Jessica Simpson
Do You Know


3.5
great

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
September 14th, 2008 | 83 replies | 10,252 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Jessica goes country with enjoyable results.

There shouldn’t be any doubt that Jessica Simpson is a great singer. Even if you hate every album she has ever released there should be no denying that she has great range, an excellent delivery and great control. This natural ability is something she proved way back in 1999 on her very first single “I Wanna Love You Forever”, but unfortunately she hasn’t really been given much of a chance to prove it again since then. The blame for this can be firmly placed on her songwriters and producers who continuously sell her short with simple, lifeless (albeit enjoyable) songs. It is this lack of substance and identity that probably kept Jessica from ever breaking into the big leagues of pop, and unfortunately it is probably the same thing that is going to keep her out of the big leagues of country as well.

When news got out that Jessica was moving away from the pop genre and into modern country (and that she might even contribute to writing) I thought it was a good choice. I truly thought that this might be a good chance for her to push herself vocally and really reach out to an audience that would readily embrace her. Her first single, “Come on Over” showed a great potential for her to do just that. With the new-found twang in her singing voice and the sound of a slide guitar moving her forward it turned out to be instantly catchy and Jessica sounded wonderful. In fact, that song turns out to be just one of many strong tracks on the album, but it also displays something that might be missed on first listen. While the songs are definitely enjoyable and easy to sing along to, they’re also very generic with nothing to set them apart from the masses.

Musically there is nothing on this release that doesn’t sound like it couldn’t have come from any number of other country albums. A song such as “You’re My Sunday” is full of great melodies from the slide and steel guitar as well as the fiddle but they all sound vaguely familiar. “You’re My Sunday” also makes great use of vocal layering during the chorus to increase its appeal and catchiness but, again, it’s nothing that hasn’t been done before in almost the exact same way. That means that even a strong song such as “Remember That” with its message to women to remain steadfast and brave after leaving an abusive relationship still ends up sounding dimly familiar even if it’s the first time hearing the song. Fortunately, that familiarity doesn’t end up being a deal breaker thanks to the passionate vocals of Jessica Simpson.

Most mainstream bands live and die on the talents of their vocalist and country music is generally no different. It is this fact that allows the enjoyable, yet generic, music to slide by in this instance. It turns out that as great as she usually sounded on her pop albums, she sounds even better doing country. This style of music gives her more room to play with melody and pitch and gives her a fuller sound than she ever had. The title track, “Do You Know”, is an excellent closer that features both Jessica and Dolly Parton singing their hearts out and easily displays the enhanced quality of Jessica’s voice as both her and Dolly test the limits of their ranges. In a recent interview Jessica Simpson expressed excitement about moving into country and that energy has definitely transferred itself into her vocals on this album.

It shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone that has heard Jessica Simpson’s previous release, A Public Affair, that she ended up releasing a country album. Jessica’s inability to reach the top-tier of pop divas combined with A Public Affair’s occasional country influence made it seem like a pretty good possibility and it’s a move I can’t fault her for. Jessica truly sounds happy with her new songs and because of that they feel fresh and lively compared to what she had been doing. I only wish that she had used this stylistic change as an opportunity to really make use of her excellent voice and convey a power that most in the genre could never reach. Instead we’re left with songs that never stray from the conventional modern country sound, and Jessica generally sticks to the same conventions vocally. On the other hand, this style of music is much better suited to Jessica Simpson and her voice, allowing her to stretch her vocals in ways she never could while doing pop. It also doesn’t hurt that all the songs are well played with choruses that will stick with you; again, I only wish that she had allowed her voice even more room to shine.



Recent reviews by this author
Flotsam and Jetsam No Place for Disgrace - 2014Mindcage Our Own Devices
Fates Warning Darkness in a Different LightQueensryche Queensryche
Skinny Puppy WeaponThe God Machine Scenes from the Second Storey
user ratings (23)
Chart.
1.7
very poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
PayneTiger777
September 14th 2008



4366 Comments


The only thing I know Jessica Simpson for is jinxing Tony Romo.

Willie
Moderator
September 14th 2008



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I thought about squeezing him into the review somehow since he's a "cowboy" and this is a country album, but the stupidity of that was too obvious... even for me.

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

JumpTheF**kUp
September 14th 2008



2708 Comments


ummmm

MrHell
September 14th 2008



157 Comments


Good review, but as for Jessica Simpson.........
..........................................
.........................................
............................................

*trys to think of something good*

JohnXDoesn't
September 14th 2008



1247 Comments


i liked this review and agree for the most part. i was going to review it today so gave it a listen last night. i was...surprised. i was fully expecting a bon jovi like disaster such as we got from their "country" effort. but if this is "country" today i guess its as good as any i've heard in awhile. she certainly has a voice for it. and the songs are for the most part solid. This Message Edited On 09.14.08

badtaste
September 14th 2008



824 Comments


Solid review. Despite the content being reviewed, it was easy to read. I struggle to see this being more than a 3 rating though.This Message Edited On 09.14.08

morrissey
Moderator
September 14th 2008



1688 Comments


Is this anything like Carrie Underwood? I have never been a fan
of Jessica Simpson but I'm willing to give it a try if your
rating is honest.

I am also noticing that Simpson might have the worst album
covers of any pop artist.This Message Edited On 09.14.08

JohnXDoesn't
September 14th 2008



1247 Comments


Solid review. Despite the content being reviewed, it was easy to read. I struggle to see this being more than a 3 rating though.

i was thinking a 3 or 3.5. my head wants to give it a 3....i mean its jessica simpson. but in all fairness judging it on its on terms and within its genre as it exists today...it may very well be a 3.5

if not exactly great....it could be argued it might beThis Message Edited On 09.14.08

badtaste
September 14th 2008



824 Comments


i was thinking a 3 or 3.5. my head wants to give it a 3....i mean its jessica simpson. but in all fairness judging it on its on terms and within its genre as it exists today...it may very well be a 3.5

if not exactly great....it could be argued it might be


Fair enough g. I think I once gave a Pink album a rating of 3.5 (or maybe 4), so I guess they are possible.This Message Edited On 09.14.08

Willie
Moderator
September 14th 2008



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Is this anything like Carrie Underwood? I have never been a fan of Jessica Simpson but I'm willing to give it a try if your rating is honest.
My rating is honest. Like JohnXDoe said, I also expected this to be horrible. I expceted to be able to write a negative review here. This is very similar to Carrie Underwood's stuff. Just go into this without any preconcieved biased
i mean its jessica simpson. but in all fairness judging it on its on terms and within its genre as it exists today...it may very well be a 3.5
Yeah, that's how I approached it.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2008



15693 Comments


*trys to think of something good*


I can think of two somethings good :naughty:


Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins [AMDISCS]

JohnXDoesn't
September 14th 2008



1247 Comments


^ lol i saw Jessica on Letterman the other night and she was talking about Dolly Parton writing the title track for this album. at least i think its the title track? so anyway she was talking about doing stuff with Dolly and Letterman said "well i'm sure all four of you have a great time"

This Message Edited On 09.14.08

Willie
Moderator
September 14th 2008



15774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can think of two somethings good
There's a line in one of the songs that goes something like "So go on home and make love to her while you think of me", and I was like "Baby, I'm one step ahead of you" ;)

Phantom
September 14th 2008



8930 Comments


Ahhh, Jessica Simpson is proper fine.

Her music isn't that good though.

Chewie
September 14th 2008



4531 Comments


I concur

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2008



16071 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I enjoyed Jessica before she decided to start making substandard pop country.
There is nothing here that isn't done 1000x times better elsewhere, it just had Simpson's incredibly breathy and ocassionally overreaching vocals which I think do not fit at all.

BallsToTheWall
September 14th 2008



44164 Comments


Is she still with Tony Romo? I hope not, I have him in three leagues. All I remember about this lady is Irresistible and that one moment in Dukes Of Hazzard.

sadmafioso
September 14th 2008



318 Comments


"Jessica never tries to be sexy. She just is sexy. If you put her in a T-shirt or you put her in a bustier, she's sexy in both. She's got double D's! You can't cover those suckers up!"

- Joe Simpson

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2008



15693 Comments


antichrist television blues

taylormemer
September 14th 2008



4887 Comments


"When Jessica was fourteen, she wanted to be a Christian music singer. But, because of her sweet ass body, she was rejected by the Christian labels."
lmao
This isn't a 3.5 either.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy