The Taste Of Blood
Predator


3.5
great

Review

by Brandon Burton USER (19 Reviews)
November 8th, 2008 | 19 replies | 4,396 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: So thats what it should sound like...

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

Deathcore. The very term itself can either draw a certain pandering crowd toward it, or lead another crowd far...far away from it. There are so many bands doing the same thing it's really astounding, which is a shame because there are some very talented musicians that just happen to play a very overplayed style of music. However, there are still some bands that continue to try and resuscitate the corpse of an already decaying form of music by still playing some of the most intense and heartfelt material they can. The Taste Of Blood are one of those bands.

Between the amazing guitars, vocals and drums, (oh we'll get to those later), this band is quite possibly the tour de force of the deathcore world. Going unnoticed for the majority of the deathcore explosion that happened for the better part of...too long.

The musicality of Predator is quite enjoyable for many reasons. The guitars don't sound like the traditional, over-produced guitars that one would hear on an album like this. In it's stead you're pulverised with a complete wall of sound from the guitarists Chase Fraser and Tommy Legan. They harmonize, they riff, they bring the jun's when it's necessary or just plain cool. They don't overuse any part of what they do to the point of annoyance, and by the end of the album you don't feel as if you've heard the same riff twenty times over. While breakdowns are few and far between, they are still present. But in a much more traditional hardcore sense, they are added when they fit the song and left out when they don't fit. You don't get a feeling that this band is forcing anything that they are playing. The vocals from Derek Rydquist are varied and provide even more layering to the intensity of the guitars with his shrill highs and brutal lows. The only problem that the album has as far as musicality is the bass. You couldn't hear the bass on this album even if you cranked the subs up in your riced out, lowered Honda Accord. Which is such a shame because it is the one thing that newer albums seem to have a problem with now days. The bass just needs pulled higher in the mix, it's non-existent.

Now, the drums, oh my god the drums. Quite possibly the most energetic performance I've heard on any release in some time. If you've ever heard any song by Animosity you'll know what I'm talking about. Evan Diolla is an absolute beast behind the kit, he basically solo's for 35 minutes straight and calls it an album. He throws some of the best placed groove sections and tech drum fills that I've ever had the pleasure of listening to. He is quite a talented young man and has quite the bright future for himself playing this style of music. There isn't one song where you get the impression that he is being lazy. It is quite difficult to explain just how amazing the young man is on his instrument, you will just need to listen to understand.

Predator is a solid release from a little known band that doesn't tour much and has only released this album. Between the massive guitars, the crushing and powerful vocals, and the absolutely frenetic drumming, you have the recipe for a heavy metal sandwich with a side of brutality. Other than the flawed production and the completely hollow low end (due to the bass issue), this is quite the album for a bunch of youngsters. Shows bands that you can be heavy and technical, you can play blast beats and breakdowns and make it sound good. Now if we can only get the entirety of myspace music to realize this....



Recent reviews by this author
Those Who Lie Beneath An AwakeningTricky Nearly God
The Haunted VersusSuffocation Souls to Deny
Neaera Let The Tempest ComeBleeding Through Declaration
user ratings (19)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
beans
November 8th 2008



2332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah i had fun with it. there's probably a lot of grammatical errors. i tried to just write it with some of me in it

eh whatever, probably end up rewriting it anyway.
just want people to listen to this

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
November 8th 2008



3752 Comments


Definitely more expressive than some of your previous reviews, but you still need to work on your phrasing and sentence structure, which will develop the more you write and read. Be careful not to come off as fanboyish and also perhaps explain more throughly why you didn't give this a higher score.

Digging: The Pains of Being Pure at Heart - Days Of Abandon

fireaboveicebelow
November 8th 2008



6837 Comments


hehe I like the drumming a lot so far, cool review

but he's right, you don't explain why you didn't rate this higherThis Message Edited On 11.08.08

bastard
November 8th 2008



3435 Comments


I agree with Streetlightrock. Either you make tons of sentence fragments, or you do what I do, run-on sentences.

It's a good review otherwise, and I'll pos it.This Message Edited On 11.08.08

beans
November 8th 2008



2332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah, my main focus with this was to throw a little more of myself into the review, some other things suffered because of it, im going to revise and resubmit when i get home.

marksellsuswallets
November 8th 2008



4848 Comments


That intro sounds like a re-worked version of the intro to my review of The Famine's album haha...review is definitely more expressive and entertaining as Streetlight said but aside form the things previously said, I would say try to avoid saying things are "amazing" as it just sounds fanboyish...in fact if you take out that word that sentence reads just as good, if not better...

AbyssalCreation
November 8th 2008



2023 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice finally glad to see someone review this, i've been digging this album for quite some time.These guys are REALLY under rated.

The only problem i had with this cd at first were Dereks vocals his lows were amazing, but his highs are so raspy that it sounds forced. It really takes a few listens to fully appreciate them.

It's hard to believe thats the same guy that fronts The Faceless. He sounds nothing like he did on here.(I release wish he would encorporate those lows there that he does here)

One last thing this was not their only release they had 1 earlier cd called "In Response To Affection."

rasputin
November 8th 2008



14504 Comments


There are so many bands doing the same thing it's really astounding. Which is a shame cause there are some very talented musicians that just happen to play a very played out style of music. But there are still a few bands that continue to try and resuscitate the corpse of an already decaying form of music. By still playing some of the most intense and heartfelt material they can.

This whole section has no flow at all, you should do osmething like this with it:
'There are so many bands doing the same thing it's really astounding, which is a shame because there are some very talented musicians that just happen to play a very overplayed style of music. However, there are still some bands that continue to try and resuscitate the corpse of an already decaying form of music by still playing some of the most intense and heartfelt material they can.
The guitars don't sound like your traditional, over-produced guitars you would hear on an album like this.

'The guitars don't sound like the traditional, over-produced guitars that one would hear on an album like this.'
Which is such a shame cause it is the one thing that newer albums seem to have a problem with now days.
make sure you use the word 'because'
The bass just needs pulled higher in the mix, its non-existent.

Another common error, from now on everytime you write 'its' stop and think to yourself 'am I saying 'it is', or am I just saying 'its'', because if you're saying 'it is', like you are here, you need an apostrophe.

You're definitely improving though, this review is far better that your last couple.

beans
November 8th 2008



2332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks to everyone who provided some sort of feedback, i will be revising this further when i get home making it a bit of an easier read and also some more explanation as to why i gave this the rating i did.

thomasj12e34
November 13th 2008



195 Comments


derek sounds so different on this album then on the faceless albums

beans
November 16th 2008



2332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that he does, i like him on both of them though
different sounds

MTTS
June 13th 2009



69 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This band is pretty raw. I wish they would do another album. Animosity tours out the wazzoo, so I'm sure recording is few and far between for these guys.

beans
June 18th 2009



2332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

they have a new song on thier myspace but no talk of an upcoming album so i would say that your hypothesis is correct

beans
June 18th 2009



2332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

they have a new song on thier myspace but no talk of an upcoming album so i would say that your hypothesis is correct

beans
June 18th 2009



2332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

they have a new song on thier myspace but no talk of an upcoming album so i would say that your hypothesis is correct

frozenocean99
August 15th 2009



39 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

one of my favorite heavier records ever, these guys brought the intensity and were able to shine above and beyond most in their genre

beans
August 19th 2009



2332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

bla bla blah

PinkBlackberry
November 30th 2009



2346 Comments


You couldn't hear the bass on this album even if you cranked the subs up in your riced out, lowered Honda Accord.


Laughed so hard i cried, Wasnt expecting that sort of thing reading this review so it caught me off guard.

I've known about these guys forever and they're a god damn beast machine.

as far as the bass being non existent though..he's there, but he doesnt do anything overly impressive. Hence why its so low on the mix. he plays a couple small slide fills or out of place notes, but hes basically chugging along. I can only imagine what these guys would sound like with a bassist a la Arusha accord..fuck that would be intense.

reeshespeeshes
July 19th 2010



64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hopefully these guys have a new album soon now that Cameron left AGATG for them and Animosity is done



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy