Arkhon Infaustus
Hell Injection


1.0
awful

Review

by Malfeitor USER (4 Reviews)
July 9th, 2008 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's gotta be good, cos it says cunt in it! LAWL!1

Look at the song titles on this one! Wow! 'Domination Xtasy' 'Dead Cunt Maniac' 'The Whorehouse Coven'. We can see that, obviously, this album is going to be wicked cool! Hell, I don't even need to listen to it, I'm just gonna read the lyrics because that's just the kind of trend-following ***-swallowing 14 year old fan boy I am!

Arkhon Infaustus do not understand extreme metal. They see brutal death metal bands singing about gory ***, they see black metal bands singing about perversions and Satan, and they think, if this is all we need to be in the metal in crowd, let's just watch a few 80s exploitation movies, waltz down to the studio and show everyone just how hip we are! They look to the almighty Witchmaster, and they say to each other 'wow, this band sings about bizarre sexual acts and drug use, and people say they're elite, let's do that!' As they don't understand metal, they don't realise that Witchmaster back themselves up with (a ***ing LOT) of musical merit.

On Hell Injection, recycled Norsecore riffs meet Belphegor's musical ideas and occassionally collide with some death metal influences as well. The aesthetic of course is lifted straight from Witchmaster. Seemingly unable to decide whether they want the listener to headbang or be immersed in their atmosphere (which they don't have), and completely void of originality, talent or song-writing ability, AI as expected manage only to come up with 40 minutes of boring derivative garbage that could only appeal to the demographic defined at the beginning of my review. Not only this, but the lazily written, ill-thought out end product does nothing but betray AI's trendy intentions.

While this kind of music can at times be hidden partially behind poor production, AI decide instead to use a pretty high standard of production (for black metal, at least), the clarity of which provides no mask for their unenthusiasm for this genre. Whether they are the kind of people that want a bit of spare cash, or whether they are the 'music isnt good or bad! surely someone will like this' brand of faggots that think the idea of subjectivity justifies making music, is unclear. Unfortunately the band is still active, having the honour of Terrorizer magazine putting Orthodoxyn in their top 40 or whatever for 2007. To wrap it up, this is a musical abomination, I mean that in a bad way, and is only for the brand of trend-seeking queers that can easily find it packaged with the likes of Watain and Behemoth in a torrent for their convenience. Thankfully the album is coming to a close, and I'm gonna go look up some porn now seeing as my hetero levels have been drastically decreased as a result of prolonged exposure to Hell Injection.


user ratings (4)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
rasputin
July 9th 2008


14555 Comments


Their last album Orthodoxyn is actually very good, and the one before Perdition Insanabilis (sp) is okay, but I haven't heard anything else from them.

Malfeitor
July 9th 2008


17 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I can't imagine it getting better than this one.

rasputin
July 9th 2008


14555 Comments


well a lot of bands do get better over their careers, so you should be able to. I think they matured a little, and their song titles reflect that eg. their song titles aren't ridiculous later on.
however, I think because you're coming into the band expecting black metal that you're used to, it makes you a lot more criticalThis Message Edited On 07.09.08

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2008


20857 Comments


Please try to spread your reviews out. 3 reviews on 1 day is simply knocking other reviews off the front page.

taylormemer
July 9th 2008


4944 Comments


Looks like we have a new resident Hawk.

masscows
July 9th 2008


2236 Comments


Looks like we have a new resident Hawk.
except that dude didn't have any idea what he was talking about ever and listens to awful music

SHOOTME
July 9th 2008


2393 Comments


Looks like we have a new resident Hawk.


lol.This Message Edited On 07.09.08

Athom
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2008


17224 Comments


i love how the reviewer recs are all pop.

Malfeitor
July 10th 2008


17 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Rasputin I was expecting something along the lines of Witchmaster/early Belphegor mix

Silenius
July 10th 2008


305 Comments


I approve of this review because the recommendations are great, plus I won't waste my time now with these guys...

Pebster49
July 10th 2008


2993 Comments


Don't feed the monkey...please!

Malfeitor
July 10th 2008


17 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

mate wtf are you talking about

Malfeitor
July 10th 2008


17 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

oh i get it. i accidentally posted my opinion instead of a review



oh wait a minute



they're the same fucking thing!

foreverendeared
July 10th 2008


14678 Comments


a little less bashing and some more actual reviewing would be nice, but you are a good writer.

Willie
Moderator
July 10th 2008


16117 Comments


a little less bashing and some more actual reviewing would be nice, but you are a good writer.
Agreed.
Looks like we have a new resident Hawk.
Daveyboy is right to ask people to try to limit themselves to one per day at least. It allows other people's to remain a little longer.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

badtaste
July 10th 2008


824 Comments


Nice and funny review, but could have done with less asterisks. It's also not often that you see the word 'faggots' in a review either (I wonder why...).

taylormemer
July 10th 2008


4944 Comments


Not that funny to be honest.

Essence
July 10th 2008


3587 Comments


I cannot help but wonder why you would reccomend pop albums when reviewing black metal....
Also, try to swear a lot less. It takes away credit from your review.

HeadCharge123
July 10th 2008


475 Comments


This album does have some similarities to Snow Patrol's "Songs For Polar Bears" though.

rasputin
July 10th 2008


14555 Comments


This album does have some similarities to Snow Patrol's "Songs For Polar Bears" though.

Well, if this album sounds anything like their later albums, then no, it doesn't.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy