Say Anything
...Is a Real Boy


5.0
classic

Review

by USER (43 Reviews)
July 8th, 2005 | 68 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist


"And the record begins with a song of rebellion". These are the first words you will hear when you put on this album. The tone in which it's said, the passion behind those 9 words, it sets the feel for the next 58 minutes. What we have here is lyrically one of the best albums of the decade. While the music industry is flooded with catchy hooks and tongue-in-cheek lyrics, it takes just one album to turn it upside-down and make people think "What the hell were we listening to before?"

Say Anything are relatively unknown. I can prove this, since I know this review will get few, if any, comments. Say Anything are not a perfect band. They have rough vocals, off-timed music in some places. But the amount they will go through to send a message is very touching.

This CD is a statement. Described as "The motherfucking feel-good hit of the year!", you know it's something special. I'd go as far as to compare this to 2003's Deja Entendu by pop-punkers Brand New, probably my favourite album of all time. And the fact that this young boy is only 18 just makes you wonder "Bring on his sophomore album! Now!"

The album opens up with a hard-hitting song aimed at the record industry. You bob your head along, taking in lyrics for the next time you listen to it. And by the time it's on your 2nd or 3rd time round, you are singing out loud "So what say you, and all your friends, meet all of my friends, in the alley tonight?". It's a perfect opening song for the album, all including a gritty introduction and sing-a-long lyrics filled with angst and rage, a subject you will find on every track on this album.

By the time "Woe" begins, it is perceptible that the band has a grasp on crafting songs that do not follow a formula, or insult the listener by maintaining a hold on one particular style or sound. "Woe" and "The Writhing South" flow beautifully like folk songs, protest songs, what the hell you want to call them. Say Anything are natural songwriters influenced by nothing but their opinions.

"Alive With The Glory Of Love" completes astounds me. How an 18 year old boy can write a fast-paced indie song about World War 2 just amazes me. Combining the subjects of sex and the Holocaust, I just wonder how hard a song it is to write! The lyrics blend perfectly with the music, the drum rolls which are always apparent on this song, the badly played solo. Quite possibly the best written song on this album (But not the best song, as you will see later).

So it's 4 songs in, the album tone has been set and you can see where most songs are going now. But you don't know exactly what they will be about. "Yellow Cat (Slash. Red Cat)" is a tale of Max watching on as races attack other races, and he can do nothing about it. It's not the best aong on the album, since the music is nothing that new and the message isn't as strong, and it is about 5 minutes. Still, it's not easy to skip this song.

"The Futile" contains honesty and witty satire with words like, “eat, sleep, [size=2fu[/size]ck and flee – 4 words, that’s me," and “What do the old people teach you but how to die? What do your hissy fits teach you except how to cry? Cry, pussy, cry." It's an amazing song when you listen to the lyrics in it's entirety. A blatent disregard for manners or respect for anything really, and at 2:45, this song really expresses the rage inside of Max.

I'm not doing this anymore. I can sum up most of the album with one word. Sex. The songwriter is clearly obsessed, nay, needs sex. He craves it badly, and shows his opinions and need for it in the songs on this album. Nearly all of them revolve around this subject. "Spidersong", "Every Man Has His Molly", "I Want To Know Your Plans". Obviously, all express other aspects of the subject, but they resemble it all.

And then there's "Admit It!!", my new favourite song. The song begins with a gang of people shouting "Admit it!". This song, well, scratch that. This poem is a 6 minute attack on the "emo" scene, words said by Max in hate and anger backed with a somewhat catchy and heavy piece of music. Lyrics like "You know nothing about art or sex that you couldn’t read in any trendy New York underground fashion magazine!" and "When you walk by a group of quote unquote normal people, you chuckle to yourself patting yourself on the back as you scoff!". It's beautiful really, it describes a lot of people I (and probably you) know, ever trying to be non-conforming, yet conforming to this. The singer spills his guts in this song, singing "I worry about how this album will sell because I believe that it will determine the amount of sex I will have in the future", and drawing that line between himself and the listener.

This album is a songwriter's heaven. One of 2004's best records, sadly completely overlooked and forgotten about. Well buy it, listen to it once and write it off. Then listen to it again, and again. You will dig deeper into this genius' lyricary, finding more and more truth in everything he says. Feeling sympathy for his sex-crazed mind, his "hard" life of emotion and the band. Believe me when I say this was one of the best albums of 2004. I don't give 5 stars out ever now, but I truely believe this album deserves it. 57 minutes of a lust-filled life, angst, rage, jealousy and everything that's inbetween.



Recent reviews by this author
Green Day Bullet In A BibleKT Tunstall Eye To The Telescope
City and Colour SometimesHORSE the band The Mechanical Hand
Thrice VheissuAllister Before The Blackout
user ratings (1249)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
marsvolta
July 8th 2005


64 Comments


kinda a studio band. great cd though

masada
July 8th 2005


2733 Comments


It sounds like I would like this. I may just check into this sometime. Review gets my vote

musicisgood
July 8th 2005


12 Comments


Good album. I was going to review it months ago, but never did. I voted it my #1 album last year, although if I were to remake that list, that'd probably change. However, just one little point, Max is not 18 anymore. I believe he was 18 when he started writing material for the record, but he was 20 last year when I met him, and I believe 21 now.

I don't know what his next album is going to be like, but the recent demos I heard were not very good. Plus, he's in a mental institution right now (self-committed), causing the cancellation of the rest of their tour.

Decent review of a really underrated (unless you're at AP.net, god damn hype machine) album. Good work.

pixiesfanyo
July 8th 2005


1223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album.

RollerQueen
July 8th 2005


209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Your review is justified by the greatness of the album. The imperfections, the one breakdown where the guitar is slightly off-time until the drums kick in for the second bar, Bemis's restrained-psychotic and ecstatic vocals, and the maniacal ending rant scream of everything there is about being young. While the obsession with sex shows his age unfavourably, he's a solid writer and makes me kick myself for being so lax in my own writing. I picked up this cd a week or two ago and have listened to it at least once a day, playing along with some of the songs as I figured them out. Hopefully, he didn't pull a Rivers Cuomo and write an album too personal to ever retread, forcing himself into a string of decent but insignificant successive albums....

As a side note, the Alternative Press is garbage.

cbmartinez
July 9th 2005


2525 Comments


I have "Admit It," it's pretty amusing. Good review, not sure if I would call this Indie though.

FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
July 10th 2005


2806 Comments


Well I've never heard of these guys, but you have Catch Without Arms as a similar album, and I reviewed that and loved it, so I'll have to check this out.

EarlyAwakening
August 24th 2005


1 Comments


dude this is actually a concept album, its a direct attack at our modern recording industry and what bands have to pass through in order to succede if you loook at it at how it is youll gte it and itll make perfect sense and then you can say "damn!" this is a good cd but great review i wouldve liked it if you wouldve talked more about it intead of just putting your own personal opinion.

CushMG15
November 8th 2005


1803 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whoa, I was about to review this disc thinking that it probably wouldn't have been done. Good Review tho, sums my thoughts up pretty good so I won't bother. Orgy of Critics is my favorite, but it's great songwriting throughout. Max clearly has issues...

br3ad_man
Emeritus
February 14th 2006


2125 Comments


These guys and Thrice are the best pop-punk bands around at the moment. Yeah.

Pyramidman
February 15th 2006


1340 Comments


i was going ot see these guys when they were touring with The Early November and Sense Fail (which i didgt got to go to anyway booo!!!) but they dropped fof the tour and were replaced my Emanuel. I heard it was because the lead singer had drug problems or mental issues or something of the sort

good review ill definitely check it out

Domenic182
March 14th 2006


9 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh man, the re-release came out, and if you don't already have this cd get the re-release, and even if you do already have it check it out. Extra 7 track disc. Ahh, I love this cd so much.


The Jungler
March 19th 2006


4827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The only song I've heard of this, Alive with the Glory of Love blew me away. Are all the songs that good? or better?

naazrael
March 21st 2006


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Did somebody just call Thrice pop-punk?
Or Say Anything pop-punk? Pop-punk is definitely not punk.

No, these guys are punk. Real punk.
Punk is political. It was a movement designed to affect the masses with its message.
And that's what Say Anything is.

Anyway, I think that Say Anything deserves any and all hype that AP.net gave them.
Max is an amazing writer, with double entrendes and hidden messages throughout this whole concept album.
He explores the modern human condition with great success.
And they are anything but a studio band. They're on tour now, and sound amazing. Max is a force unto himself, and now he's going around with a full band, including Parker of JamisonParker, if you're familiar.

Definitely a keeper of an album, through and through.This Message Edited On 03.21.06

sneakybird
April 12th 2006


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great album. At first listen, it is incredibly catchy. You will find your self loving this band...

Riley12988
April 13th 2006


109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If the rest of the album is as good as the first four tracks, this album is one of the most important records of the past 25 years.This Message Edited On 04.14.06

And, after a week, this is my favorite album of all time.This Message Edited On 04.18.06

204409
Emeritus
June 8th 2006


3996 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't think I've ever agreed with one of Kif's reviews.

The Jungler
June 21st 2006


4827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This stuff is really addictive/enjoyable. Belt is amazing.
Good review as always Kif.

Laafe
June 29th 2006


347 Comments


i heard alive with the glory of love on a monthly CD sampler at the local indie record store and it was awesome. im thinking about picking this up

Laafe
June 29th 2006


347 Comments


nice review btw.

sry my comp takes forever on edits



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy