Textbook Traitors
You Pull the Strings That Make Us Dance


4.5
superb

Review

by Will IV USER (5 Reviews)
July 7th, 2008 | 41 replies | 7,431 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: While their future is unsure, their sound will unmistakably last.

5 of 7 thought this review was well written

"Orgiastic" was the first adjective that came to mind while listening to the Textbook Traitors, a hardcore band from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The next adjective, and equally applicable, was "passionate." This is, most likely, one of the most passionate bands you will ever hear, and by that, i mean passion spews, much like the singer's screams, in fits of emotion. With a similar style to bands such as Orchid and Pg. 99, the Textbook Traitors are set apart by their uncanny ability to blend chaos, spasticity, and danceable melody. The five artists that make up the Textbook Traitors produce everything you could ask for in a hardcore album. You Pull the Strings That Make Us Dance is a six song, fifteen minute whirlwind of emotion.

The production on this album is flawless. While the bass is certainly quiet, it's just loud enough to offset the shrilling guitars and piercing screams; the perfect mix for a hardcore album. "Siamese Separation Catastrophe" features dueling vocals that attack the listener from, seemingly, either side of you. The third track is definitely a stand-out. "Force Fed Voices" is a perfect fusion of meaningful lyrics, catchy instrumentation, and the aforementioned passion, with an ending that will be sure to send chills down your spine.

Right away, "Fine Day to Die" knocks you off your feet with the intensity this band is oh so good at. The drums are really top-notch throughout, from the groovy beats in "From Counting to Calculus" that build up to a crushingly epic chorus, to the insane technicality in "Anatomy of a Teenage Hit List." The only complaint musicianship wise would have to be the bass, which follows the guitars note for note, save one or two special moments like in "Anatomy of a Teenage Hitlist" where the instruments die off until a bass line glides the music into a memorable breakdown.

There is not one single song on the EP that lags. Even the final track, "This is My Speech Act," is certainly not one you should overlook; it ends in perfect, haunting conclusion, and leaves you breathless and wanting more. If ever there was an overlooked hardcore band, it would be this one. While their future is unsure, their sound will unmistakably last. Fans of Orchid, prepare to be blown away with the Textbook Traitors, so put on "Force Fed Voices" and crank that sh*t up!


user ratings (13)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
foreverendeared
July 7th 2008



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

my first review in 3 years. hopefully i've gotten better.
also i know the review is a tad short, but the album is only 15 minutes long.... so yeah. i might bump this to a 5 to be honestThis Message Edited On 07.07.08

thesystemisdown
July 7th 2008



412 Comments


This is an LP not an EP? Is it just me or are albums getting shorter these days? In
general it seems like bands are just getting skimpier and skimpier on music... the
new Opeth was like under an hour long... watch Tools next album be 50 minutes
long with 30 minutes of it being filler tracks in the vein of "Message to Harry
Manback" or the second half of 10,000 DaysThis Message Edited On 07.07.08

ultradolphins
July 8th 2008



47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really enjoy this. Its a good quick listen and fun to drive too. It pretty much standard emo stuff but yes very passionate. I think Orchid is better at least on the later albums due to a little more artiness though

foreverendeared
July 8th 2008



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is an LP not an EP? Is it just me or are albums getting shorter these days? In
general it seems like bands are just getting skimpier and skimpier on music... the
new Opeth was like under an hour long... watch Tools next album be 50 minutes
long with 30 minutes of it being filler tracks in the vein of "Message to Harry
Manback" or the second half of 10,000 Days

if you read the review you would see i mention this as an EP although there's really no way of knowing because there is absolutley NO information on these guys at all out there. but anyways bands like this don't really have the money to record hour long albums. but reguardless, how was the review? i haven't written one in a LONGass time and the first one was quite sub-standard.This Message Edited On 07.08.08

foreverendeared
July 8th 2008



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really enjoy this. Its a good quick listen and fun to drive too. It pretty much standard emo stuff but yes very passionate. I think Orchid is better at least on the later albums due to a little more artiness though

i'm glad you enjoy this. unfortunately, most likely no one else on this sight will either read this review, or check out the music

HeadCharge123
July 8th 2008



475 Comments


I probably won't listen to this because it doesn't seem my thing. Good review though and I've pos'd.

foreverendeared
July 8th 2008



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks! i DO get some love on this sight!ha. but yeah, you might want to try one song out just to hear the drummer. it's some pretty awesome stuff

HeadCharge123
July 8th 2008



475 Comments


fancy sending me a song then?
kane_coops@hotmail.co.ukThis Message Edited On 07.08.08

ultradolphins
July 8th 2008



47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you might get more love if this was in the emo section
(which it now is)
But yeah i guess this isnt like french enough or something to have people salivate over itThis Message Edited On 07.08.08

foreverendeared
July 8th 2008



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you might get more love if this was in the emo section
(which it now is)
But yeah i guess this isnt like french enough or something to have people salivate over it

haha yeah pretty much. sed non Satiata is pretty good though i must admit.
fancy sending me a song then?

sure thing. i'll have to do it later today though


HeadCharge123
July 8th 2008



475 Comments


haha thats fine

Willie
Moderator
July 8th 2008



15897 Comments


Sounds like it could be good. At 15 minutes it should be over before it gets boring, at least. I'll see if I can track it down.
The review wasn't bad, but it doesn't look like you wrote it in word or any other program that may have caught common mistakes.

Edit: Oh yeah, and if you're going to underline band names then you might as well make them links to their band page on this site instead. Just replace the "i" with an "l". Then you could put the songs in quotes so as to avoid the "bolding" nazis.This Message Edited On 07.08.08

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

foreverendeared
July 8th 2008



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good tips and yeah i didn't have access to Word so i had to go back to my middle school roots. i guess they didn't pay off haha

Willie
Moderator
July 8th 2008



15897 Comments


Much better. I'll try to track this down after work.

foreverendeared
July 8th 2008



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

DO IT!

foreverendeared
July 8th 2008



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha thats fine

k dude, sent it

robin
Emeritus
July 8th 2008



4247 Comments


nice review, though i'm assuming i should probably listen to the recommended bands first or something... maybe.

HeadCharge123
July 8th 2008



475 Comments


Thanks i'll have a listen in a minute

HeadCharge123
July 8th 2008



475 Comments


It's OK but nothing too special IMO. I've only listened to it once however, and will give it a couple of proper listens later.

foreverendeared
July 8th 2008



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice review, though i'm assuming i should probably listen to the recommended bands first or something... maybe

not necessarily true.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy