Omnium Gatherum
The Redshift


4.0
excellent

Review

by Irad USER (6 Reviews)
November 25th, 2008 | 38 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With The Redshift, Omnium Gatherum release their best effort to date.

Melodic Death Metal in recent years has gone through quite a fall in quality as nowadays the world is plagued by thousands of bands trying to emulate the same thing already done by their three idols (In Flames, Dark Tranquillity and At The Gates).Not even coming close to them, their music is raping the once good name of the genre.

Fortunately some bands out there still have it in them to hold their own, being apart of the genre but still making music that is of the quality wanted. Bands such as Insomnium, Hypocrisy and Amon Amarth may come to mind. In my books, Omnium Gatherum is another one of these bands. The band hails from Finland and has put out 4 studio albums to date, The Redshift being their latest and best.

The band is:
Jukka Pelkonen - Vocals
Markus Vanhala - Guitars
Harri Pikka - Guitars
Toni Mäki - Bass
Aapo Koivisto - Synth
Jarmo Pikka - Drums

The band combines melodic death riffs with some keys, your usual growls and some clean vocals and whispers. Sounds average, right? Well that maybe to some but for someone as frustrated with the new crop (of melodic death bands) as I am, this was a breath of fresh air.

One of the main problems with today’s melodeath bands is the bland guitar works and so I’m here to tell you that, that problem hasn’t been completely solved on this album. The guitar works are probably the best Vanhala and Pikka have put out but that isn’t saying much. Apart from a few solos most people may find them boring and generic. True, they may get boring at times but they have their moments and do bring about a certain balance to the music along with the other instruments. The drum works show a bit of hard rock influence and are quite simple but they do their job in helping the music flow along the course of the album. Jarmo Pikka whom I can only presume is the brother of guitarist Harri Pikka, provides an average performance.

Although not really bad, the drums and guitars are probably the only negative side the album has but they compensate for them with some great bass, vocal and keyboard work.
The bass in most melodic death bands isn’t all that noticeable but Maki unlike others has the ability make his work shine such as, his strong performance in the song Greeneyes and the smoothness he provides to the instrumental Song for December.
The keyboard works aren’t overdone but they are used enough to make the experience enjoyable, usually working as a backup to the lead guitars as seen in songs like A Shadowkey and The Return. As for the vocals, Jukka Pelkonen’s been with the band for 2 albums and his performance on the last album was quite average compared to what he applies here. Pelkonen not only provides his greatly improved growls but also adds clean singing to some songs which are really great and adds to the atmosphere of the songs and unlike some other melodeath bands they aren’t overused.

The variety between the songs is also a good point as you have your fast paced melodeath songs (The Redshifter) , a few with a bit more melody (A Shadowkey) and even some songs which give off a sad vibe (Greeneyes).Another factor which makes the album so good to listen to is the production quality and for that Omnium Gatherum have Dan Swano to thank as he applied his mixing and mastering skills to the album.

So the thing about the album is that you might not like it if you listen to the songs individually but if you listen to it as a whole, it’s quite simply brilliant. No one member shines on his own but the team work allows the instruments to gel perfectly leaving you with some very awesome melodic death.

Recommended Tracks:

Nail (the best song on the album, awesome chorus)
The Redshifter
Distant Light Highway
Song for December

"...And Finally We Understand'



Recent reviews by this author
Carnage Dark RecollectionsRibspreader Opus Ribcage
Soulfallen Grave New WorldThe Agonist Lullabies For the Dormant Mind
Soulfallen World Expiration
user ratings (95)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Adam Gola (4)
A musically wonderful album suffering of weak vocal delivery and subpar lyrics....

related reviews

Beyond

New World Shadows

Comments:Add a Comment 
jingledeath
November 25th 2008


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My first review.
I await your advice and criticism.

jrowa001
November 25th 2008


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ill let the users taht actually review to criticize your review.

this album is good but nothing great. 3.5 at the most. the vocals need improving since those are what mainly made most of the songs boring at times. the riffs are excellent however. i agree that Nail is the best songThis Message Edited On 11.25.08

i think youd like this band called Collapse 7. their album Supernova Overdrive is similarThis Message Edited On 11.25.08

DeathThrashProg
November 25th 2008


500 Comments


good first review, have a pos. just a few things to fix:
- The cut off line in the penultimate paragraph
- add an 'n' to Dark Traquillity
- perhaps add another paragraph in the in depth section nearer the end, to give a better idea of the sound. only a suggestion though
good work

jingledeath
November 25th 2008


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks for the pos, guys.
thanks for the recommendation jrowa, I like these guys a lot so I'll check them out.
and thanks for the advice DeathThrashProg I fixed the error but I'm too lazy to add another paragraph lol.

AngelPhoenix
November 25th 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review, very concise, especially for a first. I whole-heartedly agree, this is a noticeable cut above standard/generic melo-death. Has pretty good replay value for how (relatively) samey the songs sound.
Agree with your standout tracks too.

DeathThrashProg
November 25th 2008


500 Comments


but I'm too lazy to add another paragraph

haha fair enough.
If Angel likes this then i may check it out. Plus i love Dark Tranquillity and by the sound described in the review it sounds a bit like them. Plus your avatar too

AngelPhoenix
November 25th 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They sound a lot like DT actually, at least I think so.

gonna play this right now actuallyThis Message Edited On 11.25.08

jingledeath
November 25th 2008


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah the DT influence is definitely there, another reason why I like these guys so much.

R6Rider
November 25th 2008


4734 Comments


That first paragraph reminds me of the first time I discovered In Flames, and I remember thinking "If only every band sounded like this". Well now they do and it pisses me off lol. Good review, will check this out

DeathThrashProg
November 25th 2008


500 Comments


trouble with in flames is that theyve gone steadily downhill, and reached new lows with A Sense of Purpose. The same cannot be said for DT. but perhaps i will check this out, they'll have a myspace im sure.

R6Rider
November 25th 2008


4734 Comments


Yeah dude I totally agree! I still listen to their new stuff but the replay value is no where near their old stuff. Honestly I dont know how DT can get any better, they've pretty much perfected their sound with Character and Fiction. I just checked out OG's myspace and they have Avril on their friends list, WTF! Digging the new stuff but not so much the old. The vocals sound way too dry

BallsToTheWall
November 25th 2008


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Band sucks. Good review.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

AngelPhoenix
November 25th 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dude, no.

BallsToTheWall
November 25th 2008


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is pretty much exactly what I ranted about in my journal. Terrible.

AngelPhoenix
November 25th 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Na uh.

jingledeath
November 25th 2008


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well they may suck to some people sure, but I've gone through a lot of really horrible melodeath bands.A few months back it was the only genre I was downloading from.So after listening to all the other bullshit bands this was really quite brilliant.
Still is.

rasputin
November 25th 2008


14555 Comments


Very good first review mate, the only thing I can suggest is to write more!
These guys have been recommended to me before, but I'm wary.

rasputin
November 25th 2008


14555 Comments


And by write more, I don't mean more in this review, I mean more reviews.

AngelPhoenix
November 25th 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dark Lunacy, Degraded, Deadlock, Disarmonia Mundi, Distorted, Hatecraft, Her Whisper... that's off the top of my head.
All inferior bands.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 25th 2008


16478 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't like these guys at all, their stuff just doesn't really do it for me.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy