Mastodon
Remission


4.5
superb

Review

by metalmaniac54 USER (1 Reviews)
June 23rd, 2005 | 58 replies | 9,173 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist


1 of 5 thought this review was well written

4.5- Kickass

Brann Dailor- Drums
Troy Sander- Bass and Vocals
Brent Hinds- Guitar and Vocals
Bill Kelliher- Lead Guitar

Their first major release after lifesblood. As this cd demonstrates, they are a band to be reckoned with. I first heard these guys on comcast cable's metal station, the song March of the Fire Ants, and i was immediately hooked. Bill Keliher's guitar playing style is so crazy and all over that you never seem to know what is going to happen next. To back that up is the extraodinary and strange drumming tactics of Brann Dailor, with drum fills every five seconds and an all-over-the-place feel. Then there is the singer, strange and yet it holds a musical quality all its own. One of the things that makes Mastodon so interesting is the fact that they dont get caught up in genres, they are their own stlye, they dont define, which is what most bands should do. Probably my favorite band- anyway on with the cd review.

1.Crusher Destroyer-3.5- Beginning with the sound of a mastodons scream, this song is raw and in your face like most songs by Mastodon. The feel of this song is pretty much close to the intro- prehistoric-primordial-barbarix. And it really works in this aspect.


2. March of the Fire Ants-4.5- masterpiece song, also one of their most famous. Starting out with a simple catchy riff, it progresses into a guitar melodic with the singer, making it much more appealing than it even seems.

3. Where Strides the Behemoth-4- much like the first two, with an interesting intro.

4. Workhorse-3- Nothing really special- some domineering qualities but nothing to rave about. Usually skip this one.

5. Ole' Nessie-4.5- Great epic ballad. A beauty in form, including some very interesting, and melodic guitaring.

6. Burning Man- 3- like Workhorse this isn't that special, a little sloppy- seems like a cheap recorded song that would be included on a demo.

7. Trainwreck-4-Intro of a train- ends up brutal and extreme, one of the things that make this album worth it.

8. Trampled Under Hoof-3.5- nothing special but it does have a good feel and mood to it, i usually skip this one.

9. Trilobyte-4- moody, and extremely progressive in terms of guitaring. Starts somber and gloomy and in the end sounds extreme and powerful.

10. Mother Puncher-5- a perfect song- best on the album definitely. From it's seemingly simple first riff (i tried to figure it out and the way i did is actually hard) to it's melodic but heavy guitar. I could play this song over and over.

11. Elephant Man-5- Mastodon's signature slow, instrumental ending to their works. A great way to end this cd. The most beautiful song probably only matched by Leviathan's Joseph Merrick.


Over all- 4 KICKASS
this cd is no doubt a worthy entry into metal history. A kick in the face by a band who deserves to be way bigger than they currently are. Beautiful music form, great riffs (unfortunately Kelliher decides to elave most solos out) kinetic drumming full of energy and brutality. And of course the strange lyrics and melodic singing of Troy and Brent. If you dont have this cd- get it- if you do- i commend you. It never leaves my cd player for even a brief second. The only problem with this album is that it is a little sloppy when compared to Leviathan, it still makes for a great addition to any metalhead's collection.


user ratings (1684)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
masada
June 23rd 2005



2733 Comments


Mastodon's "Trampled Under Hoof"

Led Zeppelin's "Trampled Under Foot"

Har har har... pretty good review, although I like the other review much better.

NEDM
June 23rd 2005



1113 Comments


Pretty good review but I need wayyyyy more info on each song. Mastodon rocks by the way.

XxDEATHBLOOMSxX
June 23rd 2005



58 Comments


ill be getting this soon

Leviathan rocks

metalmaniac54
June 23rd 2005



47 Comments


thanx for the feedback- this was my first review and i appreciate all the advice.

RideTheLedPantera
February 14th 2006



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The begining of Crusher Destroyer is not a Mastodon> its actually a sample of the T-rex scream from Jurrasic Park.
If you want to listen for yourself, the scream is roughly located around the part of the movie where the T-rex rolls the vehicle with the kids in it.

The review was okay.........I never skip tracks.

Confessed2005
April 24th 2006



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'Elephant Man' is incredible - has an awesome solo. Has anybody heard 'Linus & Lucy' by Mastodon? I am not sure if it is them, I just downloaded it. it isn't a typical Mastodon song; it is just a jam session in a rock style. Very good though.

matt4
April 25th 2006



14 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is amazing. It took me a while to "get it", if you will. But about the third time through, it all clicked; I was blown away. I love every second of it now. Brann Dailor is now like my second favorite drummer (being second to Daney Carrey isn't a bad spot at all!). I have the DCD and Leviathan coming in the mail next week!

dimmub0rgir
July 24th 2006



2 Comments


i love this album


ChrisAdlerisGod
August 12th 2006



474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album. Im not sure if i like this or Leviathan more. I was dissappointed with the fact that Troy didnt do his yell thingy ( like in the Blood and Thunder) that was soooooo awesome.
Brann Dailor is such a good drummer. I love the different time signatures he uses and shit like that. I think The two guitarists should play more lead parts, instead of the heavy stuff all the time.

gagnonov
June 18th 2007



45 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

awesome album. their best they'll ever make, cause they're turning shit.

myron
August 17th 2007



7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hey, a good metal album!

Trainwreck is the best

robin2220
August 17th 2007



569 Comments


This is the one Mastodon I do not own and I will never get it.

Thor
September 18th 2007



10176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Get it you cunt. It's sick.

Mother Puncher is the one of the most badass songs ever recorded. Like ever.

Radiohead
January 22nd 2008



3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i got mastodon's cover of emerald (thin lizzy) with the cd. :]
ol'e nessie is definitely my favorite on the album.

rosslives727
April 10th 2008



54 Comments


^^^ I LOVE Mastodon and this album in particular, but the Emerald cover is my favorite song on the album. It's just so groovy.

DavidLeeChippy
October 24th 2008



8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I definitely agree that Mother Puncher is the highlight, but I don't really think there are any low points in this album. I never skip a track. This album got me hooked on Mastodon, but I think Blood Mountain is their best.

DBlitz
October 24th 2008



1690 Comments


great stuff, i like this slightly more than leviathan (only other album i have by them). new to the band though, but i have little interest in blood mountain

DavidLeeChippy
November 14th 2008



8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

SERIOUSLY! Check out Blood Mountain. It's really diverse and trippy as hell.

Yazz_Flute
December 21st 2008



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is really good, better than Leviathan (which I think is kinda overrated besides a few awesome songs) but Blood Mountain is their best album.

Digging: Cormorant - Dwellings

AngelPhoenix
December 21st 2008



2764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I finally got around to this, wasn't all that impressed tbqh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy