Pure Reason Revolution
The Dark Third


4.5
superb

Review

by SavageCore USER (1 Reviews)
December 3rd, 2008 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: They are well known and loved, rightfully so for their fantastic vocal harmonising. I have not been blessed with this impressive sound in any other way similar to this album, with four vocalists all extremely talented this really does set them apart.

I will assume you have not heard of Pure Reason Revolution before. They are a 4-piece Progressive Rock band formed in 2003 at the University of Westminster but originally formed in Reading, Berkshire under the name The Sunset Sound. Their sound is comparable to the likes of Porcupine Tree, Marillion and Pink Floyd. The credits for this album were; Chloë Alper, Jon Courtney, Andrew Courtney, James Dobson, Gregory Kong and Jamie Willcox. Two members, Dobson and Andrew Courtney left in November 2006 with Jong leaving in early 2005 so I am not very certain on how much work he did for this.

They have released various singles and EPs but today I am reviewing their debut album The Dark Third which was released on April the 10th 2006 by Holograph (Sony BMG) later to be dropped due to low record sales and they are now with Superball Music recording their latest. But do not let Sony’s miss judgement colour your opinion of this great band. The album title is referring to the 'dark third'; this is the third of our lives we spend asleep and dreaming.

Aeropause, a great opening track in my opinion. This is where PRR get to show us their great instrumental work by creating a relaxing, calm and psychedelic starter which is obviously why I mentioned Pink Floyd earlier. Nothing exactly stands out here, quite like a Floyd track does with sudden outbreaks of great keyboard solo’s or guitar but still nevertheless a great modern take on psychedelic music with PRR’s common electro flavour. This is really the only track with a true psychedelic sound. PRR do however keep bringing it back. Goshen’s Remains, right from the very beginning the guitar carries you into this special place, a soothing place. The outstanding vocal harmonies begin and it is like heaven. This track shows off their more heavier grunge sound later on, which I adore and suits them very well.

You might be thinking to yourselves in doubt at this point as to how all these different genres can be mixed so beautifully, it is similar to that of Fair to Midland. It just works! Some albums I find myself really disliking sudden changes in sound and often say to myself “this isn’t needed, keep to X sound.” As I said they have an electro sound to them which I bring up now as they layer it on top perfectly. It is not traditional electronic music however, it is more electronic pops and farts, space age beats added in to their classic sound.

Although they are heavily reliant on their vocal harmonising in which the guys harmonise with Chloë and sing the back up, Apprentice of the Universe does not feature Chloë on vocals for the first couple of minutes which brings a nice change to the table.

Their darker sound, comparable to the likes of Marillion and Porcupine Tree as I said above is most prominent for the first minute or so of Nimos & Tambos and for me was a great surprise, I am a huge fan of the neo-prog subgenre and they do not disappoint in this field. The drum work is also fantastic on this song, simple rhythms to complex patterns, Andrew can do it all.

As a conclusion then, a remarkable debut that really shows me that this band is going places. I do think instrumentally there is room for improvement, or more epicness. You know, let them break out into an amazing solo or two. Really though I am nitpicking, the sound they create would not exactly need this. I just feel it could be one way for them to progress and bring in a wider audience. I personally would like to hear some more electronic work as well to bring them even further apart from anything else I have heard.

[4.5] A different sound to most Prog Rock album’s that shouldn’t disappoint. Dark and upbeat. Powerful, yet calm.

Hate my writing but do not see a way to delete. /vain/high


user ratings (157)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
badtaste
December 4th 2008


824 Comments


Welcome to the website.

Nice review, but your approach is a bit too casual. Instead of jumping into describing the first song straight away, give us an introduction to the band, their history, the context of the album, etc..

kingsoby1
Emeritus
December 4th 2008


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yes please see above comment. Also, your grammar needs some work; you have a lot of missing commas and messed up sentences.

These guys are awesome, didn't think they wouldn't have a review up yet.

SavageCore
December 4th 2008


84 Comments


Update: Added intro that I wrote for my blog.
As for grammar, I shall have a read through. Thanks guys.

Shattered_Future
December 4th 2008


1541 Comments


This is quite an awesome album, I must admit. Much different than I was expecting, but good nonetheless.

Willie
Moderator
December 6th 2008


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just heard these guys last week through a last.fm reccomendation but I haven't been able to find the album anywhere yet.

handoman
December 6th 2008


2386 Comments


woah i forgot about this. havent listened to it in a while

SavageCore
December 6th 2008


84 Comments


Same here actually, I'm now using last.fm's recommendations radio a lot more after this.
Edit: Amazon UK has a physical copy and mp3 download of it.This Message Edited On 12.06.08

Willie
Moderator
December 6th 2008


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, last.fm reccomendations has seriously expanded my music lately. I didn't even think about checking Amazon mp3 store, hopefully the US version has it too.

Willie
Moderator
December 18th 2008


16073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't want to double post (but no one else has posted), but I finally got this and it is awesome. It almost reminds me of Porcupine Tree if they were a little less rigid in their song structures... I know that doesn't make sense... so I'll just say it's cool.

PayneTiger777
July 27th 2009


4405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I just bought this on amazon for $4.91 and I'm soooo looking forward to getting it.

CrazyFool84
January 13th 2010


1080 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

band is so good, puts most modern prog to shame.

Obfuscation24
February 1st 2010


3939 Comments


This album is one of the best I've ever heard, just plain genius.

Jethro42
March 6th 2010


12492 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Interesting. I'll check them out. Good first review.

cb123
January 26th 2011


2041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

awesome album

orderinchaos
June 23rd 2011


7 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

What's damn confusing about this album is there's at least 3 different versions of it. The version I have has a rather different tracklist - it's a CD + bonus EP. One of my favourite tracks on the CD, "Nimos + Tambos", isn't even on the tracklist on this page (it's track 5 on my CD).

DoubtGin
August 10th 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

RIP

Jarvig
September 27th 2011


168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good album.

A nice blend of Pink Floyd, Porcupine Tree, Marillion, Mostly Autumn, Moody Blues and Led zeppelin.

Quality of melodies and songs a little bit under what one could dream of. But the music on its own right is very good.

Jethro42
September 27th 2011


12492 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

1- The Twyncyn
2- Bullitts Dominae
3- Voices in Winter
4-

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2012


16060 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

jamming this had forgotten how much i liked it

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

zxlkho
November 30th 2012


3466 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

still some of the best vocal melodies/harmonies I've ever heard



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy