Young Jeezy
The Recession


2.0
poor

Review

by Justin Taslak USER (30 Reviews)
September 7th, 2008 | 40 replies | 6,577 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Young Jeezy gives his best Lil Wayne impersonation, and fails save for a few solid guest appearances.

2 of 3 thought this review was well written

Young JeezyThe Recession

Back in 2005, Young Jeezy experienced moderate mainstream success with his third full-length album, Let’s Get It: Thug Motivation 101. The album boasted six singles that were catchy listens, notably My Hood and Soul Survivor, the latter boosting Akon’s rep significantly as well. Since my days of watching MTV and listening to the radio ended that year, I haven’t heard anything Jeezy in quite some time. His most recent release, The Recession, immediately incorporates the titular concept. After the title track opened up the album, I was eager to spin through the rest of the album and see what Jeezy had to offer that many other mainstream rappers do not today. Unfortunately, he doesn’t stick with the concept at all, and the album falls apart.

A majority of the subject matter here is in fact Young Jeezy proclaiming himself as the greatest rapper alive, leagues above the competition. PG rated bashes and insults dominate almost every single song, and it all comes off as stupid, simplistic, and immature. Possibly the only reason for the Explicit Content label is the excessive use of the already shamefully overused N-bomb, and a few remarks pertaining to other races. Essentially, the prospect of any decent message is gone, with his bid for Barack Obama in My President being only mildly interesting, but, this being a mainstream album, the possibility of decent everything else is still intact.

The production is probably the high point here. While there really aren’t too many beats that are truly awe-inspiring (I really enjoy My President though), they are consistently solid, and provide some entertainment value in compensation for the albums countless flaws. Synth use is abundant and the bass isn’t quite as prominent as it is on other popular recordings. Due to this, one is less inclined to grind up against another, yet the music is still enjoyable. Guest appearances are also shockingly absent from The Recession. Not that they are completely missing, but there are only five guests on four different songs. Thankfully those are the strongest songs on the album, with rappers such as Nas and Kanye West contributing a great deal in their limited time on the album. Everything also features a solid chorus and single verse presentation from Anthony Hamilton, although Lil Boosie is ludicrously annoying and ruins his section. Void guest appearances could be a negative aspect for the album though, depending on how much pure Jeezy one could handle. The album is a whopping 75 minutes, and that isn’t including the bonus tracks. I was certainly left yearning for less-Jeezy, more anyone else.

My biggest complaint about this album is how disgracefully obvious it is that Young Jeezy is completely stealing Lil Wayne’s sound. I’m not a fan of Weezy’s raspy, sore throat-sounding voice, and it really bites hard that this entire album is overflowing with it. If I wanted to listen to Tha Carter III, I would do so. While there are a few rhymes here and there, Jeezy also rhymes by repeating words, almost impulsively it seems.

“A earthquake out in China a hurricane in New Orleans
Street dreams tour I showed my Ass in New Orleans”My President

“They want that killing ***
That dumb *** that where you from ***
That ride around you hood all day with your gun ***”Crazy World

“Let this world keep turning yeah my blunt still burning
Same thing different day still burning”Crazy World

“I don’t mean that literally but I mean this literally”Don’t Do It

This list would span multiple pages, so I’ll leave it at that. This album sorely lacks chart toppers as well. It seems every rapper these days will have at least one per album; even the horrendous Get Silly was popular. While there are songs I somewhat enjoy personally, I don’t feel like the average American is going to find the same few songs slightly innovative or interesting.

All the aforementioned information culminates into The Recession; a mainstream hip-hop album without the guest appearances and without a couple of songs that drastically stand above the rest. It all sounds decent, but it’s all the same. It sounds like Lil Wayne, but Tha Carter III is still fashionable. Self-proclaiming oneself as the greatest rapper alive is also becoming relatively stale. While this isn’t absolute garbage like some other recent releases (see V.I.C, Soulja Boy), it is a huge letdown from an MC who had shown some promise in the past, but gave in to the pressure of what is currently selling. Oh yeah, did I mention that Young Jeezy claimed in one of these many songs that he would never sell out?

Recommended Tracks:

Every song with a guest appearance.

Avoid:

Everything without one.

Score: 2/5



Recent reviews by this author
Poison the Well The Tropic RotOrchid Dance Tonight! Revolution Tomorrow!
Emery While Broken Hearts PrevailThe Roots Things Fall Apart
Sinaloa Footprints On FloorboardsHaste the Day Dreamer
user ratings (76)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
bustyagunz
September 7th 2008



911 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

*** = S hit

School has made finding time to write tough, so this might seem a bit rushed. I hate his lil wayne voice. yay for 20 reviews, aight, peace.

marksellsuswallets
September 7th 2008



4848 Comments


I am so sick of rappers using the word s*** at the end of every sentence when they get to lazy to write actual rhymes. Hip-hop takes itself way way way to seriously these days...Solid review, man do I hate this guy...

kattunlover69
September 7th 2008



1194 Comments


i like young jeezy.

bustyagunz
September 7th 2008



911 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i liked him, sorta, lost all my respect here.

MrHell
September 7th 2008



157 Comments


Great review. Jeezy raps like he has a pineapple shoved up his ***. I don't like his style at all, and I think this album made me re-consider actually listening to Tha Carter III.

bastard
September 7th 2008



3435 Comments


I kinda liked this album.

still good review.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
September 7th 2008



4950 Comments


I knew the album was going to suck, but I'll probably listen anyway... one of my acquaintances has one of his beats used on here. Now to find out which song.

Good review, I don't really see anything wrong with it.This Message Edited On 09.07.08

bustyagunz
September 7th 2008



911 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the beats are all decent-good, nothing groundbreaking
to shootme/bastard, this could have been amazing if he hadnt picked up the weezy voice and if he at least somewhat stuck with the recession topic, cuz unless im listening to the wrong album hes only saying hes the bomb like tick, tick, etc

bastard
September 7th 2008



3435 Comments


yeah I understand that, but hip hop is sorta my weak spot, so I sometimes give high ratings to albums that probably don't deserve 'em.

Also, I don't hear any weezy in the voice, but I do detect it in the lyrics.This Message Edited On 09.07.08

bustyagunz
September 7th 2008



911 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

its just that raspy-ness, it wasnt there in his previous efforts.
if anyone wants to see something upsetting and nasty, go read most of the iTunes reviews for this, my brain is still hurting from a quick 5-minute run through of them.

bastard
September 7th 2008



3435 Comments


I thought he always had that

cleary21
September 25th 2008



671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

guys are a bunch of assholes this is as good as the carter III and my president is a fuckign awsome song, its about time a rapper started thinking

bastard
September 25th 2008



3435 Comments


Nas's new album is a better thinking man's hip hop album than this. This isn't too good, but it's on par with Jeezy's other works.

bustyagunz
September 26th 2008



911 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

ummm, did you just neg me because of our difference in opinion?

Edit: and dont u dare begin to tell me this guy is a supreme lyricist.This Message Edited On 09.26.08

cleary21
September 28th 2008



671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah i did not neg you, i don't neg ppl for that reason

amd jsut to be sure i pos'd you its a good review

Idk its better than some of the shit that most rappers put out, he raps from the heart at leastThis Message Edited On 09.28.08

bustyagunz
September 29th 2008



911 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

aight, well magically the previous neg is gone, but yea i just dont see it with this album
i think hes trying too hard to be better than lil wayne, and im not too fond of lil wayne in the first place, but to each his own
im enjoying t.i.'s new album though, nothing amazing but its a lot of fun, i think t.i. is a 100% genuine southern rapper

cleary21
September 29th 2008



671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yes i actually did neg you but not on purpose i went to pos but i misclicked i was in a rush to watch eagles-bears

bustyagunz
September 29th 2008



911 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lol, its coo

gisteve18
October 6th 2008



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like to go to review sites and read different reviews about Young Jeezy, but I had to sign up an account just to respond to this thread. I must admit, I do have a bias because I am a fan, but I completely disagree with the review. The comparison between Wayne and Jeezy is irrelevant, if not non-existent. I've been listening to both artists (Weezy since Tha Carter 1 and Jeezy since The Streets iz Watchin') and Jeezy has always has a raspy voice (due to overuse of his vocal cords and a surgery) while wayne had adopted his more cartoon-y, somewhat raspy voice somewhere in between Tha Carter I and II. I understand his delivery style isn't for every one, but it is what separates him from a lot of others. On the subject of Jeezy saying he's 'The Best Rapper Alive'...please show me a verse where he says that?? He's always claimed he is 'The Realest N**** Alive', but never the best rapper, in fact if you look at earlier records he didn't even like to be named as a rapper, but a motivational speaker. And about him rhyming the same words-at least get the lyrics right! Many of the ones you listed are wrong, (even though he does use the repeated words). But at the end of the day, Jeezy never claims to be a 'lyricist', 'the best rapper alive', or even the 'savior of hip hop'. All he says is that he can motivate you, inspire you, and help you get through your day if you can't afford it. All I ask is that you judge the album on what he is, not what you think he should be. But otherwise, great review!

P.S. How did he sell out? Have you ever heard a Jeezy 'lean wit it rock wit it' track or a Jeezy shuffle?




bustyagunz
October 6th 2008



911 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

sold out by sounding like lil wayne
ive checked out his older stuff and he for sure isnt nearly this raspy
I lol at the thought of him being a motivational speaker, but thanks for your input, ill listen to this again
and if ur down to listen to different rap, check out Black Star, by Black Star.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy