Dr. Octagon
Dr. Octagonecologyst


4.0
excellent

Review

by username345 USER (52 Reviews)
September 3rd, 2008 | 20 replies | 4,228 views


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Bizarre, twisted, creepy, eerie, sinister, grim and humorous sci-fi hip-hop

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

In 2000, hip-hop group Deltron 3030 became moderately well-known with their critically acclaimed self-titled sci-fi themed concept album. What many people don’t realise though is that this was not a totally original idea, and many of the ideas were influenced by 1996’s influential ‘Dr. Octagonecologyst’, a pioneering ‘acid rap’ album, and the debut of Dr. Octagon, one of Kool Keith’s aliases.

Unlike ‘Deltron 3030’ which has a rich, densely layered and cinematic sound, ‘Dr. Octagonecologyst’ is dark and low-key. The concept of the album focuses on the character of Dr. Octagon, an evil time travelling surgeon from Jupiter who pretends to be a gynaecologist and molests women. Despite the grim subject matter, it is done in a light-hearted tongue-in-cheek way. If horror punk band The Misfits were to make a rap album it would probably sound something like this. At times it can sound terrifying, with screeching horror film style violins and sinister demented lyrics, but straight after sound completely cheesy and funny: ‘Think about it, if you was there standing looking at me / What would you do, if I hit your face with dog doodoo?’

Dr. Octagon is not the most technically impressive of rappers, but he definitely has a unique style his slightly high-pitched raspy delivery always sounds slightly paranoid and insane, fitting the music and character of Dr. Octagon perfectly.

Of course, this would mean nothing without the beats and production to back it up. Luckily Dr. Octagon is backed up by the immense talents of Dan the Automator (who would go on to work in the aforementioned Deltron 3030) who produces, and the DJing of DJ Q-Bert. Dan the Automator’s gloomy downbeat production gives the album it’s unique atmosphere; you can almost picture yourself in Dr. Octagon’s grimy surgery as you listen to it. While these beats, based mainly on hypnotic basslines and obscure jazz and soul samples are quite minimalistic, they create fantastic unorthodox creepy melodies and bring the haunting, nightmarish and futuristic atmosphere to life perfectly.

DJ Q-Bert fills the spaces with incredibly frantic and inventive scratches, that are always a joy to listen to and also add well to the creepy music. DJ Shadow makes an appearance for one track, ‘Waiting List’, where he co-produces with Dan the Automator. This fantastic production, and the music’s twisted bizarre melodies and obscure psychedelic sound effects bridge the gap between the complex atmospheric sound of trip-hop and regular hip-hop, creating a sound that still sounds unique today that has been described as ‘acid rap’.

Live music adds to the samples with Kool Keith himself playing upright bass, and the inclusion of electric guitars on certain tracks. Numerous backing vocalists also appear at times. This makes a nice change from most hip-hop that relies totally on samples.

‘Dr. Octagonecologyst’ is not without its flaws though. The strangeness of the music can make it quite difficult to listen to, especially if you’re used to more conventional hip-hop. Also, at over an hour long, ‘Dr. Octagonecologyst’ is slightly too long and inconsistent, with a few tracks that could easily have been removed. Kool Keith’s raspy rapping has also been criticised by some for being slightly grating and he relies a bit too much on repetitive vocal hooks slightly though this isn’t really that noticeable.

Overall, ‘Dr. Octagonecologyst’ is a great album though. It’s certainly not for everyone, but anyone interested in weird music (Comus fans should love it) or rap that covers a different topic than your stereotypical guns, bling and bitches may probably be interested.



Recent reviews by this author
Lamp of the Universe The Cosmic UnionThe Dukes Of Stratosphear 25 O'Clock
Electric Wizard Witchcult TodayPrince Paul A Prince Among Thieves
Camel RajazNick Cave and The Bad Seeds Let Love In
user ratings (446)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
Alex Robertson STAFF (3.5)
...

Louis Arp EMERITUS (4)
...

related reviews

The Return of Dr. Octagon
recommended by reviewer
Deltron 3030 Deltron 3030

Comments:Add a Comment 
username345
September 3rd 2008



594 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Louis Arp has already written an excellent review of this, but I wrote this for somewhere else and thought it would be a waste not to put it here.


Might add to it later, looks a bit short.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
September 3rd 2008



3765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Another great review, I might give this a 4 if I listen to it more, I was totally like wtf? when I first heard it, but its grower and a half.

Digging: Caribou - Our Love

username345
September 3rd 2008



594 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Why the neg?

Abaddon2005
September 3rd 2008



684 Comments


Good review, but you might want to fix:

f playing upright bass, and the inclusion of electric guitars on certain tacks.


and

‘Dr. Octagonecologyst’ is not without it’s flaws though.


username345
September 3rd 2008



594 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ach, stupid mistakes. Thanks for pointing them out.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
September 3rd 2008



3765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That wasn't my neg man. =/

username345
September 3rd 2008



594 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That wasn't aimed at you.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
September 3rd 2008



4950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wouldn't say the review is bad, it's just not very good. You're pretty much just saying "if you like non-mainstream stuff, you'll like this". There's plenty of hiphop about b*itches and guns that is better than this.
This is an awesome album, and nearly a modern classic. But your review almost sounds like you think Kool Keith is the focus here. This is by far his best work, but he's nothing compared to the production crew... ie Dr Octagon 2.

Erratic
September 3rd 2008



1120 Comments


Damn mystery neggers.

username345
September 3rd 2008



594 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But your review almost sounds like you think Kool Keith is the focus here. This is by far his best work, but he's nothing compared to the production crew... ie Dr Octagon 2.


You have a point there. I added a little bit more, and I'll add more later. I rushed this a bit too much really.

Willie
Moderator
September 3rd 2008



15898 Comments


I haven't heard this in a long time, but I remember it being enjoyable.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

Zebra
Moderator
September 3rd 2008



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If there's one issue with this album it's that a lot of the songs just drag on too long. Other then that it's fantastic.

ASberg
September 3rd 2008



2161 Comments


I have never heard this but damn, pushead does some fucking awesome artworks.

Time
September 3rd 2008



81 Comments


my brother has this album, but I've only really listened to "Blue Flowers." That song has the coolest/eeriest production, Dan the Automator is so sick. I would like to get into the whole album and this is further motivation, good review

oingyboingy7
September 5th 2008



10 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love this album! I was planning to do a review of it myself...

Yeah, I've gotten a few unexplained negs myself.

Has anyone heard the 'Spankmaster' album Kool Keith did with Esham?

(I don't know if you were implying that Kool Keith invented acid rap in your review, but Esham created acid rap, for your information.)This Message Edited On 09.05.08

kingsoby1
Emeritus
September 5th 2008



4950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Acid rap is besides the point; the beats make this album what it is. I haven't heard a single acid rap album that I like, and I don't really consider this to be horribly acidic.

Kool Keith tries too hard to make substantive lyrics about dildos and poop; that's the only thing that brings him down.

edit: You received negs because all of your reviews are the same/ disguised TBTs.This Message Edited On 09.05.08

oingyboingy7
September 5th 2008



10 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't know about that. His reviews seem different to me.

What does 'TBT' mean?

kingsoby1
Emeritus
September 5th 2008



4950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Track By Track. As a person that's perused reviews for years and functioned as an editor, I strongly discourage this type of (typically longwinded) review. Describing a song or two is fine, but limiting that to only a few sentences is key; readers absolutely do not care to read more than 400-500 words about an album. I know I for one skip the middle of a review when it seems longer than that.
I didn't neg you buy the way. Even though I think ICP sucks, you're definitely entitled to your opinion, especially in a public forum.

irishmanshibby
September 5th 2008



355 Comments


Earth People is sick. I find the rest of the album kinda hard to get into for some reason

mynameismud420
September 11th 2008



134 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The track list is screwed up. Track 18 is "Blue Flowers Revisited", and track 20 ("1977") isn't even listed.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy