The Gaslight Anthem
The '59 Sound


4.5
superb

Review

by Kiran EMERITUS
August 15th, 2008 | 562 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist


The Gaslight Anthem's The '59 Sound is most successful when it delivers driving, anthemic, Springsteenian jams, perfectly exemplified in songs such as "Miles Davis & The Cool", "The '59 Sound", and "High Lonesome". The album's masterpiece might be "Here's Looking at You, Kid" - a slow-burner that captures the essence of lost love with remarkable poignance - but it's the rock n roll that sets this album alight.

Determined, upbeat and catchy, "Great Expectations" is a strong opener, while "Old White Lincoln" boasts one of the catchiest choruses on the album, as Fallon sings "You and your high top sneakers and your sailor tattoos / Your old '55 that you drove through the roof" over the backing "Ooohs".

Some listeners may find the tracks all too similar for their liking, as they tend to share a certain lustre. However, the hooks are there from start to finish, so if that's your bag, get on board, because you're not going to find a better rock n roll release to satiate your Born To Run cravings for a while.



Recent reviews by this author
Unknown Mortal Orchestra IIBeirut The Rip Tide
Alex Turner Submarine OSTClive Tanaka y Su Orquesta Jet Set Siempre No. 1
Robyn Body TalkThe Concretes WYWH
user ratings (1317)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kiran
Emeritus
August 15th 2008


6002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rules

AtavanHalen
August 15th 2008


17927 Comments


Definitely needs a rewrite, but you've convinced me to pick this up.

Kiran
Emeritus
August 15th 2008


6002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, wrote this during the half hour before the Sweden v Germany quarterfinal olympic match came on o/.




AtavanHalen
August 15th 2008


17927 Comments


Who won?

Kiran
Emeritus
August 15th 2008


6002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Half time. 0-0. HEJA SVERIGE.

After you've listened to the stream of this, tell me what you think.

AtavanHalen
August 15th 2008


17927 Comments


For sure, man. I've been told time after time to listen to these dewdz.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2008


17228 Comments


I've been addicted to this since it leaked.

spoon_of_grimbo
August 15th 2008


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

great review, and i totally agree with it, although your idea of this "taking critics by surprise" is a little unfounded, as there's been a ridiculous amount of hype behind these guys in both the press and on the internet (practically the whole userbase at punknews.org has been furiously whacking over this band for a good year now, and kerrang put them on the cover without any prior mention in the magazine). still, one of the few bands who deserve said hype.

review gets my vote for sure, and i might actually review this myself soon, after a few more listens. it's currently bordering on a 5 for me, i figure a week or two of further listens will decide...

kalkal50
August 15th 2008


2386 Comments


review is swell

Kiran
Emeritus
August 15th 2008


6002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually had no idea about the hype, grimbo, although I'd heard about the Kerrang cover but wasn't sure if it was true. I figure this'll probably get up to a 4.5 for personal enjoyment within a week or two.

samthebassman
August 16th 2008


2164 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is too damn catchy!

204409
Emeritus
August 16th 2008


3996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty great after a listen.

204409
Emeritus
August 16th 2008


3996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

grimbo, I'd like to read a review by you on this one. This rating is likely to go up. This and The Loved Ones' Build and Burn are reviving pop punk / rock for me.

Hewitt
August 16th 2008


371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is some good stuff. I enjoy Sink or Swim a little more at this point but that could change after more listens.

Kiran
Emeritus
August 16th 2008


6002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Initially, I was still favouring Sink or Swim but after a few more listens this really grew on me. Just wait.

flamethisuser
August 16th 2008


395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll take it over Sink or Swim so far.

SkaRobotArmy
August 18th 2008


24 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wicked good album. i love new jersey right now.

Joeeddstealschickens
August 18th 2008


110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was thinking of reviewing this after i listened to the stream a few times a couple of days ago, but i dont think i like the album enough to do so. To me its an average pop-rock record with a few really good songs (especially Old White Lincoln and Ferris Wheel), and a load more average ones that sound very similar. It has quite a cool 50s vibe to the sound which i like, but i think in the end theres too much reverb on everything. Overall, its quite good but not great in my opinion. I saw them on the front of Kerrang the other day, and though I was surprised I can see why, its accessible catchy music that non-metalhead Kerrang readers will like.This Message Edited On 08.18.08

Kiran
Emeritus
August 19th 2008


6002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fair enough but I think the reverb is essential in putting across that cool 50s vibe you were talking about and, at least for me, it doesn't get overwhelming.

Minus The Flair
Emeritus
August 19th 2008


862 Comments


I enjoyed Sink or Swim so I'll check this out. Great review too.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy