A Perfect Circle
Thirteenth Step


4.5
superb

Review

by Greggory House USER (9 Reviews)
September 13th, 2008 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


A Perfect Circle’s Mer De Noms, (the bands debut) was an album that ultimately showcased a ton of potential. Its main problem however, was its tendency to take itself too seriously; if one was to cut the albums length in half, I would give it 5/5 without hesitation. However, that very problematic second half really took away from the album, and just made it sub par at best. Thirteenth Step, which was released three years later was a high watermark of the bands career. It featured a full concept, something that had never been done before from the band, or Maynard James Keenan for that matter. The main concept of this album is seemingly the desire to deal with an addiction, possibly drug related. The writer talks about the Twelve Step program, (hence the title of the album, an amusing play-on-words) and the stages required for recovery. This concept at first, does feel like a 'been there, done that' scenario, but lyricists MJK and Billy Howerdel make it work with their unique and eccentric writing style.

Paz Lanchantin, the bassist of Mer De Noms has been replaced this time round by Jeordie White, ex bassist of Marilyn Manson. While Paz was a pretty good bassist, it is evident from track 1 that Jeordie is a better fit for the band. “The Package” boasts a totally awesome and very deep bassline which pushes the song through effortlessly, but is never the star of the show. The idea of this album, (as a concept album, naturally) is for each song to fade into the next, to create the illusion that you are listening to one gigantic song. While this is a nice idea, it ultimately doesn’t work as well as it could. “Blue” is a fairly good, straight-ahead rocker with a very catchy chorus. The last minute however could easily have been chopped – the music gets softer and softer before it slowly fades to the next track. Sounds like a nice idea, but I do get a little impatient waiting for the next song, and it seems to me like the band wanted to take up as much time on the album as they could. However, that is the only major complaint I can make. Session drummer, Josh Freeze is a very talented and underrated individual; he is not virtuous by any sense of the word, but his fills are still always a pleasure to listen to, and they suit the music perfectly.

The overall sound of the album is quite dark and depressing. Not dark in the sense of heavy; no, it is more subtle than that. The guitars rarely play chords, and mainly focus on slow, melodic playing. For the bassists out there, this album is a most-own, as Jeordie’s playing is very innovative. One small, nit-picky criticism that must be made is that the album does not make use of the piano often enough; an arguably costly mistake, as APC’s music is at its best when the piano is incorporated. Really, I have to say that this album is superior to Mer De Noms is almost every way. For musicians and non musicians alike, Thirteenth Step is a very innovative album, and will be guaranteed to please even the harshest of music critics.

-The Standout tracks-

The Package - Slow, tribal like vocals, and deep, pounding basslines. An excellent number overall.

The Noose - Another superb track, with no one instrument taking the lead. The highlight is at the end of the song, when Maynard echoes: 'Your halo slipping down to choke you now.' Good stuff.

Pet - A brutal, metal song which showcases Billy Howerdel’s skill as a guitar player, and APC’s ability to create very atmospherically rich pieces of music.

Gravity - The grand finale, and a very beautiful song at that. Bass and vocals dominate this track, and Maynard shows us some more of his terrific range.



Recent reviews by this author
Red Hot Chili Peppers Stadium ArcadiumBen Harper Diamonds on the Inside
Dream Theater Once in a LIVEtimeIron Maiden Piece of Mind
Tool LateralusDream Theater Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes from a Memory
user ratings (2355)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
ChaosTheory
September 13th 2008


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"The Outsider" just missed out on going on the recommended track list. It is good, but mediocre in comparison to the songs i recommended.

And yes, don't tell me what i already know, please. Not the most needed review and bla bla bla.

AtavanHalen
September 13th 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if one was to cut the albums length in half, I would give it 5/5 without hesitation

If you cut the album in half, there would be six songs.
You did not need to bother with this review considering how many other albums are without even one review.
Looking forward to see what you have to say about All Hope is Gone.This Message Edited On 09.13.08This Message Edited On 09.13.08

ChaosTheory
September 13th 2008


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"If you cut the album in half, there would be six songs."

You sir, are a mathematician. What is your point by that statement, exactly?

Edit: I haven't really bothered with Slipknot's latest offering to be honest. To me Slipknot is a horrible band, and i cannot see this particular album being any different. This Message Edited On 09.13.08

AtavanHalen
September 13th 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There would be no point to the album if it was just six songs.

ChaosTheory
September 13th 2008


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, yes and no. It would be an EP; short and to the point.

AtavanHalen
September 13th 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But that would be missing the point of APC entirely.

rasputin
September 13th 2008


14555 Comments


Just be quiet now AtavanHalen.
The Noose is an awesome track, but I'm not a huge fan of this album. Or the band.

ChaosTheory
September 13th 2008


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well Tool is obviously better, but i reckon they are pretty damned good considering they were just a temporary band.

rasputin
September 13th 2008


14555 Comments


Well that doesn't really make a difference, they put a good few years work into it. I just don't like their sound, I like Keenan better when he's angry.

taylormemer
September 13th 2008


4944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Don't worry Ata's being his usual self.

AtavanHalen
September 13th 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh how greatly I did lol.

Kage
September 13th 2008


1172 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

you use the word "innovative" three times and yet I fail to see anywhere in the review where you identify what is actually innovative about it

Altmer
September 13th 2008


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album rules

review doesn't

foreverendeared
September 13th 2008


14678 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah nothing's really innovative here, except maybe the lyrics, which are quite superior for mainstream rock.

The last minute however could easily have been chopped – the music gets softer and softer before it slowly fades to the next track. Sounds like a nice idea, but I do get a little impatient waiting for the next song, and it seems to me like the band wanted to take up as much time on the album as they could.
after reading this, i'm pretty sure you should not be listening to music at all.

ChaosTheory
September 13th 2008


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

after reading this, i'm pretty sure you should not be listening to music at all.


Please explain to me what you mean by that.

foreverendeared
September 17th 2008


14678 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's just with that paragraph, it seems like not only are you completely misinterpreting this album, but you are completely misinterpreting what music stands for in general. To be bold enough to think that they faded out a track just to take up more room on an album is, quite honestly, moronic. Especially since, after listening to it, you can feel much more atmosphere, texture, and overall substance to the song the way it is. In fact, I'll go as far as to say it would be a crime to the art of music to want the band to take that away by "chopping" the last minute of a song off. All just my opinion though

ChaosTheory
September 21st 2008


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

While i disagree with you, i would see why you would say that. I think APC abused the whole "fade to next track" idea on this album. Almost every track uses this idea and it gets, quiet frankly, boring. Just my opinion though. Thanks for feedback.

IAmInsect
September 21st 2008


3799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

every track uses this idea and it gets, quiet frankly, boring.
123 - essentially what my review said.

ChaosTheory
September 23rd 2008


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[/quote]album rules



review doesn't[/quote]

Thanks bro, comments like that are so helpful..Seriously, i don't mind if you say the review isn't good, but at least tell me why you think it sucks. I don't think i did too bad a job.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy