Editors
An End Has A Start


3.5
great

Review

by Tom USER (6 Reviews)
October 3rd, 2008 | 24 replies | 9,793 views


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ”In the end, all you can hope for is the love you felt to equal the pain you’ve gone through.”

4 of 5 thought this review was well written

”In the end, all you can hope for is the love you felt to equal the pain you’ve gone through.”

On Editors 2nd album, An End Has A Start there appears to be definite concept weaved throughout the songs – that while life is terrible, there is always hope. However, the hopeful side of things struggles to lift its head through the murk and the gloom – instead, we are left with a desperately sad record of one’s own mortality and relationships that grow stale.

The record starts with a heartbeat – or, more accurately, pounding drums. Following suit, piano, bass and soaring guitar flows in, accompanied by Tom Smith’s powerfully emotional vocals. The lyrics themselves present depressing observations ”The saddest thing that I ever saw were the smokers outside the hospital doors” and firm, cruel statements ”Say goodbye to everyone you have ever known, you are not gonna see them ever again”.

An End Has A Start continues the theme of imminent death while Weight of the World sums it up with an air of finality which turns out to be the most ‘hopeful’ tune on the record, albeit in a sense that won’t help you while you’re still living: ”Every little piece in your life/Will mean something to someone”. Certainly makes you feel better about carking without doing anything ‘meaningful’ with your life.

The rest of the album is less structured, each song about a different subject – ranging from broken relationships, being swallowed in the ever increasing pace of the world all the way down to, yes…death. The instrumentation is constant – soaring guitars that lend more to the atmosphere than the energy; the beating pulse of the drums, which represent the heartbeat of the album; a driving bass line in each song; subtle piano…and Smiths magnificent voice.

In fact, the album almost falls into a decaying rut until, out of nowhere, bursts Escape The Nest which pulses energy back into the record, the guitars, for once, playing a definite riff and the lyrics gaining an edge of determination rather than resignation.

The next song Spiders also profits from this new found momentum. While reverting back to a slow rocker, it contains the same determination…if rather more ambiguous. Unfortunately, Well Worn Hand proves to be worst song on the album, its pulls the tempo back further than any other song, essentially becoming a piano ballad. However, Smith’s lyrics have always lacked any real rhythm and that fact really shines through on this song, accentuated by his worst singing on the record.

So, overall, An End Has A Start proves to be depressing, bleak and unfortunately, rather repetitive. It shows a lot of potential, just next time, the band could do with stretching out a little and experimenting with different structures and soundscapes.

Highlights: Weight of the World, Escape The Nest, Spiders.
Lowlights: Well Worn Hand, When Anger Shows



Recent reviews by this author
Poison the Well VersionsWalking With Mirrors Behind Closed Doors
Evermore Truth of the World: Welcome to the ShowBloc Party A Weekend in the City
Bullet for My Valentine Scream, Aim, Fire
user ratings (277)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Davey Boy STAFF (4)
Moving towards a more expansive and anthemic sound, Editors once more impress with a very good album...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Captain North
October 3rd 2008



6779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First review in a long time...and might as well be my first review ever.

taylormemer
October 3rd 2008



4913 Comments


Yeah so you begin the review and then begin it again.
Otherwise not bad, a little cumbersome and obvious but well done.

The next song[...]

Just something I'd refrain from doing.

Kiran
Emeritus
October 3rd 2008



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is extremely hit or miss. The songs are either great or terrible.

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

Nagrarok
October 3rd 2008



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think the title track is one of the best off this album.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 3rd 2008



15727 Comments


Editors are such a generic band

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

Kage
October 3rd 2008



1173 Comments


great review for a "first." keep it up

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You snuck in ahead of me Captain North. I've been listening to this of late also. Oh well.

Not too bad of a job with the review, although I do sense a little bit of keyboard rust. You probably concentrate too much on the lyrics & themes of the album if anything. I liked your mention of the soaring guitars though. I like all 3 singles personally, especially the title track & it's beginning. This Message Edited On 10.04.08This Message Edited On 10.04.08

Kiran
Emeritus
October 4th 2008



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Smokers Outside The Hospital Doors is easily my favourite.

Captain North
October 4th 2008



6779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yah, Davey - my thing is that I'm always going to concentrate on lyrics and themes, because thats the side of music I'm best at - then drums. I don't know too much about the technical side of music itself really, don't pay enough attention at school. =P

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fair enough Captain North. I am certain you can still find a good balance & this review isn't too far off the mark anyway. I'm still to decide on my rating for this album, but it will most likely be a 4. I can see how some listeners may feel this to be a little too (as ECity stated) "generic", but I do not fully agree with that opinion.

Captain North
October 4th 2008



6779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've certainly never heard the sound elsewhere...but then again, I've only just started digging into indie...which I've always been iffy about anyway, because the stuff I do hear on Triple J is generally either shit or sounds the same as whatever last played.This Message Edited On 10.04.08

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm with you Tom as I am iffy about indie as well for the most part. I had actually forgotten you were from Oz until the Triple J comment. I just don't listen to radio full stop anymore.
By the way, this may be the first Editors review I have ever seen without the word "baritone" being used. LOL.

AtavanHalen
October 4th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Band rules, album rules, review doesn't suck- woo.

Captain North
October 4th 2008



6779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ha, considering the shit I used to get from you Atavan about my older reviews, I'll take that as a massive compliment. ^^

Ahh, baritone - thats the word I was looking for! =P

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
December 17th 2008



848 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

just picked this up and i think although slightly repetitive and hit and miss it gets a 3.5 from me, it just needs a bit more variety to take it to that next level.

disagree with when anger shows but thats the beauty of opinion and nothing to do with the review itself, where i would say good job =]

Fugue
December 17th 2008



7352 Comments


Good enough review for an OK album, not as good as The Back Door IMO

Knott-
Emeritus
December 17th 2008



10194 Comments


or the back room :D either works.

one of my favourite albums. melancholy and subtly moving. decent review.

Fugue
December 17th 2008



7352 Comments


Ahh yeah thats the one xD

To be honest I don't play that as much as I should

Knott-
Emeritus
August 22nd 2009



10194 Comments


ahhhhh this is so good

band is great

burnafterbreeding
November 7th 2009



1466 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I definitely don't hate this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy