Bucket Full Of Teeth
IV


4.0
excellent

Review

by Crimson USER (60 Reviews)
December 8th, 2008 | 56 replies | 6,046 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's fifteen minutes of rape - without lube. Past members of Orchid, Ampere and Wolves included.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Bucket Full Of Teeth are just one of those bands. They don't have a genre, they don't have a solid, consistent career. They don't have a lot of recognition and they sure as hell don't have a lot of restraint. I mean, in the second track of this ridiculously short album I could name about six different genres that pop up easily and that's actually without exaggerating for once, Bucket Full Of Teeth are about as random and schizophrenic as bands come.

And maybe that's where the appeal comes from, I mean, only about half of these songs are actually really songs, the rest are brooding ambient pieces that lull about before the carnage, a calm before the storm so to speak, and it goes on like this without stopping. Every time the band get into a groove, they stop, and throw another riff or two at you, every time you think they might be heading towards a slow down they speed it up, there is no sense in amidst the screaming and constant barrage of pressure, just more noise and more random climaxes. Even the actual music portions of the album aren't entirely musical, mixing together grindcore, screamo and death metal into a blender and then vomiting it out for you to listen to. The production too, is dirty, distorted and without beauty, yet somehow just inviting and engrossing for the listener. Even at the quietest, least involving moments of the album the ambient sounds roll over you with an air of unease and foreboding, which is usually justified, as more often than not the next track brings about another two minutes of apocalypse before the next breather.

Vocally, the album pretty much follows the schizophrenic nature of the instruments, with all sorts of yells, screams, and growls coming from the man's mouth. Although they have a habit of blending into the mess around them that for once isn't a bad thing as the overall mess and chaos is the entire point of the album, it's not music, it's an explosion of sound that somehow your mind enjoys and finds an impossible beat to nod along to. If you fancy going through fifteen minutes of pure unadulterated chaos then go right ahead and give a listen to this.



Recent reviews by this author
Ea Au EllaiEa Ea II
We Insist! The Babel Inside Was TerribleBe'lakor Stone's Reach
Senate The Great Northern ScenekillNahemah A New Constellation
user ratings (68)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

I, II, III

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crimson
December 8th 2008



1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice soundoff.

SnackaryBinx
December 8th 2008



2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

includes Orchird?

in.

Crimson
December 8th 2008



1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're gonna dig this alot I reckon

SnackaryBinx
December 8th 2008



2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

does it sound anything like Ampere?

Crimson
December 8th 2008



1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

never heard anything of them, apparently it's 'Ampere for metal fans' though, or at least that's what I've read from one person so yeah.

SnackaryBinx
December 8th 2008



2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

holy boners the second song exploded out of nowhere.

bustyagunz
December 8th 2008



911 Comments


yea summary is all I need to know I'm gonna check this out, all three of those bands are ace

marksellsuswallets
December 8th 2008



4848 Comments


Just like you "checked out" that Neil Perry/A Days Refrains split I reviewed that you said you were going too "check out"?! jk
Will probably check this out soon nice review and stuff yeah

NortherlyNanook
December 8th 2008



1285 Comments


Yeah, this band is great.

The "Ampere for metal fans" description is probably how I'd put it, too.

AvictimOfSociety
December 8th 2008



71 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

How are the other Cds? I, II, III? Checking this out.

SnackaryBinx
December 8th 2008



2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this is a full force face fuck

NortherlyNanook
December 8th 2008



1285 Comments


holy crap 4.5 not that good

How are the other Cds? I, II, III? Checking this out.

i've only heard this and III, and to me, III is a bit worse than this.

SnackaryBinx
December 8th 2008



2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i don't need you deciding my opinions.

NortherlyNanook
December 8th 2008



1285 Comments


yes you obviously do!

a 4 i'll accept, but a 4.5 is right out!

SnackaryBinx
December 8th 2008



2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I don't listen to you! You think you're indie and shit?

Phantom
December 8th 2008



8930 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just listened to the tracks on their myspace and they're sweet. A Morbid Gathering rules.

iarescientists
December 8th 2008



5863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

been meaning to listen to this for a while

but idk!

DBlitz
December 8th 2008



1685 Comments


its great, might need to listen a few more times for it to click though

thomasj12e34
December 8th 2008



195 Comments


Good review, amazing album.

bustyagunz
December 8th 2008



911 Comments


lol wallets, i tried finding that but it wasnt super easy so I gave up but it is still on my massive list of things to get. u could help me out by sending it though =)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy