Carpathian Forest
Defending the Throne of Evil


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (71 Reviews)
July 14th, 2008 | 102 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


Carpathian Forest is most well known for being one of the most satanic bands in the black metal scene. They are also known for their morbid lyrical content which doesn't always deal with satanism alone. Other lyrical themes include morbid things such as death, sodomy, and suicide just to name a few. Throughout their career, Carpathian Forest has always played traditional black metal. No symphonic elements anywhere to be found. With this album, the band makes their turn towards symphonic black metal with the addition of the keyboards to their music. The keyboards are a huge factor on this album because they help make Defending the Throne of Evil so much better than all their other albums and their best album to date.

Like I said before, the keyboards play a huge factor in making this album great. The symphonic arrangements start off right at the beginning of the album on It's Darker Than You Think. It starts off with a creepy symphonic piece, the bass comes in, and then you're surprised with a very loud "AHH" from Nattefrost. Chances are that part will scare the hell out of you the first time you hear it. These kinds of symphonic pieces are displayed a whole lot throughout the album. The guitars have also changed a bit. On previous Carpathian Forest albums the guitarists would mostly play just regular black metal riffs with barely any melody displayed. On this album you have the guitarists playing melodic riffs, while keeping the fast, black metal touch. As most people have probably come to expect from a black metal drummer, this guy plays blast beats mostly the whole time during the album. On slower parts the drummer mostly just keeps the pace of the song going with slow beats. The bassist is surprisingly audible on this album and along with the drums helps keep the pace of the songs.

The vocals by Nattefrost are absolutely menacing. This guy actually sounds like he is possessed by satan and thats no lie. His vocals are kind of hard to describe because they are so unique. They are extremely raspy and his voice is pretty high pitched, but not Dani Filth high pitched. I would say Nattefrost has the high pitched voice like Dani and the raspy voice of Sakis Tolis of Rotting Christ. The point is, his vocals are absolutely amazing on this album and he is by far one of the best vocalists that black metal has ever seen.

Overall this album is amazing. There are a couple instrumentals which are really sort of pointless, but they're really creepy and some people might enjoy them. Everything on this album is top notch from the vocals to the instruments. This is truly a relatively unknown gem in the black metal scene and more people should pay attention to it. If you've heard previous Carpathian Forest albums, this album might come as sort of a surprise, but its a really good surprise. Everyone into black metal should get this album as it is definitely the best album by this band to date.



Recent reviews by this author
Incantation The Infernal StormXanthochroid Blessed He With Boils
Cradle of Filth Midnight in the LabyrinthIstapp Blekinge
Antediluvian Through the Cervix of HawaahMarduk Dark Endless
user ratings (57)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
July 14th 2008


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is so much better than most of their other releases.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

FenderUsa
July 14th 2008


582 Comments


Never heard of this band, must check them out good reviewThis Message Edited On 07.14.08

Hawks
July 14th 2008


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man. Check out their last two albums. Which is this and Fuck You All. They're much better than the rest of their albums.

foreverendeared
July 14th 2008


14678 Comments


good review. i'm getting this now

which doesn't always deal with just satanism

i would change "just satanism" with "satanism alone." i think that sounds better, but it's your review and you're better than i am anyway. just a suggestionThis Message Edited On 07.14.08

masscows
July 14th 2008


2236 Comments


meh, this band is pretty run-of-the-mill tbh

Hawks
July 14th 2008


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thats a good idea foreverendeared. It sounds better like that. Fixed. And you're right masscows, the only good stuff they put out IMO is this and Fuck You All.This Message Edited On 07.14.08

Tyler
Emeritus
July 14th 2008


7926 Comments


You have to relax with these intros. Every black metal review you write is filled with ridiculous statements such as "known for being one of the most satanic" and shit like that.
Band is awful.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 14th 2008


17920 Comments


blackest shit ever

BallsToTheWall
July 14th 2008


44352 Comments


Blacker than the blackest black times infinity, fuckin brutal. These guys are pretty O.G and I have always been meaning to check them out. Maybe I should get to that. Decent review and any band with forest, moon, autumn, winter, woods, etc in it's name get's an auto check from me because that's raw.

Digging: Pharmakon - Abandon

fireaboveicebelow
July 14th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is the only album I have by them, it's pretty decent

Slaytan
July 14th 2008


1186 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Fuck You All!!!! is better than this IMO. Good review.

ilikemusicthatsucks
July 14th 2008


1063 Comments


Carpathian Forest is most well known for being one of the most satanic bands in the black metal scene. They are also known for their morbid lyrical content which doesn't always deal with satanism alone blah blah blah i'm so hardcore for listening to some of the most hardest scariest music in the WORLD


Nice retarded intro.


SHOOTME
July 14th 2008


2393 Comments


Decent review. But yeah, ilikemusicthatsucks is right, bad intro.

In fact, it would have been better to say "This black metal album is blacker than O.J.'s black ass".

Tyler
Emeritus
July 14th 2008


7926 Comments


SHOOTME, it's time to heed your own advice.

ilikemusicthatsucks
July 14th 2008


1063 Comments


:lol:

SHOOTME
July 14th 2008


2393 Comments


Hey Coc, have you even read one of my reviews?

ilikemusicthatsucks
July 14th 2008


1063 Comments


Lol c'mon dude, you can't deny that was a hilarious post.

SHOOTME
July 14th 2008


2393 Comments


m kay.

Anyways, I am not a black metal fan so I will probably avoid this.

P.S.

I wasn't the one who negged.This Message Edited On 07.14.08

ilikemusicthatsucks
July 14th 2008


1063 Comments


I mighta been, don't really remember, but if I did you deserve it for the terrible intro and overall immature tone and writing it in first person.

Thanks for correcting that poetandthependulum. In the future, apply such rigorous standards to your reviews, especially the ones that suddenly become "joke" reviews after everyone points out how much it sucks!This Message Edited On 07.14.08

Poet
July 14th 2008


5933 Comments


first person tone


lol

In the future, apply such rigorous standards to your reviews, especially the ones that suddenly become "joke" reviews after everyone points out how much it sucks!

Coming from the guy with the PTH review where all you talk about is lyrics. This Message Edited On 07.15.08



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy