Pink
I'm Not Dead


4.0
excellent

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
October 23rd, 2008 | 36 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Pink returns to the top of the female pop-rock throne with an album that includes multiple hits, as well as being simultaneously consistent & unpredictable.

One can never accuse Pink of not having meaningful album titles. Her debut release ‘Can’t Take Me Home’ was a message to the boys and hinted at the verging on man-bashing lyrics that the LP was to contain. ‘Missundaztood’ was a persona back-track of sorts which showed her true character, while ‘Try This’ was bordering on experimentation as she collaborated with Rancid’s Tim Armstrong on a hit & miss affair. That latter album saw a significant decline in sales and cynics were quick to dismiss Pink as washed up. The title of this 4th album is a clear message to those doubters.

In fact, not only is Pink still well and truly alive as a pop-rock performer, but she could well have released her best effort yet with ‘I’m Not Dead’. She not only seems to be totally at ease with herself here, but also with her craft. It immediately is shown on opener ‘Stupid Girls’. Initially appearing to be a sugary pop song masking an excuse for a humorous video, it reveals itself as a lyrically pointed and genuinely funny cut where Pink uses her carefree nature interestingly, to mock the Paris Hilton’s of this world and approach motivating young females from a completely different angle.

Amazingly, ‘Stupid Girls’ was the first of 7 singles released from ‘I’m Not Dead’ and that is proof positive of the quality and consistency to be found here. Furthermore, those 7 are all included within the first 9 tracks of the album, as an argument can genuinely be made that at that point, this was a genuine album of 2006 contender! Even the 2 songs not to be released as singles, ’Long Way To Happy’ and the title track, are solid crowd-pleasing pop-rock cuts.

Pink set the bar high on ‘Missundaztood’ when it came to personal songs of the highest quality (‘Family Portrait’, ‘Lonely Girl’ & ‘My Vietnam’) and while her attempts to match those past successes here are valiant, they just fall short. Radio friendly 2nd single ‘Who Knew’ is solid, but it is on the attention-getting political duet with The Indigo Girls, ‘Dear Mr. President’, where she unexpectedly shines. Written almost entirely in question format to U.S President George W Bush, Pink hits all the intended spots here and does so in a manner which results in a thoroughly superior piece.

However, it is on a three song sequence between tracks 7 and 9 where Pink really hits her straps. Beginning with the stomping beat of ‘Cuz I Can’, her cocky carefree persona is performed in such a fun and humorous manner that it somehow ends up likeable. Who could resist such a forthright statement as “I talk $hit, just deal with it”? Meanwhile, ‘U + Ur Hand’ could include the most contagious sing-along chorus of the year as a darker musical vibe accompanies the performer’s near-perfect putting down of womanizers.

The true album highlight though is 6th single ‘Leave Me Alone (I’m Lonely)’. This is catchy pop-rock at its best, because this time it comes with pure lyrical genius as Pink perfectly conveys what all men of the world already know; Women can be darn moody on occasions and change their mind in a heartbeat! Any number of lines could be used as an example here, with “Cutting off the phone, leave me the f**k alone, tomorrow I’ll be begging you to come home” possibly being the best. Of course, men are also required to be mind-readers as the line “Go away, come back, I wish you knew the difference” humorously suggests.

Pink is also by no means as predictable an artist as some would have you believe. She is an ambitious and complex performer which is proven on the final 4 tracks of ‘I’m Not Dead’. Containing a mixture of orchestral (‘Conversations With My 13 Year Old Self’), acoustic (‘The One That Got Away’) and folky (the closing duet with her father) music, the best of the lot is ‘I Got Money Now’. This cut which totally belies its title is a real grower and combines well with the songs around it to add more strings to Pink’s bow while also proving her unpredictability.

It was never going to be easy for Pink to match her 2001 release ‘Missundaztood’, but she may have just done so with ‘I’m Not Dead’. Using a variety of co-producers and songwriters such as Butch Walker, Max Martin & Billy Mann, this at times contradictory performer has become so comfortable with who she is as an artist that she really has outdone herself here. Her ambition has allowed Pink to not only be successfully unpredictable, but approach songs from multiple angles to bring the best out of them. Ultimately, it results in one hell of a satisfying release that sees her return to the top of the female pop-rock throne.

Recommended Tracks: Leave Me Alone (I’m Lonely), U + Ur Hand, Dear Mr. President & Stupid Girls.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (105)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtavanHalen
October 23rd 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love the fact that the guy who wrote U + Ur Hand sold the same song to the Veronicas, who released it under the name 4ever.

Jim
October 23rd 2008


5110 Comments


i was under the impression that martin just wrote them as separate songs for both artists and they just sounded exactly the same.
either way he's new songs are crap compared to his older stuff with kelly clarkson and britney. toxic was nasty :smoke:
good review. i read a bit of an interview with pink today in the paper and it slightly changed my view of her. i dislike her a little less now

AtavanHalen
October 23rd 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Her on Denton was the best

bastard
October 23rd 2008


3435 Comments


pretty good review even though i'm not to fond of pink and her music. Are you going to review her new album soon, the single is awful.

AtavanHalen
October 23rd 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

NO YOU ARE

bastard
October 23rd 2008


3435 Comments


WHY CAN'T YOU ACCEPT ME
This Message Edited On 10.23.08

badtaste
October 23rd 2008


824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I enjoy this album very much. Review was spot on.This Message Edited On 10.23.08

AtavanHalen
October 23rd 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

WHY CAN'T YOU ACCEPT ME

BECAUSE I HATE YOU HATE YOU HATE YOU

Auldy
October 23rd 2008


351 Comments


Nice review. I dont really rate Pink that much, I know she is a fantastic performer and a great unit shifter (and her video clips tend to be funny ie 'Stupid Girls', and the new 'So What'), but I find no appeal in her man shoulders. Either way I've been reading you reviews on each of her albums that you've been posting almost once a day, but please, please, after 'Funhouse' (which i'm going to assume you do), review a good album :PThis Message Edited On 10.23.08

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok, it's Feedback-O-Rama time...
Dave, I was also of the same impression as James regarding 'U + Ur Hand' & '4Ever'. But "meh" either way. What did she do on Denton...???
James, I'm half tempted to try to win you over on Pink. All I will say is if you have not given it a good listen as yet, give "Leave Me Alone (I'm Lonely)" from this album a few more listens.
Thanks for the positive feedback BadTaste. I was initially leaning towards a 3.5 rating on this myself. I guess it all depends on the final 4 or 5 songs and whether people think they are filler OR a bonus in addition to the great tracks that come before them.
Yes, Bastard & Auldy, I am listening to 'Funhouse' as we speak (since it comes out earlier in Oz), so expect a review of that no later than Monday. As for reviewing a good album after 'Funhouse' Auldy, I just checked your album ratings & the LP I am indeed planning on reviewing, rates highly with your good self!

AtavanHalen
October 23rd 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

She got interviewed on Denton and she was really smart, really funny and far more genuine than a lot of people give her credit for. That's why I dig Pink so much more than a lot of pop out there- she's the real deal and she doesn't give a flying fuck what you think about it.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Righteo, you're not telling me anything I don't know there. Seriously, for those who weren't so superficial, they could tell that she was all those things way back on her 2nd album 'Missundaztood'. All one had to do was actually listen to the lyrics.
The thing which puts many people off with Pink is her carefree attitude. In reality, this is probably down to jealousy more than anything else, since most people would love to be so carefree.

AtavanHalen
October 23rd 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hell, I know I would.
But yeah, if you find her interview on Denton I highly recommend sussing that out.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Interesting new user-name Dave. Thanks for the feedback mate. I hate it when I drop back into apostrophe error mode. As for sneaking in the producers at the end, that was indeed what it was; Sneaking it in for the sake of it. I didn't really want to explore the individual aspect of their contributions and couldn't really find an appropriate stage earlier on. I am usually very mindful of not introducing new info into the conclusion.
As for her new album Dave, don't think that the lead single represents the whole album as it does not. There are only 2 other tracks that approach 'So What' in style. Having said that, the album is clearly not as good as 'I'm Not Dead'.
Reddannihilation, I cannot really agree with you at all. You don't really justify your comments at all. And the song you mention, 'Dear Mr. President' is so different than her new single 'So What' that they are practically polar opposites. So, you may not like her (as many don't), but one thing she doesn't do is come up with the "same old $hit".


Jim
October 24th 2008


5110 Comments


ah yes you are correct dave. i must have misread that martin wrote that somewhere!
that was to spat btw, there are too many dave's in this thread

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the clarification James as I was genuinely confused there for a moment. And Atavan wonders why I call him Atavan occasionally.

AtavanHalen
October 24th 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You pussies need to alternate what goes on the end of "Dav". Spat/Britney gets "e", Champ Kind gets "ey" (or, failing that, "Champ Kind"), I get "id", "o" or maybe "Brick", bahamut gets "eshhhh" because it's sexy.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That sounds good DavID. Although, DavID sounds a bit too formal for my liking... Kinda like I have to put on a suit just to chat to you.

Captain North
October 25th 2008


6788 Comments


Far too much filler on this album.

And I'm really starting to like So What (even though it lost me ten bucks - I seriously believed my friend was bullshitting when he said she had a song that went like that)....

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2008


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, fair call on the filler aspect Captain North. But one of the reasons for that is that there are simply too many songs on the album full stop. With the filler predominantly in the final 4-5 tracks, I almost treat some of them as bonus tracks.
LOL at you for losing $10 regarding the content of 'So What'. But the fact that you are beginning to like it really does tell a story. It is the kind of piece that if you give it a chance, many will begin to get into it. The problem is, it can really turn you off initially... To the point where many will not want to give it a later chance.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy