Coheed and Cambria
The Second Stage Turbine Blade


5.0
classic

Review

by Jared W. Dillon USER (118 Reviews)
June 12th, 2005 | 51 replies | 19,888 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist


5 of 5 thought this review was well written

The Second Stage Turbine Blade
Coheed and Cambria


Playing just over 3 years as Coheed and Cambria the band members, Claudio Sanchez, Travis Stever, Michael Todd, and Joshua Eppard, history doesn't start there. The band goes back to their high school days in New York where they were Shabutie and had a bit of a different member roster. Over time Travis was integrated into the band, then Mike and Josh were added and in late 2000 Coheed and Cambria as we know them today was born.

Before Josh's addition to the band they recorded a two-song demo, which through a mutual friend landed in the hands of the people over at Equal Vision Records.

These demo recording were eventually reworked into their debut album, The Second Stage Turbine Blade, which was released on February 5, 2002.

Second Stage Turbine Blade
The intro track, it is a collection of noises and there really isn't a very related sound to it in comparison to the rest of the album. But it builds up the suspense for the next song. It has a very depressing feel to it but I think it's a great intro track that fades into the next song.
9/10

Time Consumer
The Second Stage Turbine Blade slides right into a very low-key melodic guitar part after it finishes. This guitar pattern continues for about 50 seconds and then we get a build up into the first verse. The verse is powerful with distorted guitars and Claudio belting out some crazy notes (As he always do). After the verse we move into the chorus with establishes the sci-fi edge of the cd with the main line being "me and my star Matthew good night". After some repeating of the verse and the chorus we break into a bridge and then it goes back to the intro piece, with a great solo performed by Dr. Know over it, then we get an incredible build up with Claudio making some great vocal sounds and it bursts back into the chorus. This is a great song lyrically and musically and also a great way to start of the track.
9.5/10

Devil In Jersey City
"Devil in Jersey City" is Coheed & Cambria's most powerful and catchy song to date. It is there first single and I am extremely surprised it wasn't a hit of 2002. This verse is incredibly catchy and the guitar trickles are orgasmic. After the verse we go into "Let's fire it up haha" which is a build up into the incredible chorus. The chorus is a slow sung "Don't let them scare you" followed by an explosion of sound with the lines "When your down on the floor bleeding bastard". In my opinion it is one of the greatest choruses ever composed by a band and it will get anyone singing along to it. We get into some repeating of the verse and the chorus and that it goes into a really slow melodic and soft bridge. Then for the outro we break into screaming and Claudio belting out some really emotional songs. It is incredible and will most likely give you chills the first time you hear it. This is one of my favorites of this album and is probably there most popular song besides "A Favor House Alantic "
10/10

Everything Evil
As Devil In Jersey City ends we break into a great drumbeat and than some great guitar work and lyric work. This is probably one of the easiest songs lyrically to relate to and understand in on this cd. The song has a much more subtle feel as apposed to "Devil in Jersey City" and it seems more "metal" in comparison. The chorus is somewhat of a let down in my opinion since it isn't as powerful lyrically as the rest of the song, although I think it fits perfectly. My favorite lyric in this song is probably the section of "blood hungry cannibalistic untied family ties". Again we break into a very melodic bridge after two repeats of verse in chorus where Claudio breaks out the lines "Stay until Wednesday and write me a child like letter pretending, at War here in Thursday lets make this our last day at home by the fence" These lyrics are extremely well sung and are very lullabyish. Then it breaks into a heavy hitting outro where Claudio is yelling, "Would you run!" with some screaming in the background. Another one of my favorites on the cd just because of it's incredible ending, and great lyrics.
10/10

Delirium Trigger
From the start of this song, you know it's going to be a great hard song. This song contains powerful riffs, Claudio's best lyrical achievement and a very menacing feel. This is in most opinions the highlight of SSTB. Before the chorus we get a very low-key vocal piece by Claudio, which goes "You made a good friend to me but while you were out numbered and torn they made us do things". Then chorus is an explosion of vocals and guitars bliss. After the chorus we go back to the good friends piece and some subtle guitar bass and drum playing. Claudio softly sings a few more low-key lyrics here, before it breaks out into an even heavier version of the chorus with a great build up towards it. One of the most incredible Coheed and Cambria songs in my opinion this is the second best track on the cd in my opinion.
10/10

Hearshot Kid Disaster
After three incredible songs the album has to give you a break. But at the beginning of this one you wouldn't suspect it. We get some heavy guitars and a huge section of screams, but then we break into a very poppy happy feeling song. "Hearshot Kid Disaster" is in my opinion the weakest track on the cd but that doesn't make it a bad song since most of the tracks on here are incredible. The main problem I have with it is the lack of affective lyrics in comparison to the last 3 songs. The highlight lyrically and musically is the transition from a small build-up into the chorus which starts about 2:30 through the song after the transition it breaks into some great guitar work and some great vocal performance by Claudio with some screaming working with him. After this great part it breaks into some very loose feeling riffs and vocals that encompass the idea of the rest of the song. Although I think this is the weakest track on the CD it's still a good listen, it's just sort of a let down after the last three tracks.
8/10

33
This is a very catchy song even though the lyrics are probably the hardest to decipher on the album. It's also one of the shorter more pop-punkish songs on the album. The "Patrick Short Flip" line is extremely confusing but also extremely catchy and one of the most singed lines at there concerts. Most of the song is the same pieces played over and over. Except towards the end when we get a breakdown with the lines "Let go of the youthful honesty". This is probably the most difficult song to get into on the cd, but once you do you'll realize how great it is.
9/10


Junesong Provision

The highlight is here in my opinion. Lyrically, this song is incredible. Vocally, this song is incredible. Musically, this song is incredible. Everything just fits into place on the song and it creates for a truly orgasmic experience. The highlight of this song is probably the lyrics "Is it the dream that one day you might be something you're not? Is it the dreams that make us real". Also another highlight is the ending with the great lyrics "Paper cut my heart in half and discard the evidence" You can hear the emotion pouring out of Claudio and the rest of the band in this part and it's a really amazing musical thing to here. I may seem kind of biased but this song is in my top 10 best songs ever list after the second time I heard it. It is incredible in all its ways and I think if you check out one Coheed song this should be it.
10/10

Neverender
This song starts of with the bass highlight of the album. Then it goes into a great verse with some really powerful lyrics. The chorus has some great vocal work done by Claudio, although is probably the least catchy chorus in the entire album. The song's beginning is mostly not very loud. The save the powerful part of the song for the end starting of with the lines "point your gun in another direction now that you've cried yourself to sleep" Then it comes into the second best ending in the album with some really powerful lyrics and guitar work. This helps keep up with the 3 great ending songs that "Junesong Provision" started.
10/10

God Send Conspirator
If you ever get the chance you should check out the original demo of this song, in my opinion it takes it and makes it even better. Still this is a great ending piece to the album. It follows Neverender in the fact that most of it is pretty quiet until the ending which explodes in the line "Your dreams can't last forever". The ending is one of the better on the album and the "When eye meets eye" part is classic. Another great track alluding to the finale of the album "I Robot".
10/10


I Robot

Coheed and Cambria totally change there sound on this track. They break into a very acoustic beautiful and enchanting song. The lyrics are quite amazing in this song and so is the vocal performance. The best part in my opinion is the ending with the fading out acoustic and the piano in the background. Although it is a secret track it is one of the best songs on the album along with Junesong Provision, Delirium Trigger, and Devil in Jersey City. If you want to download a couple of the tracks this should be one.
10/10

The Second Stage Turbine Blade is the best pop-punk album in the history of pop-punk. It is original, catchy, and overall extremely intelligent in its musical and lyrical aspects. This is one cd you do not want to miss.

5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Pygmy Lush Old FriendsPharoahe Monch W.A.R.
My Disco Little JoyBlack Milk Album Of The Year
Sun Kil Moon Admiral Fell PromisesFlying Lotus Cosmogramma
user ratings (1931)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
biografiend
June 12th 2005



55 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is one of my favorite albums ever, period. From Junesong Provision on is so breathtaking and amazing and beautiful and raw. amazing.

Usually when I mention my love of this CD people are like "Coheed? there goes all your cred" but this album is nothing like the poppy, bad, 3 chord only mainstream times they had in IKSSE. It is extremely well written musically and lyrically.

wonderful review. This Message Edited On 06.12.05

pixiesfanyo
June 12th 2005



1222 Comments


IKSSE is a good album as well.

It isn't as classic as this, but still.

yellowvinyl
June 12th 2005



33 Comments


I might buy this album. I quite liked what I heard of the previous one.

marsvolta
June 12th 2005



64 Comments


no way this is pop punk....and see this band live. they own your friggin face.

biografiend
June 12th 2005



55 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

IKSSE is a good album as well.

It isn't as classic as this, but still.


very true. maybe I overreacted with 'bad'. IKSSE is enjoyable, but I think that they took a step backwards somewhat musically with IKSSE from what they had in the Shabutie ep and SSTB. I'm looking forward to their new album to see what they sound like.

BlackAxe88
June 13th 2005



4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Coheed and Cambria revolutionized the way I listen to music. They tore me from the strangle hold in which I was trapped at the hands of such bands as blink-182 and Green Day. They showed me that music can be more than just notes thrown together; it can be an unreal, almost supernatural experience. And Claudio's voice. . . It almost makes me want to cry.

Best album in the history of man.

By the way... whoever wrote this review, what's up with calling Coheed and Cambria pop-punk? They are so not pop-punk it makes me want to kill you or something like that. Not really... But seriously they are the utter countercurrent to pop-punk.

pixiesfanyo
June 13th 2005



1222 Comments


They have distinctive pop-punk features.


You are wrong.

masada
July 3rd 2005



2733 Comments


The only song that I have heard from this is "Devil in Jersey City," and it owns.

Good review.

The Musician
July 21st 2005



17 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Songs off of this album get stuck in my head everyday, with the intense guitars going at it at times, then a deluge of calm, quiet, and subdued security comes in. I believe this CD is a classic, and is just the first godly product that has come from the minds of these men.

Society Sellout
August 7th 2005



292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Truely an amazing album. Just got this yesterday and have listened to it a couple of times and am still trying to absorb it all. I bought IKSOSE3 first and thought it was good but SSTB makes it pale in comparision.

headlessbutthead
October 4th 2005



1 Comments


is I robot a hidden track?

Damrod
Moderator
October 4th 2005



1093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It is. It come somewhere about... I don't know, 5 minutes after God Sent Conspirator ends

Aw3someman
November 1st 2005



24 Comments


Good Review. Ok album. Above average but nothing excellent IMO. In Devils in New Jersey i can't really, first of all, tell what the f#$@ they're saying. Then it is too metaphorical. In fact the entire album is full of metaphors. It kinda gets annoying. However I must give props to CoCa for their excellent music in this album. The music perfectly complements the lyrics. Not the best CoCa album.
Edit: Haha i changed the rating to 4.5 with my rate. This Message Edited On 11.01.05

ChairMaker
December 25th 2005



23 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wow, great review. good seeing a meaningful review with lots of detail. most likely one of the best albums on my cd rack, always a good listen whenever, wherever-i recently started to learn some of the songs on my guitar and now i cant get them out of my head. once you get over the singing youll love them.

x tear.from.the.red x
January 24th 2006



5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

great review!!! this album is a classic. hearing it has me hooked on coheed forever. they are an unbelievable band, and one of the only ones to never lose thier talent integrity or intesity over their musical career . ive loved them for four years and will for another 10 at least. gentlemen, you have my utmost respect

Cravinov13
January 24th 2006



3854 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The only thing I don't like about this CD is the hippy happy mood they have in it. I liked them a lot more when they wen't darker with the other two albums. IMO IKSOTSE: 3 is the best.

halfdeadhippo
February 5th 2006



52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is my favorite album of theirs, and one of my favorite of all time. It's just a very well put together cd.

NemoGrinder
March 19th 2006



8 Comments


Aw3someman, It isn't full of metaphores. All of Coheed and Cambria's songs tell a HUGE story. The story is actually a sci fi graphic novel that claudio (the singer) is writing. very big and complicated, I believe at the moment 3 comics have been released. the first two books cover pretty much just the first two tracks in SSTB. the third book jumps way ahead and is about good appolo vol 1. (they were released at the same time). its a really messed story but there are plenty of forums discussing it, including the official fourm on co&ca's site where claudio actually goes on and gives hints as to whats going on. trying to figure out the story TOTALLY makes the music that much better. ya just thought I'd mentiuon that because a lot of people didn't know that

Concubine
March 19th 2006



333 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cravinov, i find that IKSOTSE 3 is somewhat inconsistent... Yes, it has more "darker" moments you might say, but the poppy songs like A Favor House Atlantic, Three Evils and Blood Red Summer kinda spoil the overall feel of the album i think.... As for this album, it's excellent....

pixiesfanyo
March 19th 2006



1222 Comments


NemoGrinder.

I think everyone knew that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy