Lagwagon
I Think My Older Brother Used To Listen


2.5
average

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
August 19th, 2008 | 19 replies | 9,034 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Nothing exciting about this release.

Lagwagon albums have always been something that I’ve eagerly anticipated. With each new release I knew that I could count on high-quality punk that would deliver intelligent riffs and arrangements that somehow didn’t sound like everyone else. Of course it wasn’t just the riffs that kept me coming back for more, it was also the lyrics and catchy choruses courtesy of Joey Cape; a man capable of writing about serious topics as easily as he could write an amusing song about something totally random. Within the last six years, though, a new EP is an even bigger deal because no one seems to know if another release is even coming. Fortunately, the band has found it in their hearts to deliver us at least one more set of new songs; unfortunately the songs aren’t all that exciting.

The opening song, “B Side” starts out with potential by utilizing a semi-technical riff reminiscent of their earlier days, and a quick tempo but it quickly degrades into a fairly standard mid-paced punk song with no real hook. It’s not often that I’m disappointed by something associated with Lagwagon, but this EP is a disappointment. Listening to subsequent tracks yields pockets of under-developed potential surrounded by large amounts of standard mid-paced punk. Every song has something about it that could have made it great, but those elements never get a chance to make an impact. There’s a quick lounge section in “Fallen” that could have really given the song its own identity but it is quickly overtaken by another standard mid-paced punk riff and is only quickly revisited later in the song. Worse are the songs such as “No Little Pill” and “Mission Unaccomplished” that don’t even have a negligible element to help it become anything other than average.

Not everything about this EP is average, though; there are those pockets of quality that I had alluded to earlier. The main source for quality is the song “Errands” which is not only the most energetic song on the EP, but also the catchiest and features a cool (yet brief) guitar solo as well. “Live it Down” is also a nice departure from the norm with its surf rock vibe contrasted with the serious lyrics. After those two songs all other quality elements have to be picked out of their average surroundings. A good example of that is the bass player who does a fine job on songs such as “Memoirs and Landmines” of creating some cool rhythms and bass lines that help to prop up the mostly-standard riffing. As cool as his bass playing is, though, it’s just not enough to truly elevate the quality of most of these songs.

I wish I had more positives to report, but after three years Lagwagon has only managed to release nineteen minutes of new music and it’s just not that interesting. For fans of the band no review is going to stop you from getting this EP but you should know that there isn’t anything as edgy as on Resolve or as catchy as what is found on Let’s Talk About Feelings and the humor of Duh and Trashed is sadly absent. Overall this EP has some interesting elements and even two good songs, but those positives hardly make up for the bulk of this EP which is simply a listenable, but generally uninteresting experience.



Recent reviews by this author
Anathema Distant SatellitesFlotsam and Jetsam No Place for Disgrace - 2014
Mindcage Our Own DevicesFates Warning Darkness in a Different Light
Queensryche QueensrycheSkinny Puppy Weapon
user ratings (33)
Chart.
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Poet
August 19th 2008



5920 Comments


Happy 100

Willie
Moderator
August 19th 2008



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wanted my Anathema review to be 100, but I thought I'd have something else written before it was actually released and it just didn't happen. I guess this will do.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2008



20855 Comments


Yep, raise your bat up (it's a cricket term when someone scores a century) Willie. Well done on all the hard work.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
August 19th 2008



3995 Comments


I haven't heard this yet, but you strike me as pretty lazy.

Lag Wagon

Joey Carpe

really?

Willie
Moderator
August 19th 2008



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So, I fucking split the band name up once out of all the time I used it, oops. And the vocalist's name? Are you serious? Word doesn't check for that shit and I overlooked it the one time it's used in the review.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
August 19th 2008



3995 Comments


I mean it just doesn't seem like you care all that much. Like you had made up your mind before you came into this. Messing up the names only reinforced that.

rasputin
August 19th 2008



14517 Comments


Congrats on your 100 Willie

Willie
Moderator
August 19th 2008



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I mean it just doesn't seem like you care all that much. Like you had made up your mind before you came into this. Messing up the names only reinforced that.
You're wrong about the caring thing, slightly right about the making my mind up before coming into this thing, but not the way you think. I came into this wanting to love it and tell everyone about it, because this is one of my favorite bands. I even forced a 3.5 review out of this, but it felt bad. So, then I wrote a second review where I tried to at least get a 3 out of this, and it still felt bad. So then I went with what I was really feeling which is what you see. So, I think that writing three separate reviews for the same album disproves any laziness or lack of caring. I simply overlooked it during my proof reading.


Pete
August 23rd 2008



189 Comments


why should reviewer care when lagwagon obviously didnt

tbh

StrizzMatik
August 24th 2008



3175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah this EP isn't a 2.5. Damn bro, my Finch and Lag EP reviews are coming. It's still kinda weak for Lagwagon but it's musically a bit more fleshed out than Resolve and they mix up the structures a lot more on this. I'd give it a high 3-3.5.

Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years

Willie
Moderator
August 24th 2008



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah this EP isn't a 2.5. Damn bro, my Finch and Lag EP reviews are coming. It's still kinda weak for Lagwagon but it's musically a bit more fleshed out than Resolve and they mix up the structures a lot more on this. I'd give it a high 3-3.5.
I think I might just be a little more critical of bands that I really like. Both those bands have released great albums and then disappeared for awhile, and I just don't feel that the time away lead to anything great. This might be a little more fleshed out but the extras feel almost "token". Resolve definitely had better song writing, and was different in its own way.

StrizzMatik
August 24th 2008



3175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Resolve was great. Really sad record though. Lag's best moments are from LTAFeelings and Double Plaidinum IMO. I find Hoss to be a bit overrated. I liked Blaze a lot though, very underrated record.
"Memoirs And Landmines" annoys the hell out of me though. Cape never used to rely much on the rhyming scheme in his lyrics, but he puts it way overboard on that song and the lyrics are pretty terrible for him.This Message Edited On 08.24.08

Tyler
Emeritus
August 24th 2008



7928 Comments


Blaze may actually be my favourite Lagwagon record.

Willie
Moderator
August 24th 2008



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

my favorite is Trashed but Blaze is a close second.

AndyRictor2000
August 27th 2008



146 Comments


looking forward to seeing these guys in september!

StrizzMatik
January 28th 2009



3175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

After hearing Cape's solo effort Bridge, all I can say is what a lazy f*ck. Half of his solo album is basically most of the Lagwagon EP. Seriously disappointing.

Willie
Moderator
January 28th 2009



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I read that same exact thing somewhere else. I felt the same kind of half-assed feel from this album too.

Storm In A Teacup
February 27th 2013



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I love Lagwagon but this sucked.

drasticaction74
February 27th 2013



1720 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not awful but meh

I miss this band



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy