The Wonder Years
Get Stoked on It!


4.0
excellent

Review

by shika USER (3 Reviews)
November 13th, 2008 | 26 replies | 15,472 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: No not the t.v show.

There's plenty to get stoked on in the The Wonder Years debut album released a little over a year ago. The Wonder Years are a band right out of the keystone state and they have managed to create an exciting album that doesn't have lyrics that you would expect from this kind of band instead they talk about captain crunch stealing their girl and how he left his hat on the bedroom floor. They have toured extensively ever since their EP came out. Blending pop punk, hardcore and synths isn't a fresh idea but for The Wonder Years it works and that's just it. There's nothing here that doesn't work.

Right from the very first track "Keystone State Dude-Core" they come out swinging with some of the albums best lyrics
"The sound guy here's got *** against us.
We came here to do this. We're six dudes from the keystone state.
We're broke as ***, but we can't complain.
We haven't showered in at least four days."
Although the track is only about 1:30 it serves as an excellent intro considering 90 percent of CDs these days open up with either a lame sample from a movie or a pointless instrumental. So its a breathe of fresh air when a band actually writes a song intended to be an intro and doesn't half ass it. The following track "Bout To Get Fruit Punched, Homie" keeps the energy up as its another fast passed track completely filled with synths and a break down to boot. Something that's very clear is that The Wonder Years have breakdowns spread all over this release but they manage to not over do it and that's a definite plus because its awful when bands over due it and it sounds just plain forced.

After the first two tracks the next isn't as impressive but it isn't terrible by any means but you won't find yourself listening to it too often. The following track “What If We [Swam] Into Nothing?” has a very simple yet fulfilling break down with some nicely placed gang vocals and also has some of the vocalists best singing. Not to mention some of their best use of their synths. And just when you think they are going to slow it down a bit with their acoustic track "Racing Trains" they transition it to the following track "Zombies Are The New Black" with them shouting "You think you're safe" it's a nice little touch that adds to the CD.

Skip a track to "My Geraldine Lies Over The Delaware" a song that was on previous releases and was re recorded for their debut. "My Geraldine Lies Over The Delaware" stands out from the rest with a slightly different style then the rest of the album it has a very Set Your Goals feeling minus the dual vocals.

The next track I real want to focus on is the last track on the album "When Keeping It Real Goes Wrong" (No not Emmure.) This song goes back to the kind of lyrics found in the first track being a little more serious then the other songs. It's good to see they can have comical lyrics and still manage to throw in some that hold a little more meaning. The song catches your attention from the start with a very catch riff and lyrics that every one can relate to.
"I've got this job that equates swallowing *** where I puree food for dementia patients, and the commute is an hour each way. I'm so sick of taking the train."

Get Stoked On It! has 12 up beat tracks and every song on here is at least solid with a hand full of them being excellent. The quality and musicianship here is strong. You can tell they didn't rush anything while writing and recording this album. The drumming makes sure all the tracks are catchy, the synths enhance the over all experience and the lyrics are funny but they always get the point across. Over all the CD does just about everything right and everyone should give this a listen as this is an absolute cannot miss.

Tracks To listen to:
-Keystone State Dude-Core
-Bout To Get Fruit Punched, Homie
-When Keeping It Real Goes Wrong
-My Geraldine Lies Over The Delaware
-What If We [Swam] Into Nothing?
-Racing Trains/Zombies Are The New Black


user ratings (289)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
shika
November 13th 2008



10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

People Should Comment...lolThis Message Edited On 11.13.08

DFelon204409
Emeritus
November 13th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I got this in the mail. It sucked hard.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2008



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"The Wonder Years are a band right out of the keystone state".
Really? There are a few points emanating from this:
(1) What difference does that make?
(2) If I cared, I may ask what state is the keystone state. Don't worry about answering though as (per point 1) it is irrelevant.
(3) 'www' stands for WORLD WIDE web. Apparently this website is accessible from all over the world!

DFelon204409
Emeritus
November 13th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Davey Boy I think it's funny you're taking any of this that seriously. Good job living up to your contributor status with consistency and reliability!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2008



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah yeah I know Nick. It's just a pet hate of mine, that's all. Some reviewers get a little too insular for my liking and it really does effect reading a review when assumptions (as irrelevant as they are) are made. Call it a blunt way of constructive criticism.
Apologies for the bluntness Shika... Just keep it in mind for your next review that just because you know something, doesn't mean that everyone else does.

ToWhatEnd
November 13th 2008



3172 Comments


These guys toured and came here with some locals. I left after about a two songs, it was just noise for the most part.

shika
November 13th 2008



10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Duly noted.

iamrockzorz
November 13th 2008



1029 Comments


bad review. but that doesn't change the fact that you should probably know what the keystone state is.

iamrockzorz
November 13th 2008



1029 Comments


don't give us like half the album for songs to listen to.
defeats the purpose.

and work on sentence structure, run ons are really annoying to read.This Message Edited On 11.13.08

Ciattk
December 20th 2008



6 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

New release is 10000 times better.

boundbytransience
March 19th 2009



28 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think someone should write a review to their new release. I'm debating whether or not to buy it.

couch
December 15th 2009



311 Comments


easycore is terrible

xColton
December 15th 2009



20 Comments


One of the best pop punk bands around.

br00talexpress
December 23rd 2009



47 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is super fun.
Stop bitching.

Kiran
Emeritus
January 31st 2010



6001 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

a friend of mine plays this in his car. i seriously consider walking to uni every morning now.

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is a decent debut LP that occasionally shows promise within the synth-assisted, slightly harder-edged pop-punk genre. The Wonder Years are energetic & seem like they’re having fun on these predominantly short tracks, which is a positive… But Dan Campbell’s whiney’ish voice & a lack of song-writing variety soon becomes a little tiresome. There is nothing awful here, so the album is fairly consistent… But there isn’t anything that approaches outstanding either… ‘Zombies Are The New Black’ is the closest thing, with ‘When Keeping It Real Goes Wrong’ & ‘What If We Swam Into Nothing?’ probably being next in line.

HangEmHigh
July 2nd 2010



282 Comments


Bout To Get Fruit Punched Homie is one of the catchiest tunes I've heard in a while.

Desolator
July 30th 2010



191 Comments


I fell in love with a ninja master!!! That song is awesome!!!

bloodhound
April 12th 2011



3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The wonder years is my favorite band EVER! This albums awesome, it doesnt have a deep meaning, but these songs are fun. Listening to the upsides after this shows you how much these guys have changed, but this album is still awesome.

Fieryfenderz
December 2nd 2011



1432 Comments


I find the phrase "came out swinging" being used in this ironic.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy