Algernon Cadwallader
Some Kind Of Cadwallader


3.5
great

Review

by embroglio USER (5 Reviews)
August 9th, 2008 | 93 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: So i hear you like Cap'n Jazz...

The members of Algernon Cadwallader listen to a lot of Kinsella projects, and they want you to know that. For anyone who has ever spun a Cap'n Jazz, American Football or Owls record, 'Kinsella' is and will be the first thing to come to mind when listening to Algernon Cadwallader, though not necessarily in a negative aspect. Algernon Cadlwallader's debut full-length record, "Some Kind of Cadwallader", is the perfect record for nostalgic fans of a skinnier Tim Kinsella or those itching for Victor Villareal to reappear from the streets of Chicago and produce sonic waterfalls with his guitar. Listening to "Some Kind of Cadwallader" is like taking a trip back to Chicago in the late nineties, and it sure is fun.

However, there is more to Algernon Cadwallader than a shallow Kinsella replica. The band employs some eclectic instrumentation at times, using woodblocks, cowbells, tambourines and at times a melodica to spice up the percussive side of things. The dual fingerpicking guitarists contribute most to the sound of the band, adding some very soothing yet intricate melodies to the offbeat punk rhythms set up by the rhythm section. The singer adds a lot to the positive, raw energy exhibited, though he too often ends up sounding like a bad Tim Kinsella karaoke performer. The band's best moments are usually during its anthemetic (sp) choruses, such as that of "Motivational Song", where the band joins in for an uplifting set of "She-bops" before dwindling down to acoustic guitar and xylophone. "Motivational Song" is the most accurate way to describe the majority of the songs on this album; one should have no trouble finding a nice hook and something to bob one's head to on this album.

All in all, "Some Kind of Cadwallader" is a very enjoyable album that will satisfy most urges for an American Football reunion, and when such a thing does happen this record will still have its own worth for those who can see past its exterior.


user ratings (291)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Corey (4)
Algernon Cadwallader's debut album is a fun listen and will leave you in a good mood almost every ti...


Comments:Add a Comment 
embroglio
August 9th 2008


219 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

looks like i messed up the album name

DFelon204409
Emeritus
August 9th 2008


3995 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty fun album.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
August 9th 2008


3995 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also, I just happened to add this album to my blog two days ago, so I'll make this the review for it: http://worshipandtributemedia.blogspot.com/

The Jungler
August 9th 2008


4827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i like this band and this album, even if it rips the Kinsellas a little bit. the bassist is a nice guy too, we booked them to play in a friend of ours garage a few weeks ago and he was cool to us.
good review.

SynGates
August 9th 2008


2467 Comments


guitars are cool on this album.

edit: wait, how come there's two SKoC in their discography? :confused:This Message Edited On 08.09.08

embroglio
August 9th 2008


219 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i probably fucked it up somehow.

brandtweathers
August 20th 2008


2007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

downloading now. excitement.

JordanS
August 20th 2008


319 Comments


the Kinsella fanboy in me wants to love this like it's some kind of Maps & Atlases/American Football bastardization; but I find myself unable to.

still an enjoyable listen.

brandtweathers
August 20th 2008


2007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im out of the loop with this scene. is this act in any way related to maps & atlases?
edit: this is nice This Message Edited On 08.20.08

JordanS
August 20th 2008


319 Comments


not really.

brandtweathers
August 21st 2008


2007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

holy crap. i love this.

SnackaryBinx
September 30th 2008


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

finally got around to listening to this. it's so awesome.

gimp fest
November 8th 2008


56 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album is so so good. tremendous for singing along to.

windpromoteshate
February 25th 2009


179 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fuck it's scary how similar the vocals sound to Tim Kinsella. This is pretty great apart from how much they steal from the Kinsellas though.This Message Edited On 03.11.09

TheGavinator
August 27th 2009


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a nostalgic album, I would agree but I think Cadwallader are trying to put a newer twist on Kinsella's stuff.I am a huge Cap'n Jazz fan, and I see these guys less as a knockoff of that sound and more as a participant. Revamping a good thing isn't necessarily plagiarism.

Enotron
November 8th 2010


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

best album ever

pmmets07
November 11th 2010


5875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is awesome. all the songs sound real similar though.

Skimaskcheck
March 19th 2011


2360 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

title track is wonderous

iFghtffyrdmns
September 4th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so this is pretty awesome so far...

Enotron
September 4th 2011


7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

if you started getting into this in like late 2010 we woulda been best friends



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy