Polyenso
The Tide


3.0
good

Review

by Brent Stephenson USER (67 Reviews)
August 3rd, 2008 | 56 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: For a debut, this shows promise. However, the band needs to do more to distance themselves from their peers.

For those of you who don't know, Oceana is a five piece melodic metalcore band from Florida. Oceana is signed to Rise Records, which is home to bands such as The Devil Wears Prada, Burden Of A Day, Dance Gavin Dance, Emarosa, and so on so forth. The Tide is the bands first full length album, and for the most part it shows promise, with the exception of one major flaw...(which we will get to briefly)

Instrumentally, the album sounds like if UnderOath's They're Only Chasing Safety was written with the technicality and heaviness of Define The Great Line. For the most part the music maintains a heavy edge, with the guitarists doing a nice job of providing head nodding riffs and melodic lines that wind in and out in a very pleasant way. The breakdowns in the album, and yes there are plenty, do get a bit tedious after a few listens, but that's not to say that there aren't a few memorable ones throughout, such as the multiple breakdowns in the album's title track that segue into clean piano sections. The rhythm section can be compared to most other band's in the genre, in that the drums are very solid, but can sometimes fall into using the same cymbal crashes repeatedly, and the bass is really never a huge part of the picture, although when it does make an appearance it isn't half bad.

The songs are all of the same aggressive nature, with galloping open chords mixed with dissonance and pounding double bass, mixed with passionate screaming and calming singing. The vocalist's scream isn't anything special, but he does a very decent job. The clean vocals on the album are very pleasant, but do fall into the trap of being very overproduced, usually having up to what sounds like three extra harmony tracks. The guitars do add some interesting "leads" throughout the album. The reason that is in quotes is because normally leads consist of miniature solo sections, i.e. fast paced, but the leads on this album are very spacey, usually employing large amounts of echo and reverb, and while that sounds boring, they do actually serve to grab your attention, usually by hitting what appears to be a sour note at first listen, which is really just the use of diminished scales. (something employed heavily by As Cities Burn) A good example of this would be the melody lines in the opener, The Accountable, which is one of the cd's strongest showings. Come Again? is simply, an interlude track which is really nothing special. It consists of some echoing guitar lines and electronic drums, but it does serve as an intermission of sorts.

Every song on this album does end up being enjoyable, but they end up being enjoyable in the same way. It seems like, even though there is a fair amount of variety, the band gets into the rhythm of throwing out the same melody lines intermingled with the dissonant diminished chords and palm muted chugs, while the vocals end up screaming in the same syncopated manner and singing the same notes with different words. However, the main flaw with this album is simply the fact that they are doing the same things as UnderOath, and quite frankly at this point UnderOath is much better at it. Thats not to say that this band doesn't show promise, it just seems like no matter much I enjoy this album, it always makes me want to pop in UnderOath or As Cities Burn instead.

Pros
-decent instrumental work
-very solid vocals and rhythm section
-will hold UnderOath fans over until the new record (could be a good or bad thing depending on your perspective)

Cons
-gets a little tiresome with repeated listening
-clean vocals are overproduced at times
-this early in their career, the band just doesn't have enough experience to warrant praise as anything but a slightly less enjoyable UnderOath

Recommended Tracks:
The Accountable
The Tide
We Are The Messengers



Recent reviews by this author
BATS The Sleep of ReasonCoheed and Cambria The Afterman: Ascension
Sohns Ripe/RotBaroness Yellow and Green
Red Fang Murder the MountainsGood Night & Good Morning Good Night & Good Morning
user ratings (242)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
fireaboveicebelow
August 3rd 2008


6837 Comments


I see this all the time at FYE, and now I'm glad I didn't get it

pretty good review

marksellsuswallets
August 3rd 2008


4848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah i bought it from one of their guitarists at Warped Tour for five bucks, don't think i would have paid more than 10 for it, and thats kind of pushing it

AngelPhoenix
August 3rd 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Your review is spot on man. These guys certainly have promise but overall this just falls really flat

Epilogue
August 22nd 2008


1591 Comments


Even though this album doesn't seem all that interesting, it has a very good review that makes me want to watch out fot these guys

marksellsuswallets
August 22nd 2008


4848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They have a new demo up on their MySpace that shows a little bit more promise, but not much. Hopefully they really try and develop their own sound this time...

evilmegaman
October 23rd 2008


174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Oceana's ex-screamer (the guy in this CD) is my all time favorite throat. he's excellent


Beyond that, this CD while slightly repetitive is definitely only something you'll find with Oceana. It's very themed and stuff. some sorta ambient lead guitars. The whole thing is just extremely solid.

The only negative is that it's a little repetitive and there's some filler (like Isolophobia. where the hell did you get "come again?" from????)

this is a respectable outing. but I think outside of one CD these guys are doomed to just repeat the same thing over and over. a case of AC/DC if you will. But for only having one CD I still like it

zrosschristian
November 20th 2008


281 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Downloaded this album a while back. Nothing really stands out about it.

I gave it a 3.5/5 but now I think I'm gonna give it a 3/5. I hardly listen to it.

asaf
November 20th 2008


888 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ok release really, nothing to two step in the living room to.

AbyssalCreation
December 2nd 2008


2041 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty well written.

This album has some great songs namely Hello Astronaut(which is one of my favorite tracks of the year to be honest),The Accountable, and Reach For The Sky.It does get a little monotonous after a while though.

I love the guitar in this album(some of the best ambient stuff i've heard come out of Post Hardcore in a while.)They have a lot of promise, i greatly enjoy their new track Creations.Heres hoping their next full-length is slightly more original and over all better.



Shattered
December 3rd 2008


44 Comments


The Accountables has an awesome breakdown. And then on the tide....the tide had come, to take us all. The tide has come to take us.

WhiteTieBlackJacket
February 11th 2009


792 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I bought this, Here I Come Falling and In Fear And Faith's first releases and I liked this the least. This review has convinced me to give it another try though.

iamthenightmare
May 8th 2009


754 Comments


new stuff is alot better in almost every way

crazycobs
May 8th 2009


114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good reveiw! i picked this up randomly and heard the underoath comparisons instantly haha.

But hey i love underoatch....and i love this so im not complaining!

marksellsuswallets
May 8th 2009


4848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The new stuff is really just more generic in different ways tbh.

IndieOut
May 17th 2009


498 Comments


This album is great. We are messengers is a great song and has an intense intro, and i agree the new stuff is a lot more generic.

MacWeener
May 18th 2009


288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nothing very new or mind blowing and it can be slightly samey but they really do it for me

MacWeener
May 18th 2009


288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just listening to their new tracks on their myspace. That quite a jump for them, going to take a few listens to get used to it, but it sounds alright so far

iamSeraph
June 1st 2009


865 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

even the shouting gets a bit monotone after some time, the guitar work is still awesome. the melodies and breaks are wonderful and so nicely arranged...especially "we are the messengers", "the tide" or my favourite: "the portrait" are outstanding songs that i hear repetitively every week, since the release of this record(!).
thumbs up for this album.
the new one is great, too. but the new shouter has not the same aggressiveness and emotion like the old, and aditionally there are too many clean vocals (which are overproduced over and above).
so listen to this album and fade out all the bad thoughts and opinions about it. _enjoy_ this record and build your own dream castles while hearing some stunning good melodies, nicely combined with some kick ass breakdowns.
regards

thewretchedfew
June 8th 2009


117 Comments


i love this album artwork.

brent you should review their new one; birth eater.

IndieOut
June 8th 2009


498 Comments


This album slays broadzillas.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy