A Static Lullaby
Rattlesnake!


4.0
excellent

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
September 28th, 2008 | 54 replies | 15,229 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A Static Lullaby are back and ballsier than ever.

In 2003 A Static Lullaby joined countless others trying to burst into the burgeoning post-hardcore scene with their debut release ...And Don't Forget to Breathe. Though the album offered little in originality, it quickly gained in popularity due to its catchy and (mostly) well written songs. Unfortunately for the band, their following release Faso Latido alienated fans due its more Alt. Rock stylings. After the release of Faso Latido, tensions over the direction of the band caused three of the five original members to leave the group. With new member's in hand A Static Lullaby returned to the Post-Hardcore sound that gained them fans in the first place. Though 2006's eponymous release marked the return to their roots, 2008's Rattlesnake! is A Static Lullaby's first stand-out album since their debut.

Like their debut, Rattlesnake! relies more on the band's penchant for well structured and memorable songs than being inventive in any way. Only this time, instead of drawing from the likes of Thrice and Finch, A Static Lullaby have decided to draw from the same Southern-Rock influenced well as Every Time I Die and Maylene and the Sons of Disaster. Thats not to say that band's original sound is completely gone. The same catchy choruses and sing/scream trade offs are still there, just this time around they are beefed up and grittier. To put it simply, A Static Lullaby's balls have dropped.

The vocal interplay between Joe Brown's screaming and guitarist Dan Arnold's cleans has drastically improved, as both have stepped it up and brought their "A" game. Dillinger Escape Plan's Greg Puciato also lends backing screams and provides a welcome variation in the vocal department. The lyrics on Rattlesnake! are also much darker than pretty much anything else the band has written, and at some points are blatantly chauvinistic ala Glassjaw. A perfect example of this can be seen in the track "Mourning Would Come" where Joe Brown screams "She's nothing but an aging weathered hole". At least this new lyrical approach has made it so the band rarely falls into the hackneyed lack of lyricism that plagues many of Post-Hardcore's current bands.

With Rattlesnake! A Static Lullaby have proven that they are back at full strength and still have something to contribute to the modern Post-Hardcore scene. To those that are unfamiliar with the band, Rattlesnake! is a perfect place to start. And to those that gave up on the band over the last few years of missteps, give it a try because A Static Lullaby sound surprisingly good with cajones.



Recent reviews by this author
The Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is ThereOwls Two
Taking Back Sunday Happiness IsGridLink Longhena
Comeback Kid Die KnowingSlough Feg Digital Resistance
user ratings (172)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ToWhatEnd
September 28th 2008



3172 Comments


Am I the only one that found this record to be mediocre? I just remember very few times when I thought, "Wow this is good stuff." For the most part it was just a boring release in a dying genre IMO. But that's just off of three listens. Well written review sir.

marksellsuswallets
September 28th 2008



4848 Comments


I never really gave this guys a fair listen but I guess I should probably do that sometime in the near future...good review as well

Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2008



17117 Comments


Thanks. I've always had a soft spot for A Static Lullaby's first cd, so I always give them the benefit of the doubt. But like the review shows, I thoroughly enjoyed this.This Message Edited On 09.28.08

Digging: Sad Lovers and Giants - Feeding the Flame

Willie
Moderator
September 29th 2008



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I have this but haven't had a chance to listen to it (I got this and Novembre's "The Blue"). Good review though, it makes me look forward to hearing it.This Message Edited On 09.29.08

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

jingledeath
September 29th 2008



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great review.i've only heard the self titled and this one.the self titled was great but this is waay better.

BallsToTheWall
September 29th 2008



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Another generic comment stating that it's a good review for a good album.

HighandDriving
September 29th 2008



3232 Comments


These guys have been waiting to make this cd since they heard Gutter by ETID.


great review.i've only heard the self titled and this one.the self titled was great but this is waay better.


Listen to their debut "And don't forget to breathe", I use to love that album and it's one of those albums, along with other i.e. AOF S/T, that helped popularize the whole emocore, post-hardcore trend.
This Message Edited On 09.29.08

Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2008



17117 Comments



These guys have been waiting to make this cd since they heard Gutter by ETID.


lol.

HighandDriving
September 29th 2008



3232 Comments


100% truth.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2008



17117 Comments


pretty much.

cleary21
September 29th 2008



671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

YO i suggested someone write a full length!!! this is great. pos'd

Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2008



17117 Comments


thats why i did it.

AmericnZero02
October 4th 2008



3305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Solid album. The only major downfall might be there isn't too much variation in terms of tempo or mood. Good album nonetheless, especially to drive to.

CushMG15
October 4th 2008



1802 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The fun factor of this album is through the roof for me. Not a whole lot of variety, but its a damn fun listen. Joe's screams are better than ever and his lyrics have come a long way as well. The Prestige is fucking bomb.

thomasj12e34
October 5th 2008



195 Comments


This album is so much better than all their others.

pixmpy
October 7th 2008



29 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

surprised at how little attention this album is getting. i don't care who it sounds similar to...def. a change for the better

AmericnZero02
October 7th 2008



3305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^No kidding. I'm currently digging the hell out of this.

HighandDriving
October 7th 2008



3232 Comments


What's fucked up is how Gutter has a 3.4 rating while this has a 3.9.

Which means you all suck.

Papasfritas42
October 12th 2008



29 Comments


I just got this, but is there any reasoning behind the songs "the Turn" "the Pledge" and "the Prestige"...? references to Christopher Nolan's "The Prestige?" I just found that interesting looking at the track titles...

RandMcNally
November 5th 2008



158 Comments


still not listened to all of this as i keep misplacing the cd, but i liked what i've heard thus far, it seems heavier and ballsier. Vocals are much better from both parties. I like it how it southern fried, without being over done, its southern, but its no redneck.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy