Rush
Signals


4.5
superb

Review

by Archibald C. Burke USER (37 Reviews)
August 27th, 2008 | 505 replies


Release Date: 1982 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The beginning of Rush's synthesiser era, Signals is also home to a few fan favourites, with the lesser known tracks standing up on their own.

1982’s Signals, Canadian progressive rock trio Rush’s ninth studio album marks a few key moments in their history. The album is marred by a bit of controversy in that it created a bit of a division between those who followed Rush’s blues/rock oriented progressive sound and those accepting of the new venture into more technological experimentation. In the years that would follow the album’s release, however, the album would come to garner more respect and recognition as part of Rush’s signature sound. The disc marked a heavy use of synthesisers that would become part of the 80’s trademark Rush sound.

The album also spawned a series of favourites and regular entries into the band’s live set-list, most notably Subdivisions and New World Man. Other tracks were overlooked by mainstream radio, but were generally well received by the band’s legion of fans; these tracks are also a more accessible version of the band’s music, at least in the synth-laded market of the era. The Analog Kid is a catchy example of this style, merging a classic rock sound with the new synthesiser set-up, and showcasing some of guitarist Alex Lifeson’s soloing prowess. It’s also notable that along with his vocal and bass duties, Geddy Lee does an outstanding job handling the synthesisers that dominate the album; this is probably best showcased here with the mentioned Subdivisions, along with tracks like Chemistry (where his abilities at balancing his two instruments is especially present) and in part two of the Fear series, where is synth-playing is the dominate sound in the track.

Rush’s continued flirtation with reggae elements continues on Signals in the jazzy/funky/mellow/reggaeish Digital Man. Overlooked by the mainstream and live performances alike, Losing It is usually cast aside for the catchier Rush numbers. The track, however, is one of the most sombre/dark songs the band had recorded up to this point, and something about the haunting beauty in it works flawlessly with the new direction the band had been taking.

As a whole, the album is a solid example of Rush’s style and their ability to evolve with the times. Signals is a bright record littered with fan favourites and career highlights, and should not be overlooked by anyone either trying to get into this band or just looking for something they haven’t heard. The synthesisers may seem like a little too much upon first listen, but they have an ability to worm their way into your skin.



Recent reviews by this author
Snot Strait UpSoul Coughing Irresistable Bliss
Witch WitchGentle Giant Gentle Giant
Farmakon A Warm GlimpseBob Marley and The Wailers Survival
user ratings (803)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Flyboy
August 27th 2008


395 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review. Short and straight to the point. I love Rush, but never checked this album out. Guess I should do so.

CrazyFool84
August 27th 2008


1080 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks, I wasn't sure about the length issue, but sometimes the longer ones seem to deter the reader away from the review. But forsure, if you're into Rush, I think you'd definitely dig this album.

doggiedogma
August 27th 2008


9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album signaled the end of relevant RUSH music IMO. Their music became very formulaic and boring from here to present. Shoot, just look at how they changed their hair and dress styles; they looked like an '80's electronic music band and they sounded like wanna be Flock of Seagulls - too bad! This Message Edited On 08.27.08

CrazyFool84
August 28th 2008


1080 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I dunno, I think this just marked a new growth in relevant Rush music. I agree, the sprawling, really proggy stuff left with the 70's. Let's be realistic though, band's that never change usually don't have the kind of career Rush has. The synths got to me to a point too, but I think they added a bit of ambiance at times that helped the band's music, I wouldn't go as far to say they were wanna be Flock of Seagulls...


mynameismud420
August 28th 2008


134 Comments


Great album. Excellent review.

endlessartix
June 24th 2009


275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't like their synth era so much but this is a brilliant album. I haven't listened to it that much so I'm not about to rate it yet though.

KILL
December 8th 2009


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

because they're too busy commenting on jane doe

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

KILL
September 26th 2010


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell yea especially on signals and countdown m/

KILL
September 26th 2010


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

WTF get on it man this album is so fucking good

SCREAM!
September 26th 2010


10090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I saw the band over the summer and had only heard their Gold double disc hahaha

Needless to say ive looked into them a lot more since.

KILL
September 26th 2010


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea man you heard caravan and bu2b, awesome shit sounds better than most songs on snakes and arrows. new album will rule

SCREAM!
September 26th 2010


10090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it was amazing. fucking 3 hour set with only a 15 min break in the middle

Taoboxer9
September 27th 2010


171 Comments


Rush lost me after this album.But lately I've been going back to revisit them.Any suggestions ?

KILL
September 28th 2010


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

almost

BigHans
November 9th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Subdivisions rules hard

KILL
November 11th 2010


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'm at college atm

cant listen to rush

pissed

AnotherBrick
November 11th 2010


9770 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

New World Man

6Dark6Cell6
December 3rd 2010


255 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

This whole album is quite great, I think the weapon could be my fav. Perhaps Chemistry? fuck it their all great.

NigelH
December 4th 2010


1571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Riff at the beginning of The Weapon is so tasty.

BigHans
December 10th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

OMFG Subdivisions just came up on my last.fm library shuffle. OMFG RUSH



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy