Carpathian
Isolation


2.0
poor

Review

by David James Young USER (181 Reviews)
July 31st, 2008 | 36 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Is it a parkway? Is it a prom queen? No, it’s Carpathian. And they’ve less to offer than either of them.

Some music only works properly in a live setting. It’s much more interesting, for example, to watch a jam-oriented band perform in concert than to listen to them on record, as chances are it may get very boring very quickly. Dance music, as another example, comes to life when a band rocks the block-rocking beats out to a sweaty, dancing audience. Continuing this argument, we move to the focus of today’s lesson- hardcore punk music, specifically Australian.
Rarely do any of the dime-a-dozen- or, twelve for ten cents- bands on offer provide anything on record that is substantial and truly worth engaging with. In a live environment, however, it is an entirely different story. Flying high-kicks, ground-punches, throw-downs, walls of death, Power Ranger-style swings and flings of the body and limbs…and that’s just in the mosh itself. It truly is a spectacle to be seen.

From Melbourne’s Mornington Peninsula, Carpathian have built their selves up on such a show. They certainly put all the passion and guts that they have into what they do- at this year’s Soundwave festival, as one of only three Aussie bands on the bill, they reportedly managed to draw significantly large crowds over, even creating a infamous wall of death at the Sydney leg that rivalled the one created by headliners Killswitch Engage. After many years and several line-up changes (including, at one time, “The Notorious” Michael Crafter), Carpathian have finally delivered Isolation, their latest release. Unfortunately, this offering does not pack even half of the intensity and energy of a Carpathian show- not even closely.

The first problem that comes to mind is the band’s throat, Martin Kirby. He often struggles to keep his head above water with such a loud band behind him, and he does not help this by incoherently barking like some rabid baby-eating dingo, with a sound that literally sounds like it hurts. His voice has no unique flair, and the only coherent word generally picked up in the album’s length is ‘fuck’. Even when the gang vocals come out (“Sirens” is the best use of it on here), or a guest vocalist appears, there is nothing really redeeming about this album vocally.

The environment that the rest of the band surrounds Kirby with is just as hit and miss. Whilst unquestionably well-executed and tight for the genre- this is certainly one of the more polished Aussie hardcore releases out this year- the vibe of the downtuned guitars, inaudible bass and and crashing drums simply seems a little too familiar. “Ceremony” is your average Drop B angst anthem, the call to arms of the title track is mercifully short, and “Sprials” is, fittingly, perfect for the circle pit, but become droning and uninspired when not slamming into other angry, shirtless men. The band even kill potential when it surfaces- “Dead Beats from Dead Hearts” begins with an intriguing riff, but quickly plummets into yet another fist-raised and pissed-off slow number. Hope isn’t entirely lost, however- “Seventyk” sees the band expand to horizons wider than their contemporaries would dare. The track’s instrumentation recalls the Deftones, with an added effect-laden heavy rock flavour. The guitars even discover melody in a brief moment of hope. Elsewhere, however, it is just a case of less having heard it before, but more having heard it done better.

After roughly twenty-five minutes, Isolation is a thing of the past. Chances are you’ll hardly notice, however- this falls short of the mark on too many occasions to be really worth anyone’s time.
Perform this in-front of a hungry, violent crowd with bucket-loads of passion and energy, however? It’s certain to succeed.
Shit, I’ll be there.



Recent reviews by this author
The Presets PacificaLast Dinosaurs In A Million Years
Every Time I Die Ex LivesDarren Hayes Secret Codes and Battleships
Wanda Jackson The Party Ain't OverPhrase Babylon
user ratings (138)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Andrew H. EMERITUS (3)
Australia's premier 'moshcore' band dicover Joy Division, sign to Deathwish and make a record that i...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
July 31st 2008


16019 Comments


Bury Your Dead is one of those bands that I saw live first and thought they were awesome, and then I heard their album and was bored. Good review, I like the opening.

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

billy33
July 31st 2008


216 Comments


hmm, i read another review of this somewhere that said it was half decent.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
July 31st 2008


3768 Comments


That bad? Drum Media was practically wanking over these guys, now I don't know what to think. Listening time!

Jim
July 31st 2008


5110 Comments


won't get this. i support my aussie music, but only if it grabs my interest. and much like prom queen and parkway drive, these guys don't.

SHOOTME
July 31st 2008


2393 Comments


WORSE than Prom Queen?!

I will pass.

ninjuice
August 3rd 2008


6760 Comments


Awesome review, love the summary.

AtavanHalen
August 3rd 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Tried getting into this again, but I really couldn't. Pity, really.

moose1992
August 4th 2008


50 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Too different from their older material.

in a bad way.

Still, i think it deserves higher then a two

Mill
August 22nd 2008


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have to disagree with this review. I think it's absolutely brilliant. Then again, I'm not obsessed with breakdowns...

Tsatseura
October 16th 2008


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review? Are you serious? It's not that I simply disagree with your points, it's that you pulled them out of nowhere. I'm doubting whether you've actually listened to this album all the way through. Of course it'll be well accepted live, it's loud music.

This album goes far beyond my expectations for this band. Unlike the majority of music from this genre, the lyrics are beautiful (although let down in certain parts, I admit). These guys have grown into something far deeper than a hardcore band from the Mornington Peninsula. I live there, and trust me, the hardcore scene is out of hand. Saturated with people who want to make noise with misplaced breakdowns. This album has gone against the grain and that's why I like it so much. It's genuinely depressing, moving. After seeing 'Nothing to Lose' played live 3-4 times, I'd much rather see the guys passionately driving into 'Isolation', even if rest of the crowd did get left behind.

This Message Edited On 10.16.08This Message Edited On 10.16.08

Petsi
November 2nd 2008


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review was badly done, wrong facts about the band and guest vocalists. You hardly talk about the music of the album focusing more on the bands reputation and hardcore as a genre.

Furthermore why is it that you class this band with bands that are not even close to sounding the same, just because a band is Australian doesn't mean it sounds anything like all the Australian bands.

(N)

AtavanHalen
November 2nd 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'd really appreciate the fanboy negs to go away- you people aren't even a part of the community and your points are more or less invalid.


SnackaryBinx
November 2nd 2008


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wow, that was the most pretentious thing I've ever seen written on here.

AtavanHalen
November 2nd 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Allow me to elaborate:

You hardly talk about the music of the album focusing more on the bands reputation and hardcore as a genre.

3/5 paragraphs isn't enough idk
Furthermore why is it that you class this band with bands that are not even close to sounding the same, just because a band is Australian doesn't mean it sounds anything like all the Australian bands.

Because I'm putting the band in context for people who aren't Australian (on here, that's most of them).This Message Edited On 11.02.08

SnackaryBinx
November 2nd 2008


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

you people aren't even a part of the community and your points are more or less invalid


no seriously, you just made the biggest ass of your self you possibly could.

bastard
November 2nd 2008


3435 Comments


I just read that too and I was just loling to myself.

AtavanHalen
November 2nd 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

no seriously, you just made the biggest *** of your self you possibly could.

What I mean is that these people have more or less just signed up to tell me how much the review sucks and then left. That's bullshit.

Petsi
November 5th 2008


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've actually been around for awhile, I just don't post often.

If you don't want neg feedback don't post reviews, wasn't trying to be a dick just trying to tell you to get your facts right and try not to be so shallow with your reviews.




AtavanHalen
November 5th 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I've actually been around for awhile, I just don't post often.

Yeah, nice work- the whole point of being a part of here is commenting and being a part of the reviews. If you come and neg my reviews and you've only got 4 posts to your name, I can only assume that it's trolling (someone gave this record five stars and had the username "yourreviewsucks" and told me how this was the greatest album ever, so you can forgive me for being wary).
Regardless, I changed the bit about this being their debut (their other "album" was so short I mistook it for an EP) and the guest vocalists (I'm certain Deez Nuts is in there somewhere, though).
My opinion stands on this record, though, it's boring and uninspired.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
November 25th 2008


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hahhaha this review is so bad



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy