DoomThrone
Skeleton Veiled in Flesh


1.0
awful

Review

by rasputin USER (196 Reviews)
July 20th, 2008 | 429 replies | 26,060 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I am a skeleton alive undead.

29 of 29 thought this review was well written

Imagine a dark, dingy room. A single bulb hangs on a cord from the ceiling, exuding a very dim light, swaying on the spot, even though no wind is blowing. A rusty cage sits in the corner, its door hanging open, dripping blood. More blood stains the walls, and a single window on the wall is boarded up, letting no other light in. Doomthrone’s Skeleton Veiled in Flesh will conjure up such images in your head; not, as you might think, because of its dark and foreboding nature, but because it’s the sort of place you would want to lock up the idiots who made this ridiculously bad EP.

To begin with, we’ll introduce Doomthrone’s vocalist. We will call him ‘Skeleton’, named after his terrible lyrics. For the entirety of Skeleton Veiled in Flesh, Skeleton mumbles his way around, consistently sounding ridiculous, and overall sounding like he not only has some terrible throat condition, but also a variety of objects stuck in his throat. Sometimes he’ll push himself to the point where he sounds like a constipated frog. One also can’t fail to mention that his vocal delivery is completely out of sync with the ‘music’. If you’ve ever heard Lurker of Chalice, think of Wrest’s vocals; this is worse.

Accompanying Skeleton is the music, if you want to call it that. The production basically renders any definition of ‘riff’ as a ‘hum’, or ‘murk’. That’s possibly the single achievement of Doomthrone, for creating the conditions in which one can replace the word ‘riff’ with ‘murk’. It takes a superhuman ear to distinguish between the different ‘murks’, assuming they aren’t all the same anyway. Oh, and it seems that Doomthrone have chosen not to incorporate any form of melody, choosing instead to play a relentlessly frustrating drone of a murk for the album’s entirety. Following along with the theme of ‘murk’, Skeleton moans some of the stupidest lyrics I’ve ever come across. ‘I am a skeleton, alive undead’? I won’t even make a separate paragraph.

Frankly, Skeleton Veiled in Flesh is the worst album I have ever heard, bar none. Yes of course there are several others that come close, but Doomthrone opens up a whole new level of ‘fucking shit’ in terms of music. Ignoring the fact that no-one in their right mind would support this band, I’m somewhat relieved that they consider themselves ‘kvlt’, limiting the release of Skeleton Veiled in Flesh to the oh-so-unpredictable number of 666. In other words, no more than 666 individuals can say they gave their money to Doomthrone, which in my opinion is 666 too many.



Recent reviews by this author
Hoax HoaxHakaristi Hakaristi
Burial Invocation Rituals of the GrotesqueEibon Entering Darkness
Abe Sada / Sub Ordnance Redux / Organ GrinderIron Lung/Mind Eraser/HS/Scapegoat Brutal Supremacy
user ratings (147)
Chart.
1.1
awful
other reviews of this album
Subrick (1)
One of the most abysmal creations ever shat out upon the music world....


Comments:Add a Comment 
rasputin
July 20th 2008



14538 Comments


This is a re-write of a review I lost in the database crash.This Message Edited On 09.28.08

BallsToTheWall
July 20th 2008



44164 Comments


Short but good review. Band name is quite puzzling, it sounds cool at first but than I wonder if it makes any sense. Anyways, this sounds like a real piece of shit, reserved only for the likes of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named.

rasputin
July 20th 2008



14538 Comments


reading too much harry potter Balls? Yeah, this is the worst thing I've ever heard.

Poet
July 20th 2008



5922 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

The first paragraph made me :lol: Good review.

BallsToTheWall
July 20th 2008



44164 Comments


At one time I was indeed a big fan of the wizard boy with a lightning shaped scar. 7th book is pretty much one of my favorite books next to a few others. I'm glad however, that people could transition the books into movies successfully. Unlike Eragorn, what a shithouse and dissapointment. I want to check this out and seeing that i've never really bought an album I absolutley hated, i'll buy this.

rasputin
July 20th 2008



14538 Comments


Dude, I wrote the review so you wouldn't buy it! Seriously, download it if you want, but it actually is as terrible as I make it out to be. I'm not sure if you'd even be able to find it anyway.

ninjuice
July 20th 2008



6760 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Awesome and it made me laugh. Pospospospospos

McP3000
July 20th 2008



3941 Comments


ok, i severely doubt 4 people have listened to this album

rasputin
July 20th 2008



14538 Comments


They probably checked it out after I reviewed it the first time. I added the album towards the beginning of the year, so it's entirely possible.

Poet
July 21st 2008



5922 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

I just listened to Skeleton Veiled In Flesh and....um wow.

He sounds like Oscar the Grouch dying.

Slaytan
July 21st 2008



1186 Comments


I remember this review from a while back. It made me laugh then and it made me laugh now. Good job sir. /Pos

SHOOTME
July 21st 2008



2393 Comments


You can give this a 0.5, just not at first. Click edit your review, check ratings and 0.5 will appear, click it.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2008



15730 Comments


7th harry potter isn't that good come on

Digging: Alvvays - Alvvays

charlesfishowitz
July 21st 2008



1794 Comments


are you guys talking about Lord Voldemort?


:O



....this sounds like the darkest album evar

i feel like i need to pick it up... despite your review.

rasputin
July 21st 2008



14538 Comments


You can give this a 0.5, just not at first. Click edit your review, check ratings and 0.5 will appear, click it.

I already know that, I said I knew it can be done, but I've never actually seen it done. It's okay, I asked in the forums and even though I think this deserves it, 1 is terrible enough.

Eakflanderyof
July 21st 2008



2143 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Wooo, just listened and that was waaaaay worse than I expected. That solo at the end was LOL bad. It sounded like people just learning how to play their respective instruments decided they would make low-fi, low in the mix music so people might not notice that they suck. The vocals was pretty funny, too. All in all I feel bad for making fun of them, though.

Wizard
July 21st 2008



19329 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I really liked your first review for this Rasputin. Sorry you lost it in the great database crash of 2008!

Your rewrite was still just as funny (and well written). I remember I ended up checkinhg out a track by these guys :D!

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

rasputin
July 21st 2008



14538 Comments


haha, me reviewing this has actually made more people listen to it. I hope they don't think we like them and then try to make more material.

Wizard
July 21st 2008



19329 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The one song I listened to a few minutes ago on some myspace page, sounded like a bunch of amateurs. I think this will be one of my few downloads ever, just to show people what bad metal is!

Kaleid
July 21st 2008



710 Comments


they consider themselves ‘kvlt’, limiting the release of Skeleton Veiled in Flesh to the oh-so-unpredictable number of 666

Oh ffs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy