Alice in Chains
Alice in Chains


4.5
superb

Review

by USER (14 Reviews)
July 12th, 2005 | 23 replies | 4,384 views


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist


3 of 4 thought this review was well written

Alice In Chains Ė S/T


This album scares me, not the music just the feel of it. Like, on the cover, there is a picture of a dog with three legs. On the back, there is a man with three legs, I donít know what this means but someone must tell me! On the 3rd full length album, Alice In Chains are better than ever though this album is over shadowed by Dirt, I prefer it. It is more darker and deeper, it takes you on a trip through their heads.

This is a near perfect album which spoiled by some filler songs like Brush Away which is mediocre and I hate Layneís voice in it. Another is So Close which nearly touches the three minute mark, itís short but sweet but you can see itís obviously a filler. The album has some acoustic songs. Heaven Beside You is an awesome song run, composed and written by guitarist Jerry Cantrell. Jerry C. has a much better voice than Layne in my opinion. Pretty over shadowed he is. Layne has a good melodic voice but Jerry is more better overall. The other acoustic song is the cheery Over Now, done by Jerry again. From what I have heard, some people donít like this for itís happy nature.

Now, the more rockier songs on the album. Grind is the first single from the album, the video is a bit strange but whatever. Okay song but Layneís voice annoys me sometimes but that is the effect to the song, pretty dark. Sludge Factory is a seven minute weird fest, Layneís voice is strange in this and later their is this mechanical voice thing. Again is a more so-so song, with slow, repetitive vocals from Layne. The slow sweeping Shame In You is a vocal harmonic battle between Jerry and Layne. God Am is a AiC masterpiece. More Layne Ė driven, it is the perfect song and one of the best on the album. Nothing Song is a more depressing song. The chorus is extremely catchy and the verses are deep and mystifying. Frogs used to be one of my favourites, slow and gloomy, itís the perfect song for when you are upset.

Well, thatís my two cents, buy it, it is an essential album for any metal-head or ďgrunger" It is gloomy and depressing. This review is short but sweet and straight to the point, I wonít be doing anymore track-by-track reviews anymore cause they are long and I keep getting interrupted (see Nirvana review)

--------------------------------------------
CONSTANT

4.5/5

Please vote yes on the helpful feature :thumb:

---------------------------------------------



Recent reviews by this author
Cathedral The Carnival BizarreMachine Head Through the Ashes of Empires
Korn IssuesPaul Weller Stanley Road
Adema AdemaThe Offspring Conspiracy of One
user ratings (1417)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Priestmetal
July 12th 2005



542 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Theres no way this album is better than Dirt or Facelift. It is nowhere near as eerie sounding as its predecesors and sounds more cheery and mainstream. Grind and Sludge Factory are pretty good songs though.

Werny
July 13th 2005



148 Comments


I've heard a few songs from this (Over Now and Sludge Factory OWN, and I love Brush Away too, the guitar effects are class) and I wanna get it but I have to repurchase their other albums before I do.

Priestmetal
July 13th 2005



542 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think their best album is Facelift. It was dark, heavy, and melodic. Dirt was good too but abit different from Facelift. This one though, the selftitled, has an even different sound. Some people might find it deep but I find it just more "radio friendly". And that they kinda sold out.

Priestmetal
July 13th 2005



542 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well everyones got their opinion. But i think we can all agree that these guys KICK some SERIOUS ass!!!

angelo_d_necro
July 14th 2005



43 Comments


I reckon Shame In You and God AM are the best songs from this album, Heaven Beside You's pretty fantastic too, but I'll always prefer Jar Of Flies

angelo_d_necro
July 14th 2005



43 Comments


One of them, the others Sap, but its good enough to be regarded as an album ignoring length

Priestmetal
July 14th 2005



542 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yea their EPs were all fairly good I must say.

br3ad_man
Emeritus
July 14th 2005



2125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'd give this album a 3.2/5, it's quite good.

superflyjojo
August 4th 2005



6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just bought this album, and so far I'm enjoying it greatly. It really is putting me in a depressed mood though. So far it seems like there darkest album, but not their heaviest. Before this I owned (in order I recieved or purchased) Dirt, Jar Of Flies, Unplugged, Facelift (burned copy), Live.

Priestmetal
August 4th 2005



542 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

YES. Its much better unplugged. Cuz it doesnt have that awful ending.

Priestmetal
August 4th 2005



542 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also I must say that i disliked the song Frogs both on this album and on the unplugged one.

heavy metal kid
August 5th 2005



174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^^Depressing album.
< But has to be great, not to pullished but still great.

angelo_d_necro
August 14th 2005



43 Comments


Your Weapon Is Guilt, Your Weapon Is Guilt, Your Weapon Is Guilt, Your Weapon Is Guilt, Your Weapon Is Guilt, Your Weapon Is Guilt

Jimmy
June 13th 2006



717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I much prefer this album to both Facelift and Dirt. I love it when a band branches out from what they do originally and make something different, which is what AiC did with this album.

TBoneJones23
July 11th 2012



36 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I find this album to be wayyyyyy darker than Facelift. I never really found Facelift to be dark, with the exception of Love Hate Love.

Layne was really in the spotlight in this album, even though all of Jerry's songs were the ones that got playtime on the radio (with the exception of Again). I love just about all of the songs on this album, even the ones sometimes viewed as filler ("Nothin' Song and So Close).



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy