Kingston Wall
Kingston Wall II


4.0
excellent

Review

by username345 USER (52 Reviews)
December 11th, 2008 | 92 replies


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Kingston Wall II is an excellent album featuring some incredible musicianship and many different styles melded together to create something original and unique. Highly recommended to any fans of classic 60's psychedelia or progressive rock.

Releasing all 3 of their albums on their own label and only playing outside of Finland once (in Estonia), Kingston Wall never gained that much popularity during their lifespan, but have since gained quite a large cult following due to the high quality of their music and unique sound. Kingston Wall II, released in 1993, is thought by many to be the band's best work.

Kingston Wall mix their psychedelic and prog rock influences, most noticeably Jimi Hendrix and Pink Floyd, into their own more modern style. Despite the obvious influences though, Kingston Wall II still sounds totally unique. This is because of the modernised sound and, as the cover implies, the inclusion of Eastern musical styles. Guitarist, singer and composer Petri Walli was fascinated with Eastern cultures, spending a lot of time in India, and it shows. His fantastic Hendrix inspired guitar playing is accentuated with the inclusion of Eastern scales and the lyrics often deal with Eastern themes.

The opening track, 'We Cannot Move', an energetic heavy psychedelic track which demonstrates much of the Eastern influences, is easily one of the album's best. While at this point it would appear that the album would all be in this style it suddenly changes by the second track which introduces new acoustic folk influences to the band's style that hadn't been heard previously, including a violin. The entire album is full of surprises like this, with all of the songs sounding completely different to each other, mixing genres and influences. 'Shine On Me' is another highlight, a mellow song emphasising the band's Pink Floyd's influences, complete with a saxophone. There is even a cover of Donna Summer's disco song 'I Feel Love'.

Despite the huge variety, the album never lacks consistency. Many of the songs flow into each other, and it can even be hard to tell when one ends and another begins at times. Petri Walli's guitar playing is one of the best things about the album and is focused on a lot throughout. As mentioned before, he is clearly very much influenced by Jimi Hendrix, even to the point of some claiming that Walli is just mimicking him, but Walli manages to play in this style well with plenty of memorable riffs and excellent solos that bring the different musical styles together, and the acoustic guitar sections are also very impressive. His singing does not quite reach the same quality, sometimes sounding a bit too weak for the music and occasionally with slight Finnish accent but this isn't too noticeable, partly because much of the music is instrumental.

The other musicians are also hugely talented, especially the drummer, Sami Kuoppamaki, who has gone on to perform session drumming, most noticeable for metal bands such as Stratovarius and Apocalyptica. Kuoppamaki manages to play in whatever style he needs to easily, even playing bongos on a few tracks such as 'You', and the often quite complex drumming always sounds impressive. Bassist Jukka Jylli is also great, contributing with some fantastic and also often quite complex bass-lines, especially noticeable on the mellower songs such as 'Shine On Me' and the amazing instrumental 'And It's All Happening'.

Overall, Kingston Wall II is an excellent album featuring some incredible musicianship and many different styles melded together to create something original and unique. Highly recommended to any fans of classic 60's psychedelia or progressive rock.



Recent reviews by this author
Lamp of the Universe The Cosmic UnionThe Dukes Of Stratosphear 25 O'Clock
Electric Wizard Witchcult TodayPrince Paul A Prince Among Thieves
Camel RajazNick Cave and The Bad Seeds Let Love In
user ratings (59)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
username345
December 11th 2008


594 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For anyone who cares:

We Cannot Move
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=8uoGWL7GIkA

Shine On Me
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=TtBcWl-O5b4

Mendigo
December 11th 2008


2299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thought about doing that review as well, but I doubt I could've handled it as well as you did - great job.
Shine on Me is my favorite, and yeah, the Pink Floyd and Jimi Hendrix influences are very prominent.

Seek and Destroy
December 11th 2008


62 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ah, finallly a review for these guys. Well written, summed it up really well.

My fav. has to be We Cannot Move.


Willie
Moderator
December 12th 2008


16018 Comments


Damn dude, you always seem to review the most random albums. Another nice review. More people need to start checking into these bands you're writing about.

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

username345
December 12th 2008


594 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn dude, you always seem to review the most random albums.


I do my best :p

More people need to start checking into these bands you're writing about.


:DThis Message Edited On 12.12.08

ClearTheLane
December 12th 2008


990 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wooooot
I didn't notice this review.
A 4? come on man this is a lot better, in between 4,5 and 5. One of the best albums of the 90s.. anyway glad you did this review. You could have maybe mentioned a little more about some songs, such as And It's All Happening..
I'll finish off my review of their first when I have a lot of time..
And his name was Walli btw, makes a big difference to me as a Finn =DThis Message Edited On 12.12.08

username345
December 12th 2008


594 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I might raise it up later, I'm liking it more and more... especially as you mentioned 'And It's All Happening', which is becoming one of my fav instrumentals ever.

And I don't know why I spelt his name wrong, I spelt it right the first time in the review...

And I can't find the debut... I'll keep looking for it though!

Edited a few bits.This Message Edited On 12.12.08

ClearTheLane
December 18th 2008


990 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

'And It's All Happening', which is becoming one of my fav instrumentals ever.
It is one of the best instrumentals ever written. I just can't see any being better.
And for you guys who haven't heard it yet:
watch and listen http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=onSXecR7VCU

RevengeSoldier
January 25th 2009


297 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

More people REEEEEEEEEEALLY need to listen to this.

yteslax
October 12th 2009


4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Despite the huge variety, the album never lacks consistency." I agree... Very nice review. Indeed, this album is unique while all songs are really different, album is very consistent. Very good example of musical creativity...

Jarvig
August 18th 2011


168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very, very, very good album. Quality of almost every song i sky high. So crazy good songs, music and guitarplaying.
Hints of Beatles, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, Jimi Hendrix and (a later band) Muse everywhere on the album.

Crazy good standout tunes: Shine on Me and And It's All Happening.

The rest of the songs are "just" very very good.

Funeralopolis
April 20th 2012


11404 Comments


this is incredible

Digging: Black Milk - No Poison No Paradise

MeatSalad
April 20th 2012


14581 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Whoa man why have I never heard of this. Sounds right up my alley

Feels
April 29th 2012


267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hmmm sounds interesting, going to check this out

Digging: Ghost Atlas - Gold Soul Coma

MeatSalad
July 9th 2012


14581 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love how the album art is just a repainting of their first one

KILL
September 21st 2012


71839 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn this rocks, thanks meat BRO

Digging: A Guy Called Gerald - Black Secret Technology

MeatSalad
October 2nd 2012


14581 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

No problem man, definitely one of my favorite 90's bands

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 23rd 2012


16026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

didnt actually expect these to be on here

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted

MeatSalad
October 26th 2012


14581 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Should've been on your huge ass prog list!

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 31st 2012


16026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

brilliant



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy