The Maine
Can't Stop, Won't Stop


2.0
poor

Review

by Michael Roberts USER (99 Reviews)
September 25th, 2008 | 20 replies | 9,353 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Academy Isn't...

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

For the “next big thing” up-and-coming pop punk band the story typically follows three basic steps: band in high school makes some safe, catchy songs and uploads them onto myspace/purevolume; band gets huge following of teens; band graduates high school, signs a record label, and tours. Sound familiar? Well let’s just say that The Maine’s background information isn’t the only plain and generic thing about them. The five piece Arizona natives have generated quite the buzz with their safe, smooth, and shallow blend of pop punk. After all with some great haircuts, a brightly colored myspace page, and ridiculously polished sound complete with a cutesy vocal tone, what’s not to love about The Maine? Following a spin of their Fearless full length, Can’t Stop Won’t Stop, the question becomes, what is to like about The Maine?

They certainly are not the first band to bring absolutely nothing new to a genre that has become infamous for copy-cat acts. The record comes stocked with far too smooth and slickly produced tunes lacking any sort of edge. A mix of simple progressions, acoustic/electric guitar tones, sprinkles of piano and a cutesy toned vocalist makes up The Maine’s typical bag of goodies. Its sugary sweet yet it goes down smooth and based off of the aforementioned descriptions could easily be confused with any number of bands. Perhaps an All-American Rejects without the huge choruses, a less witty Cute Is What We Aim For, or even The Academy Is without the spunk that makes them a fun listen. Regardless of the comparison(s), The Maine is far weaker than the majority of their competition. Even despite their easy to digest sound, nothing seems to stick in memory.

There interlines the group’s main issue: songwriting. The group sure knows how to form a basic song and they have a general sound/formula put on repeat for 12 tracks. The result: a monotonous, faux-clever record which fails to go anywhere. Topics of young loves and dream girls are recycled and repeated throughout the record. One syllable rhymes compliment the slum of tongue-in-cheek, pseudo-witty lyrics which would get the group cut from Pete Wentz’s C-list of clients. And despite all of these criticisms, The Maine’s bigger flaw is that they are just plain boring. Can’t Stop Won’t Stop is a dominantly lifeless collection of songs which blend together before the record is half old. While the group is at a young and impressionable age, the thought of progression just really doesn’t seem plausible in the future. They are in a comfort zone and lack any sort of talent or creativity to stray from it. When a group in this situation makes a record as dull and as uninspired as The Maine’s latest work, it’s only a matter of time before their career crumbles. The Maine is yesterday’s news; they just haven’t received the memo yet.



Recent reviews by this author
Dead By Sunrise Out of AshesLoveHateHero America Underwater
All Time Low Nothing PersonalSilverstein A Shipwreck in the Sand
Sing It Loud Come AroundA Skylit Drive Wires...And The Concept Of Breathing
user ratings (152)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
BrxxnAngxlRxsnxr (1.5)
What did I just listen to?...


Comments:Add a Comment 
marksellsuswallets
September 25th 2008



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Good review...I hate this band's original stuff but their cover they did of that Akon song on Punk Goes Crunk was pretty alright...safe to say I will not be getting this...

ToWhatEnd
September 25th 2008



3172 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Hooray already off the front page!

SnackaryBinx
September 25th 2008



2309 Comments


you got one comment, usually beats my reviews

ToWhatEnd
September 25th 2008



3172 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Guess it means no one gives a shiat about the band. Not the worst thing in the world...

SnackaryBinx
September 25th 2008



2309 Comments


well, isn't that good, considering this is 1.5 and just more of the same?

ToWhatEnd
September 25th 2008



3172 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Like I said, not the worst thing in the world.

marksellsuswallets
September 25th 2008



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Definitely not the worst...but pretty boring and bland...

TheLatestPlague
September 26th 2008



15 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i pretty much agree with this review, though a few tracks are kind of "fun". That said, these songs are pretty boring and simple. Also the country-esque guitar does nothing for me.

But then again i though their EP was okay so i dunno

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2008



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Mike, I would usually say a review of this length was too short, but there was really no need to go any further with the point you were making, so the length is actually perfect.
I have not heard the album as yet, so you could be well off the mark for all I know. But in selling your opinion, you did so very very well. So much so that it is worth a positive vote. Well done.
PS: If you have had the chance to hear it, what did you think of 'Fast Times At Barrington High'...??? Agree or disagree with my review?

ToWhatEnd
September 26th 2008



3172 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Oh man definitely liked your review of Fast Times. Spot on rating and I agree with just about everything you said. I actually had two paragraphs written for my review of it and scraped it cause it was saying almost the exact same thing.

Still probably going to catch TAI with We The Kings in November but I am certainly going to be bored sitting through these guys with All Time Low and Mayday Parade in a few weeks.

ToWhatEnd
September 27th 2008



3172 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Cookies!This Message Edited On 09.27.08

Distance
February 17th 2009



113 Comments


this band is not anything to talk about but their producer is a mad genius

Jawshewah
February 27th 2009



13 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

An alright album. good review. not something i would listen to alot, but it's a good change.

cirq
October 9th 2009



9257 Comments


oh she makes me feel like shit
but i cant get over it
cuz shes everything i ask for, everything i ask for!

tae1or
August 19th 2010



3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Bad Review. This band is awesome!

deathtoaji
September 23rd 2010



18 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It might be generic sounding and all the songs are quite similar and use the same chord patterns. However you can't deny that the band is quite catchy and have some decent songs to listen to despite being very poppy both musically and lyrically. I used to like this album a bit more but I prefer We the Kings now.




Intothepit
September 23rd 2010



1776 Comments


STOP BUMPING SHITTY POP-PUNK RECORDS!

kezia93
December 16th 2010



10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's weird how The Maine is probably one of my most favorite bands but this review speaks the truth. They're too freaking basic!!!

tapitforever
December 16th 2010



1243 Comments


im 12

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2011



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

'Can't Stop, Won't Stop', the debut LP from pop-punkers The Maine, does not try to reinvent the wheel, but does eventually deliver to its predominantly teenage target audience. Containing a batch of relatively safe & inoffensive tunes that occasionally blend into each other (especially lyrically), the quintet from Arizona disappointingly only flirt with supreme catchiness. However, there is a pleasing sense of consistency about it all, and the band thankfully experiment with some changes in dynamics on the latter half of the album. Recommended Tracks: Count 'Em One Two Three, Everything I Ask For & Girls Do What They Want.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy