Ikuinen Kaamos
Closure


4.0
excellent

Review

by Kyle Ward STAFF
December 13th, 2008 | 150 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The ashes of an album which had the potential to be nothing short of classic.

I’ll give you all a brief history about dropping the ball. Bill Buckner dropped the ball in the 1986 World Series. Michael Bay dropped the ball with Pearl Harbor. Trivium dropped the ball when they decided to become a band. George Bush dropped the ball (or should I say the WMD’s) when he went searching for them in Iraq. Descent Productions has, among other things, dropped the ball with Finnish progressive death metal band Ikuinen Kaamos’ latest album Epilogue. The label delayed the release of the album for just nigh eight months, citing issues printing the album and, ultimately, financial issues in even getting the thing to stores. So, here we are, in December, just getting word of what exactly is to come of Epilogue, which was meant to be released way back in April. The final verdict: canceled.

All is not lost, however, since the bright lads in Ikuinen Kaamos decided to release the first three tracks from Epilogue in a completely free, downloadable EP entitled Closure. Now, it is a shame that the last three tracks recorded for Epilogue were basically scratched and tossed away, but the fact that the band had the passion to release their music at no charge is astounding. These three tracks encompass about 28 minutes, and by the time it is over you end up feeling both disappointed and very content. You are content with the fact that what is contained on Closure is both unique and very well executed, but disappointed that the tail half of what used to be here is completely gone.

The three tracks, “Closure”, “Your Gallows”, and “The Absence”, are three of the finest pieces of progressive death I have heard in a while. To compare, I would much rather listen to any piece on Closure than anything off of Watershed, mostly due to the fact that the three tracks here are completely rock solid; there are simply no boring moments on the entire thing. The guitar riffs are amazingly melodic (and I emphasize amazingly) while slipping back and forth between harmonized leads and almost solo-like riffs to heavy, but still melodic, verse riffs. It is almost too much to really take in with just one listen. The vocals are entwined with the riffs, and fit beautifully like the clean vocals which open the album in “Closure”. The mood changes between aggression (with death metal growls), harmony (with clean vocals), and rage (with black metal vocals). It’s easy to get swallowed in the amazing vocal performance, and ignore the more subtle nuances which Ikuinen Kaamos manage to insert in their music. The music sways constantly; with short bridges inserted all over the place amongst the riffs and the excellent drum beats which back them.

It’s just astounding, though, when all is said and done, how it’s hard to come up with a single bad thing to say about Closure aside from the fact that it is simply not enough. Descent Productions lost one of the most talented unknown bands I have heard in a very, very long time, and that is a loss they will have to deal with down the road if Ikuinen Kaamos continues to create music of this caliber. Not only should you download Closure because it’s free, not only should you download it because this band deserves as much support as it can get, you should download it because it is nothing short of impressive.



Recent reviews by this author
In Flames Siren CharmsPanopticon Roads to the North
Empyrium The Turn of the TidesWolves in the Throne Room Celestite
Agalloch The Serpent and the SphereInsomnium Shadows of the Dying Sun
user ratings (137)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Zippermouth (4.5)
The most beautiful moments always pass so quickly......

related reviews

The Forlorn

Fall of Icons

Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
December 13th 2008


44369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet. Art or no?

Digging: Pharmakon - Abandon

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2008


16390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No. Not yet, at least.

Tracks avaliable at:

http://www.kolumbus.fi/juhani.mikkonen/IK-EP-2008/01-Closure.mp3
http://www.kolumbus.fi/juhani.mikkonen/IK-EP-2008/02-YourGallows.mp3
http://www.kolumbus.fi/juhani.mikkonen/IK-EP-2008/03-TheAbsence.mp3This Message Edited On 12.13.08

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

BallsToTheWall
December 13th 2008


44369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You hear about Be'Lakor now? EP is of course awesome.

noworldforeric
December 13th 2008


43 Comments


Is it really better than Opeth? I honestly can't fathom someone 1upping Opeth in prog death

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2008


16390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think Opeth is nothing special at all, especially their newer stuff. Like I said, I would much rather listen to the three songs here.

You hear about Be'Lakor now?

Sadly I have I'm glad I got a copy of The Frail Tide while the band was selling it independently.

DBlitz
December 13th 2008


1690 Comments


Good place to start with these guys?

fireaboveicebelow
December 13th 2008


6837 Comments


well your only options are this or their full length

Yazz_Flute
December 13th 2008


18783 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can listen to the tracks but how do you actually download them?

Sounds fantastic so far, shame theyll never release epilogue

Digging: Battles - Mirrored

DBlitz
December 13th 2008


1690 Comments


well your only options are this or their full length

ok then, i'll get both

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2008


16390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can listen to the tracks but how do you actually download them?

Right click on the links at hit "save target as".

Pebster49
December 13th 2008


2992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The last song to this EP is so awesome, I can listen to it nonstop.

I think Opeth is nothing special at all, especially their newer stuff. Like I said, I would much rather listen to the three songs here.


I don't know how you say that with a straight face, since these guys have a huge Opeth influnence in their music.This Message Edited On 12.13.08

itachi1452
December 13th 2008


366 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They really deserve more exposure.This Message Edited On 12.14.08

Saidir
December 13th 2008


77 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great music.
Disappointing that this isn't one of those bands you randomly discover, that has a full discography of stuff like this.

Oh, and yes this does have art work.
http://www.ikuinenkaamos.net
and just scroll down a bit.This Message Edited On 12.13.08

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2008


16390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's the artwork for Epilogue, but I guess it's the official one for Closure as well.

Wizard
December 13th 2008


19403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Michael Bay dropped the ball with his ENTIRE CAREER.


Fixed for humour.

Soooooooo the long the review are a thing of the past, eh? hahahaha. Nice review otherwise. You have a specialty with descriptions Crysis. From what I've heard from these guys.............AWESOME. I will be ordering this.



Digging: Khonsu - Traveller

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2008


16390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Soooooooo the long the review are a thing of the past, eh?

No, this is just an EP so a small review is appropriate

I will be ordering this.

Dude it's free! Check the links above, just right click on them and hit save target as or whatever and save it to your computer.

Wizard
December 13th 2008


19403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Done and done.....and for some reason, I just thought this was a really short album hahaha.

Wizard
December 13th 2008


19403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is damn good after one listen.

Yazz_Flute
December 13th 2008


18783 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh man I absolutely love this...I want to give it a 4.5 but I rarely even give EPs higher than 3.5s.

Coincidentally I think they are a lot like Be'Lakor, which is awesome considering Frail Tide is in my top 20 albums ever.This Message Edited On 12.13.08

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2008


16390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you want to give it a 4.5 do it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy