Skinny Puppy
The Process


4.0
excellent

Review

by Rob USER (7 Reviews)
October 24th, 2008 | 12 replies


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Tribulations while recording their intended finale shape one of Skinny Puppy's more accessible releases.

The Process was released in 1996 and was intended, at the time, to be the final album from industrial giants Skinny Puppy. Its concept revolves around a cult from the 1960's called The Process Church Of The Final Judgment. Vocalist Nivek Ogre was introduced to the doctrine of The Process by Genesis P. Orridge and this theme runs throughout the album. Many problems arose during the recording of The Process, including the death of keyboardist Dwayne Goettel due to a heroin overdose and high tensions within the band.

The music itself swings back and forth. There are more chaotic moments which feature heavy guitar riffs combined with rapid percussion and electronics. These are the areas of the album which may be harder for someone who isn't a fan of industrial music to get into but they are the least frequently visited. There are also moments where the band pulls back and refines their sound into a much more straightforward and laid back approach. At times these passages include a little acoustic guitar work which is a nice contrast to the distorted riffs appearing throughout the album. Lastly, there's a combination of the two, which is to say that these parts of the album contain different elements of the two aforementioned structures.

The Process is a very moody and dark record. The intro to the song Process comes to mind as a good example of the mood put forth on the album. It features a droning sound in the background with different samples fading in, creating a very eerie start to the song. The vocal delivery augments this as well. Ogre is not a talented singer in a musical sense, he doesn't really sing though. Most of the vocals are spoken or shouted with an array of effects utilized making them sound less than human.

The lyrics, as previously stated, revolve around The Process cult. The song Morter seems to speak about not following the masses and striking out your own unique path. “Teller lazy sky tales. Find your rate and pace. Reinvent uniqueness. Adjust the outer face.” While the lyrics don't come off very eloquently, the message is still there. The only problem is that since the lyrics read almost like a stream of consciousness, it is difficult to pick out the real theme of the album without researching it.

The Process is one of Skinny Puppy's more accessible albums. It contains some of their hardest moments but also some of their softest ones as well. If you are not particularly into the industrial genre or a fan of Skinny Puppy then this is a good starting point. I would also recommend it to fans of metal.



Recent reviews by this author
Tiger Army Early Years EPPorcupine Tree We Lost the Skyline
Danzig 7:77 - I LuciferiVNV Nation Empires
AFI Black SailsDanger To The System Beware the Military Industrial Complex
user ratings (91)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Meatplow
October 25th 2008


5524 Comments


Good review.

Despite being into industrial a fair bit I haven't investigated Skinny Puppy much, and what I have heard (this, and a few select songs) hasn't interested me much.

There is something about the production that irks me, and I dislike the acoustic sections. I've listened to it a few times now and have never really warmed up to it, i'll keep trying though.

Wizard
October 25th 2008


19607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review, especially the introduction with some background to the album. Nice touch.

I would go over this review with a fine tooth comb and pick out some of the awkward sentence structures. Maybe have someone else check it over for you. Here is an example:

Ogre is not a talented singer in a musical sense, he doesn't really sing though.


I would change this to "....in a musical sense simply because he doesn't really sing." or whatever you feel like rewording it to.

Glad to see some more Skinny Puppy reviews on this site .

Digging: Earth - Primitive and Deadly

Willie
Moderator
October 25th 2008


16116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was a pretty good review and the album definitely needed one. I especially liked that you added a bit of background on what inspired the lyrics on this album.
I think you could have bulked this up a little bit by including the fact that this album was the first where Ogre stopped distorting his voice which is a huge departure from past albums, and also caused a lot of problems between him and Cevin Key during the recording.
You could mention that this album streamlined their sound. It brought in more conventional electronica elements and dropped a lot of convoluted beats and white noise elements.
There's a few other things, but mostly I'm happy to see another SP review.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

Wizard
October 25th 2008


19607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I will have another one on the way when I purchase Bites this weekend.

Willie
Moderator
October 25th 2008


16116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Looking forward to it. That album is hit and miss with me.

Edit: a 2.5? Really? I know this isn't typical SP (well, now that the new albums are out it kind of is) but there are so many
redeeming qualities about this album (just skip the first two tracks).This Message Edited On 10.25.08

Hewitt
October 25th 2008


371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the feedback guys, I will give this one another pass in the near future.

Wizard
October 25th 2008


19607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Looking forward to it. That album is hit and miss with me.


I've actually never heard it, but I've read some good and bad things about it. Still sounds worth checking out.


Merkaba33
October 25th 2008


702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was just about to review this ha. But this is a good review. I like how you explain theme of the album a bit. This album features some really moody keyboard work that I love but the sound quality is a bit bland. Where as the two albums preceeding this had more punching piercing sounds, this just kind of seemed hallow. Those issues aside, I still think this one of the group's best albums.

Wizard
October 25th 2008


19607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album features some really moody keyboard work that I love but the sound quality is a bit bland. Where as the two albums preceeding this had more punching piercing sounds, this just kind of seemed hallow.


Precisely!

Willie
Moderator
October 25th 2008


16116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Where as the two albums preceeding this had more punching piercing sounds, this just kind of seemed hallow.
The previous albums had very sharp productions; very "industrialized" productions. This one has a warmer feel due to the more organic instruments used (acoustic guitar, real keyboard melodies). I wouldn't say it's hallow, just warmer and more organic which, I think, works better with this moody album.

Meatplow
May 9th 2009


5524 Comments


i'm liking this a lot more then I used to. i often don't find myself wandering past the first two tracks though, which I really love

sinsexsodomy
November 26th 2012


224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

90's SP is my favorite, this album always did rock, never understood why it got such a bad rep. when
it first came out



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy