Sparta
Wiretap Scars


4.0
excellent

Review

by Damrod EMERITUS
June 30th, 2005 | 38 replies | 14,169 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist


This is the first full lenghth CD that Sparta released, and some say it's the better one of the two (compared to the latest CD 'Porcelain'). I would not say it's better, but... different. If one likes one album better, is in the end just a matter of personal taste and preference.

Some general impressions:
So, what's this 'difference' then? Well, 'Wiretap Scars' has an overall different feel and mood compared to 'Porcelain'. Where the latter seems much more melancholic and in parts ambient, quite some songs on 'Wiretap Scars' have a much more rougher feeling and musical build up. But also the slower and more quiet songs differ, as more instruments are used. Like cello-like strings on 'Collapse' for example, or the elctronic like intro to 'Cataract'. On the instrumental side, the bass and drumms set a great base for the rest to build upon. The bass is nothing really special though, but I think the drumming is really great. Vocals are quite rough here and there, and if you know 'At the Drive-In', it will be quite familiar. After all Jim Ward did backing vocals in ATD-I, so if you liked it there, you will like it here. But he does not only scream but also softer or spoken vocals. Though I must say the spoken vocals do not fit on every spot IMO. The guitar is good, and sets quite some good accents with the lead parts.

This is musically speaking great work IMO, and highly underrated by the critics (who bashed this album pretty bad).

What was good:
The quiet/rough aspect of the songs is really great. Songs like "Cataract" have a quite feel on the verse, but kinda explode musically on the Chorus. That is bound to draw attention. I like the use of different instrumentation as well. some light strings or electronic sounds here and there. And in a certain way, this album has a good flow. It does not seem too long or short while listening to it. It seems just right. :thumb:

What was bad:
Well, not much I could say as con. Like I said, I think it is highly underrated by the critics. Still it leaves room to get better. Jim Ward could use his voice better to create a different and better atmosphere (like he does in parts on the follow up album 'Porcelaine'). I could not think of anything more right now

Summary:
This is a great album by a great band. Definately one of the better Indie/Post-Hardcore bands out there. The production is good, the overall feel of the album as well. If you liked ATD-I, I guess you will have kind of easy access to this one, though it is much more mellow than most stuff by ATD-I.

But don't ask me here what of the Sparta albums to get, they are both good stuff, and only divided by personal preference.

Final rating: 4/5

Recommended songs:
Cataract, Air, Sans Cosm, Collapse




Recent reviews by this author
Polar Bear Club Clash Battle Guilt PrideDown-Stares Cobras And Matadors
Unearth The MarchThe Psyke Project Apnea
In This Moment The DreamThis Is Hell Sundowning
user ratings (304)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Alex Carlson (4)
There's nothing "traditional" about Wiretap Scars, and while it may not announce its creativity loud...

MrUnderstanding18 (4.5)
One half of the ATDI split strikes out with its first full length album - and the results are admira...

StonedMoogle (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
NEDM
June 30th 2005



1113 Comments


good review damrod, never really got into Sparta. But I guess I'll have to now :thumb:This Message Edited On 06.30.05

Jawaharal
June 30th 2005



1832 Comments


good review

Tenfootbrett
July 1st 2005



149 Comments


I listened to this album quite a while ago, and I'm having trouble remembering it clearly, but if I recall, it was a bit too mellow for my tastes. Though I completely fell in LOVE with Sans Cosm. Well written review though.

Amused
July 23rd 2005



5 Comments


this is better than their new one. lots of great songs on this bad boy.

i still think The Mars Volta are the better of the two tho.

Riley12988
July 23rd 2005



109 Comments


Is the rest of the album anything like "Cut your Ribbon?" Because that song made me hate Jim Ward.

Damrod
Moderator
July 25th 2005



1093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[Quote=Riley12988]Is the rest of the album anything like "Cut your Ribbon?" Because that song made me hate Jim Ward.[/Quote]

Not really. 'Cut your Ribbon' is a really bad representation of the album. If you want to get a realistic impression of how the album is, you should check out songs like "Cataract", "Assemble the Empire", "Air" or "Sans Cosm". Compared to the rest of the album, 'Cut ypur Ribbon' is a bad exception one could say.

masada
July 25th 2005



2733 Comments


I've heard the other album, and I can't say that I liked it much.

AtTheDriveIn198d
November 28th 2005



158 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

porcelain takes a few listens to realise how great it is. i bought it bunged it in my CD player and was a lil disapointed but now i

The Transporter
October 27th 2006



60 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Every song on this album is good. Tons of catchy melodies. I don't know what the guy meant when he said that Cut Your Ribbon made him hate Jim Ward. That's one of my favorite songs ever.

The only problem with the album is that some songs take awhile to get going, but once they do, it's pure awesome.

MyRamona
July 1st 2007



1074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album has a very awesome layout, and delivers a pure powerful force to your ears. Buy this album if you are an Atd-I fan.
Jim Ward has never sounded better!

eggsvonsatan
February 29th 2008



1087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Looks like its time for me to review this album since the two that are up here are fairly weak. This one is better than the other, but it needs more substance.

I love this CD. IMO, it's better than anything The Mars Volta have done post-Deloused.

KritikalMotion
February 29th 2008



2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sparta are great but i never seem to listen to them much. I'm seeing Jim Ward live in the next few days which should be cool, he's playing some acoustic Sparta as well as his solo stuff.

Otisbum
April 9th 2008



1912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is really good. I haven't listened to AtDI in a while, so this is a nice treat until I manage to buy Relationship of Command.

I'm starting to love Ward's vocals.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2009



17197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of my favorite albums.

Kashmir09
September 28th 2009



772 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like Cut Your Ribbon..

Athom
Staff Reviewer
July 6th 2010



17197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

CD needs more love.

Ire
July 6th 2010



41749 Comments


Yeah, this band is pretty overlooked.

mezz85
February 3rd 2011



12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Loved this album, no really weak songs at all. Collapse is probably my favourite. Also watching some of their live performances on youtube and in concert has made me like them even more!

Athom
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2011



17197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this fucking album THIS FUCKING ALBUM THIS FUCKING ALBUM THIS FUCKING
ALBUM


dimsim3478
November 18th 2011



4735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

AS IT FALLS APART
ANYTHING ANYTHING
HOW CAN YOU SLEEP AT NIGHT?

Digging: My Psychoanalyst - Choreomania



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy