooligan
December 16th 2008



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

didnt even know they had a song named that

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

That comment probably says more about radio & television airplay in Australia than anything else.
There are a lot of Aussie bands like British India that are on the cusp of being relatively successful in the mainstream, but they just don't get sufficient support to allow audiences to hear them.
I'm sort of thinking about reveiwing some of them (& getting off my British succession of reviews), but the relatively low number of views even on this website pretty much says it all also.

AtavanHalen
December 17th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Champ Kind, I would like you to review We Don't Belong Here by Violent Soho.

Vooligan
December 17th 2008



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

If your taking requests, review Sleep Parade!
But seriously, i agree with what your saying, theres loads of bands that are 'almost there' in terms of mainstream popularity, they just need a little bit of help. Its basically what happened to Kisschasy not all that long ago.This Message Edited On 12.17.08

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I have no idea who Violent Soho is. Sounds like either a wrestler or a member of the Insane Clown Posse... Or both since the clowns wrestle on occasions.
Sleep Parade are one of the many Aussie bands on my list to listen to, but I want to get through the likes of Trial Kennedy, End Of Fashion and Children Collide first.
KissChasy, Faker, Getaway Plan... All those kinds of bands have a very important next album to make. If they nail it, they just might break out big time.

taylormemer
December 17th 2008



4913 Comments


Don't talk about KissChasy plz.

AtavanHalen
December 17th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Kisschasy > you.
On 4/5 occasions.

Vooligan
December 17th 2008



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Sleep Parade rule, very close to my album of the year. Trial Kennedy are also really good, havent really listened to End of Fashion (except for that Oh Yeah song) or Children Collide.

Pretty much agree with what else u said. Kisschasy are a solid band, nothing wrong with them at all.

AtavanHalen
December 17th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Champ Kind, stay the HELL away from Trial Kennedy. That review is MINE (and I'm nearly done).

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ok Jake, I won't talk about Kisschasy... But just remember that "Opinions Won't Keep You Warm At Night".
DavID, I've quit listening to you to tell me to stay away from reviewing albums ever since you told AULDY to stay away from reviewing that You Am I album... & we're still waiting for it months later.
But seriously, you are in no danger of me sneaking in (not at the moment anyway). I more want to give Trial Kennedy a listen just in case I decide to go see them & Birds of Tokyo when they tour together in March.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy