Paramore
Riot!


4.0
excellent

Review

by Terron Moore USER (15 Reviews)
November 30th, 2008 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Paramore's main stage debut is an impressive and solid album that should have other punk bands (and Gwen Stefanis) a little nervous.

Its been a long while since a band has been commercially successful with a female at it's lead. Flash to the early 2000s, where No Doubt was THE punk-pop-rock band du jour- but they're SO eight years ago, and it was only a matter of time before someone else came to fill that void. Enter Hayley Williams, the pretty anti-pretty girl and the headliner of an ever-changing rotation of a band known as Paramore, and she's got such a fiery spunk that you think she'd take a Saturn-esque Gwen Stefani and just deck her right in the face.

Riot!, the second album by the band and whose cover art looks creepily like that of No Doubt's Rock Steady, is more intense and noteworthy than you'd think. It's opening tracks do a great job of drawing you in, especially on "That's What You Get", where Williams croons over a melody that neatly switches between funky drums and neatly contained electric guitar ("Why do we like to hurt so much?"). "Hallelujah" is a far more inspiring tune- "This time we're not giving up / Let's make it last forever", Hayley sings. Dammit if it's not pure punky goodness.

Then there's "Misery Business", that smashing single that defines the Paramore sound, in which Hayley takes off the cool and angrily gets the guy over furious guitar riffs and drums that scatter all through the verses and slam together in its chorus. She says it best herself- "God, does it feel so good."

"When It Rains" is the solid result of a beautiful letdown. "Oh, oh / I need an ending / so Why can't you stay, just long enough to explain?" she begs. "Miracle" is a neat trick as well, its energy rising and falling perfectly. But it's on "Crushcrushcrush", the clear winner on Riot!, where this band truly shines. It's a fierce, funky little number that's even a little sexy: "Rock and roll, baby / We're all alone now / Gimme something to sing about." Oh, yeah, she's daring you, and Williams is almost devilish in delivery over an infectious rhythm which suits her oh, so well.

"We Are Broken" showcases her softest side and displays her decent voice, and "Fences" is memorable in it's super bouncy production, but isn't as stellar as others. Though the album may roar loudly in the beginning and have a quieter end, that doesnt make its bite any less ferocious. Riot! is an important main stage debut from a band showing immense promise. And on "Born For This", Hayley makes that promise- "Tell me, tell me / Can you feel the pressure? / We were born for this." Without a doubt, other bands should be feeling it. Born for this? Agreed.



Recent reviews by this author
Jay-Z and Kanye West Watch the ThroneTimbaland Timbaland Presents Shock Value II
Chris Brown GraffitiRihanna Rated R
Ciara Fantasy RideAsher Roth Asleep In The Bread Aisle
user ratings (1577)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
badtaste
November 30th 2008


824 Comments


Your first instance of 'it's' does not require an apostrophe.

Solid review, although I think you concentrate too much on looking at each track .

bastard
November 30th 2008


3435 Comments


polite electric guitar


polite isn't really a word to describe music but all right.


You're a good reviewer, even if a bit high on caffeine. You just need to describe music using the proper terminology (i.e. not 'polite' or ways we'd describe human beings).

robin
Emeritus
November 30th 2008


4248 Comments


he can use the word polite if he wants

bastard
November 30th 2008


3435 Comments


well it sounds odd and out of place in a review of music in my humble opinion.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2008


17215 Comments


polite - inoffensive. works for me

Digging: Inigo Kennedy - Vaudeville

bastard
November 30th 2008


3435 Comments


whateva mang.

pretty good review.

AtavanHalen
November 30th 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a) Don't review stuff that's already got heaps of reviews up
b) I think you focus way too much on comparing Paramore to No Doubt
Otherwise, not bad.

NewYorkZoo
November 30th 2008


95 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey, Atavan, in my defense, I havent been on this site for 24 hrs yet, and I'm just randomly reviewing shizz that I have on my comp I think is good haha... and imo No Doubt and Paramore DO have certain similarities...

and i'll change "polite" if its that serious! haha... but how am i high on caffeine?

bastard
November 30th 2008


3435 Comments


sometimes the stuff you write reads like you just had a sugar rush.

NewYorkZoo
November 30th 2008


95 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

HEY.

you might be right...

bastard
November 30th 2008


3435 Comments


jus settle down kid, then you'll be a big star.

Spamue1G
November 30th 2008


1292 Comments


Nice review, but the problem with your comparisons between No Doubt and Paramore is just that there are too many. I'm sure you could find something in the review to take out that wouldn't detract from it at all.
Again, good review. I'm with bastard on the high on caffeine thing, though

NewYorkZoo
November 30th 2008


95 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i edited some of the No Doubt-Paramore stuff out....

Spamue1G
November 30th 2008


1292 Comments


Probably whilst I was writing the comment. Yeah, it reads fine now.

NewYorkZoo
November 30th 2008


95 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah, it was totally after, i wasnt even gonna change it... but yeah i hope its better nowThis Message Edited On 11.30.08

foreverendeared
November 30th 2008


14678 Comments


zooyorker??This Message Edited On 11.30.08

ninjuice
November 30th 2008


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a) Don't review stuff that's already got heaps of reviews up
b) I think you focus way too much on comparing Paramore to No Doubt

Agreed. Unless you were gonna do a good negative review of this (there's a pretty weak 1.5 review for this, as you've probably noticed), there's no real need to give it another positive review.
Plus, I think Williams' voice sounds a lot more like Avril Lavigne's than Gwen Stefani's. but idk maybe I'm completely wrong.
lastly, I can't help but lol at Ouch's soundoff for this....This Message Edited On 11.30.08

BallsToTheWall
November 30th 2008


44472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

People should be able to review what they want, unless this is a communist party, then I don't see a problem. I'm guilty of it as well. Pretty good album, nice first.

Digging: Tove Lo - Queen of the Clouds

JumpTheF**kUp
November 30th 2008


2710 Comments


Agreeing with Wylie, everyone shut the fuck up about reviews not being needed; who cares if an album has 90000 reviews, this site is about writing reviews for fun and it just so happens that writing about your favourite bands is more fun than writing about stuff you hate - hence a lot of popular bands will have a lot of reviews.
As long as you're having fun, go for it dude, don't listen to all of the faggots who are telling you your review is unneeded.
The review itself is good as well, although I think reading it is akin to hearing a girl gush about her new boyfriend. You've got a good flow and the read was interesting enough to keep my attention (and I pretty much have ADD when it comes to things like this), so good job. Keep reviewing stuff, and maybe take a read of the staff reviewers' reviews as well, in order to get an idea of how to make you reviews sound less gushy and more precise (try some reviews by mynameischan, planewreck and Britney Diva).

plane
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2008


6094 Comments


JumptheF**KUp hit the nail on the head. This is a great review though it is essentially a track-by-track. Describing key songs fleshes out a review but it'd service a review better if you use it sparingly to draw attention to generalizations or descriptions you're making about the album or band's sound. Otherwise this is solid and you should definitely keep up the work (maybe try a new release that doesn't have a review? We love those!).

As a side-note, reviewing regularly is encouraged, but three in a day is pushing it. Try to keep it to down to one a day since you're running the risk of pushing other people's reviews off the front page. There are only six spots.This Message Edited On 11.30.08



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy