Darkthrone
A Blaze in the Northern Sky


5.0
classic

Review

by Freezing Moon USER (5 Reviews)
June 6th, 2005 | 352 replies


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist


(Black Metal) Darkthrone - A Blaze In The Northern Sky

A Blaze In The Northern Sky is Darkthrone's first Black Metal album released in 1992. This album was the first of their Black Metal era, and their transition from Death to Black. It still has some Death Metal qualities (if only a few) which were basically eliminated on the following two releases.


The production of black metal in general really puts some people off. However, the production on this album should be looked at differently. When somebody new to black metal begins to listen to this album, they should remember that the best production is not always crystal clear and flawless. Everything that is happening can be clearly heard, but it is soaked in a nice layer of fuzz. The vocals are distanced from the music, the guitar tone is nice and thick, the drums pound away, and the bass fills it all out. This would probably be my number two pick for Favorite Black Metal Production (right behind Filosofem.)

To the newcomer, there is nothing wrong with this album or the production, it's just the sound of your ears losing their virginity to Black Metal.

Transylvanian Hunger is often people's introduction to the band, but in my opinion, this album is superior. Even though it doesn't bother me, i can see people getting tired of the repetition on Transylvanian Hunger. It creates a great hypnotic atmosphere, but not everyone can appreciate this. ABITNS, however, has more variation and is easier to listen to straight through.

The bass isn't very special on this album, but it is present. People complain of Black Metal not having enough bass, but it's there to fill out the sound, and it does that well on this album. It's not very prominent until you think what it would sound like with no low end at all.

The vocals on this album are a high point. The way they are soaked in reverb and distanced from the music inspired tons of black metal to come. You can hear the raw emotion and hate pouring out through each and every screech and scream, just the way it should be.

The drums get the job done, and that's what counts (Especially in BM).

This album is an absolute classic. The production is perfect for the album, and the atmosphere is also perfect. Without too much repetition, this isn't as hard to listen to as some of their later work. This album deserves a 5/5 even if just for being such a classic and influental release.

Recommended listening (My Personal Favorites):
In The Shadow of The Horns
Paragon Belial


user ratings (845)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
br3ad_man
Emeritus
June 6th 2005


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review mate. This is the only Darkthrone album I have and it deserves 5/5 for being a classic. The actual content of the album, however, I would give a 3.5/5. It's good stuff.

I like the way that some of the songs have a bit of groove to them. Fenriz's drumming is pretty decent.

It would be nice of you to add a tracklist and album cover.

Freezing Moon
June 6th 2005


63 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I have a tracklist in there, and sort of forgot about an album cover :- .

Are these things edit-able? Also, why does it say it's Death Metal on the main page?

/edit, nevermind I figured it outThis Message Edited On 06.06.05

br3ad_man
Emeritus
June 6th 2005


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It says Death Metal because thats the only extreme style they have under Metal. I wish everything would just go under Metal.

Ad Absurdum
June 6th 2005


44 Comments


Good review. This is one of my all-time favourite BM albums, not technically impressive by any means but there's something I just feel from Darkthrone's music that I can't get enough of. 5 stars from me.

Arrakakaka
November 20th 2005


685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Holy balls this is amazing. This album introduced me to Darkthrone. Wow, am I impressed.

Aakon_Keetreh
December 22nd 2005


448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this cd is very impressive, i love it


Shadows
Moderator
December 22nd 2005


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My favorite Darkthrone album by far. Production aside, this album had the more creative writing that set it apart from their later albums.

Freezing Moon
January 22nd 2006


63 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Updated the review.

Thor
January 28th 2006


10200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gotta love this album. Kathaarian Life Code is my favorite Darkthrone song as of late.

GuitaristPaul
February 19th 2006


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sweetness

Aakon_Keetreh
February 21st 2006


448 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nice update!

Thor
February 21st 2006


10200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree with you in that this album is superior to TH. I just seem to listen to this one much more.

Hammerheart
February 22nd 2006


25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is definitley my favorite darkthrone album, and quite possibly my favorite black metal album. Good review.

Hammerheart
February 22nd 2006


25 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is definitley my favorite darkthrone album, and quite possibly my favorite black metal album. Good review.

Thor
March 3rd 2006


10200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is my favorite raw and traditional black metal album, but I've always been more attracted to the melodic black metal albums more, especially Emperor and Dissection.

Apocalyptic Raids
March 4th 2006


810 Comments


Great album, my favourite Darkthrone.

Nice review fag

XhalX
March 9th 2006


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

awesome review!!!!

Thor
March 9th 2006


10200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love good reviews that are short, and this is one of them.

Darkthrone, mmmmmmm....

Werny
May 28th 2006


148 Comments


I've listened to two songs and I feel the need to say this;

"The drums get the job done, and that's what counts (Especially in BM)."

No. The drumming in TH is "getting the job done". Fenriz's drumming on this is so much more, he does some astoundingly unique stuff on here and gives the music a sense of chaos that you can't find in most other black metal. He's a legend, too bad he dumbed his playing down.

Apocalypticon
November 22nd 2006


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome album and review. This album is second only to Transylvanian Hunger. This Message Edited On 11.22.06



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy