Enya
And Winter Came...


3.0
good

Review

by Jake C. Taylor USER (92 Reviews)
November 10th, 2008 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Conveniently just in time for the spree, the decorations and celebrations, And Winter Came… offers plenty of material for her close followers, and to those who are simply looking for an appropriate album to play through their homes during the festive se

Oddly, in just over twenty years, none of Enya’s releases have dedicated themselves exclusively towards the festive season. Many of her previous albums have been seamlessly repackaged with glitter and tinsel to accompany the Christmas rush, decorating the nooks and crannies of department store corner display units. Using the electronic pads, cathedral reverberance, and wall of sound styled vocal harmonisation she has come to personify and almost take claim to, the sonic element of And Winter Came… expediently fits the Christmas mould with elegance; it’s a wonder that she hasn’t approached this idea already.

When she did begin to consider producing such an album, she initially envisaged it to become that of less-than-unique one, including usual Christmas carol covers, and the possibility of some original pieces being selflessly added to the mix. What eventuated in fact, was an evolution through which she delved into the cold, yet mystical and meditative period of winter. “How does snow sound? How does it form, and how does this affect those around it?” – are thoughts that become a place for the music to essentially form, just as any snowflake would.

With a filling comprised of genuine snow-laden harmonic essences and appropriately paced joyful dialogue from the pen of her lyricist, Roma Ryan, Enya offers an assortment of well-paced fantasies, dashed by a few upbeat ice-breakers to calm the feeling of monotony whenever it may arise. Whether exactly it’s for winter or Christmas itself doesn’t necessarily become a place for lengthy thought once the music begins rather atypically during the choral “And Winter Came…”. Just like any other Enya song would unfoil (pensive and epically), so to do many others (most in fact), but considering the initial intentions, there are markers for where she clearly has found room for celebratory rhythms to form, such as in the very joyful “White is in the Winter Night, and rolling snares in “One Toy Soldier” that is backed by a sweetly delivered vocal performance. Possibly the most unrepresentative song, “My! My! Time Flies!” becomes the most powerful on the album, using a solid beat, and a rather surprising entry from a bluesy lead guitar that sounds like it’s been ripped from a 70s prog-rock record.

Given these occasional and well-earned surprises, the album also offers no new definable directions for Enya to explore in the future, nor does it warrant any new kind of sound for her to bounce off. It seems though this is of no issue for her, as pace is as important as bearings are. For what it is, And Winter Came… will succeed in satisfying fans, the Christmas airwaves, either in the home or shopping centre, and most importantly Enya herself.



Recent reviews by this author
Hans Zimmer InterstellarMachine Head Bloodstone and Diamonds
Arch Enemy War EternalCavern Cavern
Hans Zimmer The Dark Knight RisesPeriphery Periphery II: This Time It's Personal
user ratings (22)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
robin
Emeritus
November 10th 2008


4261 Comments


i read a review recently about how terrible this is. yours is short and sweet, but i really don't ever want to hear enya again.

taylormemer
November 10th 2008


4953 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Terrible? lol It's not that bad. Certainly not unique, but appropriate and well done in its own regard.
I don't understand the affect Enya has on people. Some love it other like yourself are completely turned off after a few seconds...
Thanks for the kind words.This Message Edited On 11.10.08

Willie
Moderator
November 10th 2008


16145 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review. I had the outline of one finished, but it was roughly similar so now I can move on to something else.

Edit: Also, I like this album. It seems she's never going to release the kind of moody, largely instrumental (or at least
without actual words) albums she did in the beginning.This Message Edited On 11.10.08

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

NOTINTHEFACE
November 10th 2008


1653 Comments


I like Enya a lot, actually. Although this sounds interesting, she also happens to be one of those artists where I'm satisfied with two or three albums and don't feel the need to hear anything else.

BallsToTheWall
November 10th 2008


44805 Comments


New Enya? Sweet. I like that you review the good stuff that doesn't get alot of online respect.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

Poet
November 10th 2008


5935 Comments


Enya releasing a Christmas album. That's pretty awesome actually.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2008


20858 Comments


I wish Enya would “sail away, sail away, sail away”.
Good review Jake.



Willie
Moderator
November 10th 2008


16145 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wish Enya would “sail away, sail away, sail away”.
Good review Jake.
I hate that song. That was my first exposure to Enya when my mom used to play that album all the time. The only thing I can figure is that the fact that I like Enya now is the result of some sort of Stockholm Syndrome-like occurance.

taylormemer
November 10th 2008


4953 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's pissing me off that I can't edit the summary to include 'season'. Stupid character limiting. Anyway...

I like that you review the good stuff that doesn't get alot of online respect.

That's the name of the game my friend.
Enya releasing a Christmas album. That's pretty awesome actually.

Certainly better than the generic choral pop that comes out at this time of year.
I wish Enya would “sail away, sail away, sail away”.
Good review Jake.

Please tell me that you liked 'Orinoco Flow', that song is awesome. ;p



Willie
Moderator
November 10th 2008


16145 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Please tell me that you liked 'Orinoco Flow', that song is awesome.
I've said it once but it bears repeating... I hate that song.This Message Edited On 11.10.08

taylormemer
November 10th 2008


4953 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I understand why you hate it. For example my mother would play Belinda Carlisle's classic that I won't dare to even spell out, and now I hate that song (as do many other probably).

UncalledFor
November 10th 2008


100 Comments


Classy review! Great job.

I bet I would just shudder listening to this winter album! Eh? EH???


taylormemer
November 10th 2008


4953 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I bet I would just shudder listening to this winter album! Eh? EH???

What's with all the puns in this threads lol.

AtavanHalen
November 10th 2008


17927 Comments


"If any vagina on any woman ever could speak or make noise, it would sound exactly like Enya"
-Dylan Moran

taylormemer
November 10th 2008


4953 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Why is that image just almost unbearable to imagine.

Epilogue
November 10th 2008


1600 Comments


Only Time is heaps of awsomeness I dont care who knows it

BallsToTheWall
November 10th 2008


44805 Comments


That is the right kind of attitude I like to see in a sputnik user. Cheers!!

Epilogue
November 10th 2008


1600 Comments


Goddam I want that song now. Good review taylor, btw.

oflow
November 15th 2008


1 Comments


I like this album better than Amarantine (which I didn't buy).
Enya surprised me oh so sweetly with her new album, "And Winter Came." I listen to it as I go to sleep. And, upon waking up in the early morning when it is growing light outside, I hear the distant train and I imagine watching in my mind the MTV of "Trains and Winter Rains." Now I've learned to love the noise that a train makes. That's the magic of Enya. I usually play in my mp3 "On My Way Home" after listening to "Trains and Winter Rains." A double treat for my longing heart. I still like "Orinoco Flow" and now I find "Only Time" sounding tired and overused. I don't dig that song. It sounds so commercial. Another Enya song that I'd love to hate is "Less Than A Pearl."

dametalzrsik
December 8th 2008


1 Comments


Enya is still good, even though this album has been bashed a bit, poeple saying it's crap, I dont agree, its pretty good.

Yeah, the single "Trains and Winter Rains" is really annoying, it gets further away from the purpose of Enya's voice: to be beautiful.
That being said, my fave tracks are:
Journey of the Angels
Last Time by Moonlight
Stars and Midnight Blue
My! My! Time Flies!

Time Flies, is like "woah!?! what's going on here...?" but it's all good, catchy and really good.
My favourite song is Last Time by Moonlight!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy