Gorillaz
Demon Days


4.5
superb

Review

by Holyed USER (1 Reviews)
May 24th, 2005 | 86 replies | 13,397 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


8 of 8 thought this review was well written

Well here we go, my first review. I have been meaning to do one for a while and this looked like the best opportunity.

This album arrived in the post this morning, along with Maximo Park's new one, of while I shall do a review on when I can too.

Gorillaz were an orinigal music concept who burst onto the music scene in the UK in spring 2001 with the hit 'Clint Eastwood,' which some would say over-shadowed the actual album they released soon afterwards. Behind the amazing imaginative graphics created by Jamie Hewlett, the music was composed on the first album mainly by the two artists; Damon Albarn from Blur (who sings as 2D) and Dan 'The Automator' Nakamura, whom pulled the whole project together.
However, 2005 brings about a new era in the Gorillaz life, with Nakamura out, and DJ Dangermouse, whom is most famous for mixing together Jay Z's black album with Beatles' White Album, to create the 'Grey Album.' With the new team assembled, they embarked on the recording of 'Demon Days.'

End of the crap, heres the Album:

1. Intro : As intros go on albums, there is nothing that can be really said either way, with an interesting mix of strings and mixed voices, its a nice atmospheric build up to the first main track of the album.

2. Last Living Souls : This is a great introduction, with quite a slow feel, which seems to be the theme of the album. The bass in this song is very catchy, once again a theme throughout, and off a good set of speakers, there is a great feel to it. Damon's voice is first heard too, and although there is not much lyric to the song, his voice adds to the atmosphere. 9/10 - Top notch song.

3. Kids with Guns : Another pretty simple, almost instrumental song, carrying I guess a strong message behind it, placed into a rather comical fashion. The bass is very noteable, and a nice peaceful guitar riff amongst the use of backing vocals and the 'easy does it' breakdown is incredibly catchy. 8/10

4. O Green World - Another instrumental type song, like its predecessor. This song is slightly more up-tempo than the first two tracks, and features a greater use of Damon's lyrics. Dj Dangermouse does a good job of creating a solid backing drum track, that fits with the feel of the song very well. Perhaps slightly repetitive by the end, but its a nice background track, if listening to the album straight through.
7.5/10 - Perhaps one of the weaker tracks, but still very nice.

5. Dirty Harry - The first of my favourites off the album, based obviously on the Clint Eastwood film title, a very nice bassline carries this song right through. The first use of the backing choir/chorus that is evident in later tracks, adds to the feel of the track well, providing a tune that stays in your head for a while. The break down at 2.00 leads into a intense rap by Bootie Brown, which adds a nice change to the song, and fits well. 9.5/10 - A very, very good track.

6. Feel Good Inc. - Well I won't spend too long on this track, as its the one thats been released, by I was completely taken aback by this song (especially the bassline) and the intrancing video. The addition of De La Soul works very well, and the breakdowns with 'windmill, windwall' are very nice, and add variety. 10/10 - The song that made me pre-order this album

7. El Manana - My favourite slower track off the album at the moment, the rather slow 'trip-hop' beat used by Dangermouse works well with the slow tempo of the track, and Damon's mesmorising vocals help this song along very well, with a great chorus and use of samples. 9/10

8. Every Planet we reach is dead - Well, a funky introduction with the bass and electric guitar starts this song off very well. The use of backing singers works incredibly well in this song with Damon's voice, and I actaully enjoy the lyrics in this, with the theme of the song being very interesting. This is also the longest track on the album, and unlike 'O Green World,' which gets repetitive, this song manages to hold the interest right to the end, with the 'jazz' feel and varying instruments. 9.5/10 - My favourite 'instrumental-type' track.

9. November has come - This is one of the weaker songs on the album, or perhaps I have just skipped over it whilst listening, but apart from Martina Topley Bird's deep voice between Damon's, its a pretty plain peaceful soul track that doesn't last long. 6.5/10 - A nice track, but again one of the weaker ones.

10. All Alone - Another candidate for my favourite song off the album, the brilliant riff at the beginning with the use of vocal sample adds to a great start (the voice is sped up, but is not used excessivly like Akon or Kanye West,) so it doesn't get annoying. With Dangermouses slightly more 'breakbeat' rhythm of this song, comes the great rapping skills of Roots Manuva who adds so much to this track and manages to successfully challenge De La Soul's efforts on Feel Good Inc. Theres a nice break half way, which then goes back into the main tune. 10/10 - I believe this should be the next released song.

11. White Light - Another 'filler' track like November has come, although I prefer the more up-tempo feel of this track until it dies again half way (although it comes back again), but I guess it adds variety to the feel of the album. Nothing amazingly special, but a solid 'fill' track lasting just over two minutes, although I get the feeling these two tracks were placed in between some of the best on purpose. 8/10.

12. Dare - This was the first track when I listened to the album first that hit me in the balls, with the great 'Its Dare' introduction in a London accent, this song holds together so well. The bass line is once again top-notch, and the funky up-beat feel is used with great vocal lines that work in and out of each other very well. 10/10 - A great 'head-nodding' track, that lasts its well deserved 4 minutes.

13. Fire coming out of the Monkey's Head - Well this is a strange track...but I love it! The three minute track tells the story of a strange occurence in a peaceful community, with the story-words of Dennis Hopper throughout. Dangermouse provides a great backing for Hopper, with a solid beat and catchy bass and guitar line, and vocals; in a way which reminds me of tracks of the orinigal album, perhaps the 'typical' Gorillaz sound now. Damon provides a great use of vocal and guitar in the breakdowns between readings. This song is great fun. 9.5/10

14. Don't Get lost in Heaven - Well this is a short 'interlude' is a good use of the Gospel choir is features, and does literally make you feel up in the sky. Theres not that much to say, but it manages in my opinion, to beat tracks 9 & 11 as a 'interlude' track between the longer songs. 8.5/10 - a new peacful 'calm-down' to the album.

15. Demon Days - Well we have finally got there, the final track of the album, and its the same as the album title, wow. It is a nice track, but very annoyingly, isn't the end to this great, solid album I would have hoped for, with quite a mixed, slow-tempo and atomospheric ending, although the now typical way to end albums, could have been produced better to leave the listener with something to remeber. It does pick up a rather 'reggae' feel, with the use of the gospel choir again, like track 14 and I guess its a 'nice' ending. 7.5/10 - Not one of my favourites, but its a peaceful track.

Well that's it, sorry it was a bit long, but I have been listening to this all day, and have enjoyed it thoroughly. By the way! You HAVE to check out the art-work in cover, every track as its on 'sheet,' of which have been excellently drawn.

Great album.


user ratings (1966)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Jared Floryan (5)
"...And then came a sound. Distant first, it grew into castrophany so immense it could be heard far ...

Clumpy (4)
Finally, someone let me outta my cage. . ....

John weathered old reviewer Hanson STAFF (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Damrod
Moderator
May 24th 2005



1093 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not bad for a first review. I like it.

Might gve this album a test drive these days, as I like 'Feel Good Inc'.

Again, nice review :thumb:

DBL BASS HAMMA
May 24th 2005



11 Comments


Sounds great I have always liked the Gorillaz, now I just got to go pick up the album.

ajd
May 24th 2005



1 Comments


I'll be getting this one then...

Med57
Moderator
May 24th 2005



1001 Comments


Good review. I'd give it about 3.5/5 personally...got it yesterday, and it's pretty good stuff. They're a very inventive band.

woofwoofwoof
May 24th 2005



156 Comments


I believe it is "assembled," not "essembled."

Jawaharal
May 24th 2005



1832 Comments


feel good inc owns. nice review ill go buy it

biografiend
May 24th 2005



55 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, especially for your first one . I really like Feel Good Inc., and reading this makes me eager to check out the rest of the album.

Little Man being Erased
May 24th 2005



87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep, good review. You may want to take a little more time and use grammar and spell check to make it easier to read next time.

I really like this album. I agree with most of your song ratings, except "November Has Come." MF Doom's rapping on that track is great.

Anyhow, I'd probably give this a 4, but I've only listened to it twice so far.

Zesty Mordant
May 25th 2005



1196 Comments


For a first review, that is very well done I must say. Great work.

As for the album, I got it today, but I've yet the chance to really listen to it. I've skimmed through it a bit earlier and it definately sounds a lot bleaker than the debut.

Holyed
May 25th 2005



9 Comments


Yeah sorry about grammar/spelling etc, i rushed the review last night as the album was in my head, i'm supposed to be getting A*s in English, so i failed myself a bit there, but yeah i'll check it next time.

Thanks for the replies though.

Holyed
May 25th 2005



9 Comments


Okay, after reading through the review I decided I might just as well edit it to make it easier to read.

The Ashtray Girl
May 26th 2005



108 Comments


I have the mp3s of this, but I haven't listened to it much yet. This review makes me very inclined to do that, and then go and buy it.

Damon Albarn rocks my socks.

captain chris
May 27th 2005



73 Comments


Gorillaz, i m not a fan i have their first album but it wasnt mind blowingly good, the singles were defo the best tracks on the album in my opinion, (mainly cause i cant remember the rest of them) but "feel good inc" is a very kool song and i love the gorillaz cartoons they r very kool!

smooches xxxThis Message Edited On 05.27.05

ImTheFloor
June 5th 2005



59 Comments


I just got to hear this album today and it was fantastic! The art as well as the music blew me away.

morrissey
Moderator
June 5th 2005



1688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I love this.

smooches xxx

Iai
Emeritus
June 5th 2005



3553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's not as good as I was expecting it to be, but it's a solid, very enjoyable record.

biografiend
June 5th 2005



55 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I finished downloading this a few days ago, and it is a great, solid record, but reminds me alot of Blur's Think Tank.
I really like Feel Good Inc., November Has Come, and All Alone.

Little Man being Erased
June 6th 2005



87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this album even more now.

I'd give it a 4.5 now.

Damrod
Moderator
June 6th 2005



1093 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not bad, I must say.

Have listened to the record in a whole now, and it's good. I doubt though that it'll stay in my playlist long, as it is not quite my type of music I must confess. But I really like 'Feel Good Inc.'.

About... 3.5/5 from me

RomoCosmo14
June 16th 2005



67 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i used to skip over "november" as well, but then i listened to it.. it's actually one of the better songs on the album, in my opinion



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy