65daysofstatic
One Time for All Time


4.5
superb

Review

by asdlfijaweoiruasdf USER (10 Reviews)
October 2nd, 2008 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Keeps your interest, long time.

65daysofstatic - the spectacle of 4 young men in way over their heads!
-65daysofstatic’s “About 65daysofstatic” on their Myspace

This doesn’t explain much about their sound; actually, it says nothing about their sound. These four musicians from the UK have mixed post rock, electronica, shoegaze, and math-esque rock together to form this mélange of amazingly enjoyable music. It’s fast, slow, heavy, light, crushing, light; everything all at the same time. It is hard to explain this record and yet, so easy to understand everything that is happening.

Bursts of speed and intensity line the opener ‘Drove Through Ghosts to Get Here’; the bottom layer of slow epic piano/synth holds up the fractured percussion/bass. All the different sounds and textures add to this incoming tidal wave that is One Time for All Time: a stunning example of how to expand the sounds of acoustic instruments. This record has rises and falls, climaxes, explosions of intensity, etc. The thing that makes it so different is the small little tweaks they made, and huge leap of using mostly electronic sounds in their music.

Although using mostly/only electronic instruments in music is not a new idea, their application is very fresh. There are no weak songs on this record. There are some parts which could have been extended, like the little melody halfway into “65 Doesn’t Understand You”, and sometimes it feels as if the drums are too overpowering compared to everything else. Over all, the record is quite consistent in staying interesting.

A fault within this record is that the percussion never seems to just sit down and gradually rise with the rest of the band, using lighter sounds such as cymbals, bells, clicks and the like. A feeling of urgency can encompass the drums and keep them from achieving their potential. Overpowering some of the more subtle layers in the songs, the drums takes centre stage and leave some of the more subtle, nuanced bits in the dust and a certain amount of attention needs to be devoted to hear them,

The complexity of this record seems to be derived from it’s simplicity: there are no solos, insane guitar riffs, piano runs, odd time signature jumps, or unfamiliar keys. The beauty is extracted from the sum of all it’s parts working in a wonderful harmony that is consistent, fresh, interesting, and most of all: lively.

Rating
4.6/5



Recent reviews by this author
Venetian Snares Huge Chrome Cylinder Box UnfoldingAFX Chosen Lords
Tera Melos Drugs to the Dear YouthJohnny Truant No Tears for the Creatures
Choke Slow Fade Or: How I Learned To Question InfinityWax On Radio Exposition
user ratings (381)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
P13
October 2nd 2008


1327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I got rid of my Pros / Cons thing, thought that may make my reviews better.
I also tried to write this without addressing you, or speaking in first person.

spoon_of_grimbo
October 2nd 2008


2241 Comments


great review! i've been meaning to get this for a while now, i've got their other two full-lengths and the dance parties remix ep, so i'm thinking i'll get round to it soon. what's with the shitty cover art though?

Jom
Staff Reviewer
October 2nd 2008


2676 Comments


Their best album by far. First two tracks are amazing.

flamethisuser
October 3rd 2008


395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

definitely their best full-length

Wanker
October 4th 2008


139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album. Radio Protector is an awesome song.

P13
October 4th 2008


1327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[quote=spoon_of_grimbo]what's with the shitty cover art though?[/quote]
That's the actual art work. It's very bland.

LifeInABox
October 8th 2008


3708 Comments


Awesome review.

Radio Protector is basically a necessity to anyone who likes pretty musiks

cbmartinez
October 9th 2008


2525 Comments


tbh ive never really gotten past the first two songs on this, they're both pretty good, the video for "drove through ghosts to get here" is so trippy. but idk i lose interest pretty fast

P13
October 13th 2008


1327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

because you play too many video games.

BrahTheSunGod
September 8th 2009


1279 Comments


Great album, I'm just confused as to why this hasn't gotten more attention! I like this a hell of a lot more than most stuff that's come out of the post-rock scene in the last 3 years (with a few notable exceptions).

Deathcar
November 17th 2009


1534 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not quite as good as The Fall of Math, but still an awesome bit of innovative and enjoyable post-rock (if it can really be called that...)


Greyshm
December 22nd 2009


3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really like a lot of the tracks on this album, but I'm also not very fond of others such as "Welcome to the Times" and "Aod". So I was unable to rate it very highly, but none the less this was a well written review.

Skimaskcheck
December 22nd 2009


2360 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but AOD is on the Stumble. Stop. Repeat EP..?

Greyshm
December 23rd 2009


3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I have the Japanese release. I guess it was a little unfair of me to include the bonus tracks when deciding what my rating would be :/ All things reconsidered whilst excluding the two bonus tracks it still gets a "3" from me.

Skimaskcheck
December 23rd 2009


2360 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ahh fair enough man, i would say invest some time in their other work but chances are if you didn't dig this too much then you wouldn't dig their others too much either.

Although i definitely recommend relistening to Radio Protector haha

Thane
October 31st 2010


2165 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This sounds really interesting, getting it now!

audiosmurf
December 23rd 2010


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

best 65dos LP. Truly awesome.
Everything after TDOSI is a letdown imo.

TheGreatFedora
March 29th 2011


116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For some reason, this one just doesn't do it for me like The Fall of Math does.

BLUEOmni
June 2nd 2011


684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I came when Radio Protector came on

Gyromania
July 10th 2011


15717 Comments


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7jxvy7W9bqo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy