Thrice
The Artist in the Ambulance


4.0
excellent

Review

by Damrod EMERITUS
June 1st, 2005 | 445 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


Most have already heard about Thrice on one way or another. If not, you should fill that educational gap... ;) 'The Artist in the Ambulance' is the third full lenght album by the band, and was released in 2003. Roughly the music of Thrice can be described as melodic Hardcore/Post-core.

Some general impressions:
Musically, I would have expected nothing less than showed here by Thrice. A for this genre absolut great bass player in combination with great drumming, dual guitar work on a high level, and good vocals. The singing got better on this one IMO, though it was not bad on the previous album for my likes. But the clean parts come over better, the screamed parts are on the same level as on the previous record. The only thing that could spoil the overall impression of the musical work is the simplified guitar work. Maybe simplified is not the right word, but what disapeared a bit here are the guitar leads that underlined and set the overall mood on 'The Illusion of Safety'. The guitars follow more ordinary patterns now, in a way.

A major thing I noticed is the general 'darker' mood of the record. Many passages of songs from 'The Illusion of Safety' marked something like a little sunrise in the overall feel of the album. On TAitA, the mood is much more melancholic. Don't think now you can await 'whiny emo lyrics' (like some would put it) though. The topics of the lyrics spread from social criticism ('Cold Cash and Colder Hearts' for example) to autobiographic material ('Stare at the Sun'). All on a high level IMO, with nteresting use of metaphors ('Melting point of Wax', for example, is using the picture of Icarus)

What was good:
Everytime I listen to this album, I'm suprised anew by the nice basslines. Use of octaves, unvonventional patterns, excellent fills. Good examples for that are 'Stare at the sun', 'The Melting point of wax' or the title track. The material is played very tight, and shows good energy. No real down points in the middle of the album. Nice is also the occasional use of strings etc in the background to set accents or underline certain moods. The end of 'The Abolition of Man' is absolute great speaking of guitar.

What was not so good:
But this is where the downsides kick in. More guitar work like on 'The Abolition of Man' would have been great. I really got the hang of it on 'The Illusion of Safety', and it is missed on some spots of the album. Apart from that, I have nothing more to 'mock' about.

Summary:
If you'Re into this genre, 'The Artist in the Ambulance' is a album that won't leave many wishes open. I have this album since early 04, and it sneaks into my playlist again every now and then (as well as 'The Illusion of Safety'). This surely counts to one of my 'all time favorites' that gets played over and over again even after years.

The only let down is the somewhat drastic reduced lead guitar that was present on 'The Illusion of Safety'. Apart from that I would not know what could speak against this album (not counting personal preferences in). The musicianship is on a high level, the instrumental use as well as the lyrics. Still, I like the previous album just a tiny little bit better. So, in the end, I'll give out 4 stars.

Final rating: 4/5



Recent reviews by this author
Polar Bear Club Clash Battle Guilt PrideDown-Stares Cobras And Matadors
Unearth The MarchThe Psyke Project Apnea
In This Moment The DreamThis Is Hell Sundowning
user ratings (2466)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
duncan67
June 1st 2005


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review. I agree with you on the guitar parts, and i also feel the production was slightly lacking in some places, like 'Under A Killing Moon'. It just doesn't feel sharp enough, like it did on 'The Illusion Of Safety'. But a great album nonetheless.

supraman_2
June 2nd 2005


146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Paper Tigers is one of their best songs ever
I've heard most of these songs and plan to get this album. Good review

Sep
June 2nd 2005


297 Comments


Nice review. I like this album. Paper Tigers and The Abolition Of Man are my favorites.

I rated this a 3.5/5.This Message Edited On 06.02.05

cbmartinez
June 2nd 2005


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A good album, more metal. But definitely not as good as The Illusion Of Safety. My favorite tracks are, "Silhouette," "Paper Tigers," "The Artist In The Ambulance," and "Cold Cash And Colder Hearts."

Hellraiser
June 23rd 2005


23 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

All the songs sound the same. The singer and the guitaist need to be more diverse.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
June 24th 2005


3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Do you mean to say "I need to learn to suck my own wang" because it seems like you haven't even listened the album with a comment like that.

OOPERS
June 26th 2005


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If the song "Artist In The Ambulance" was a person i'd probly of tried to fuck it by now!

I think the simplified guitaring comment is a bit harsh as the still have some amazing riffs, like the lead part in "Stare At The Sun"

Cheers anyway though, good review!

waronpeace
August 19th 2005


11 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

LOL, dFelon, well put, this album is amazing in the regards the songs DO sound different, dustin is an amazing singer, eddie is a masterbasser. everyone listen to the intro of stare into the sun and here the bass line, its incredible and teppei still does good in the album even if hes not living up to the illusion of safety. dustin does great in lyrics and screaming, espec in paper tigers, thats the song i prac my screaming to. anyways this is THE post-hardcore band most bands try to live up to.

spoon_of_grimbo
September 10th 2005


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

got this album today. took a few listens to sink in, but its great.

Shattered_Future
September 10th 2005


1540 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is a brilliant album...great vocals, drums, bass, guitar, everything.

I bought this as an impulse buy after hearing their single on the radio and i was blown away...it completely exceeded my expectations.

TheBurntOrange
September 10th 2005


24 Comments


great.

Riley12988
September 22nd 2005


109 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

New single up on Purevolume... can't tell whether I like it or hate it yet. I did expect something like this though.

CushMG15
October 7th 2005


1802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea, this album rocks. Hard. Definitely darker, i agree.

I miss those leads a lot, too. But i think the guitar work on this fits the album better, what with the melancholy all over the place.


As for their new stuff, I like the single and what I've heard off of the "podcasts" or whatever. Its a lot different from TAITA...and in a different way than "TAITA is different from IOS" Very experimental...but anyone who bought the DVD and heard the bootleg of So Strange I Remember should have seen something like this coming, IMO.

RomoCosmo14
November 10th 2005


67 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

uh... you have "what was good" twice....

other wise, nice review

Damrod
Moderator
November 11th 2005


1093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

*emberrased*

True indeed :upset:

Edited

theshapeofpunktocome
November 13th 2005


49 Comments


I'm no way into Thrice but I love Cold Cash And Cold Hearts, it's even made it's way onto my iPod

Pizza
December 22nd 2005


687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that was a really good review. great album too.

ktstein
January 18th 2006


438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes!This Message Edited On 01.18.06

cbmartinez
January 31st 2006


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I find myself listening to this album alot lately and almost rediscovering my love for it. I always thought it was a good CD but didn't touch IOS. But lately, I find it to be one of those CDs that never grows old.

StormX
February 27th 2006


13 Comments


This album is amazing. The lyrics are the some of the best I've ever heard. The fact that a band in the post-hardcore(I guess?) genre can write such deep and well thought lyrics suprised me. And I love the guitar work too.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy