Tool
Lateralus


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dancin' Man USER (40 Reviews)
May 6th, 2005 | 36 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


First, let me make it clear. This is not a metal album. It has traits of metal, but so does about every hardcore band. This is not a harcore album either. This is a progressive atmospheric hard rock album. This is also one of the best albums I have ever heard. Sure, my taste for it has faded sine I first started listening to it and the reasons I listen are different, but I still listen and still enjoy. Depending on who you are, this album can convey very different feelings. For some people, this is the heaviest music they listen to and for others, the most chilled out. I have met few people who give this album a mediocre review. People either seem to really like it or more, or hate it, finding it boring, uninspired and packed with filler. I am of the former category.

This album will probably find its way into a small group of classics and lose credibility every day. I used to feel like this was the heaviest most gut wrenching music I had and now, I like to sleep to it. The thumping beats and sometimes near tribal drums can rock (pun) you into a deep sleep almost as well as a post-rock album. Danny Carey's drumming is superb, but no longer do I find it the best. Adam Jones' playing is fitting, but never exceptional. Justin's bass reverberates and sets an excellent mood, but if you take away his effects and knowledge of how to use them (probably his most valuable skill), he's just a bassist. Maynard, although a good vocalist, is not the best. He deserves recognition, but not as much as he gets. He does not have a very large range and not a ton of variation in his style. He goes for that melodic yet angry minister bit that works well. Each member together though forms an excellent chemistry. Each member compliments the others perfectly.

I will go ahead and say there is no filler on this album. Each track has something to it. The trouble is that those tracks seen as filler, are only seen that way because of waht surrounds them. Eon Blue Apocalypse could be styled into an entire album of that style. Same with Mantra and Faaip de Oaid. Each song is maybe not meticulously put together, but at least well done as a lucky guess by the writers. Tool seems to let their audience believe what they want to believe and sometimes, that is that Tool are musical masterminds, assembling everything perfectly and giving alternates when in reality (my cynical reality), they got lucky and never bothered to correct anyone. They would make excellent politicians. People love them and assume certain good things about them, whether they are true or not and, in good political fashion, Tool never bothers to clarify what they meant or wanted.

Each track on this album can be heard and enjoyed but certain ones fit together better than others. The Triad/Reflection/Disposition triplet is excellently done and could almost be called one song while Parabol/Parabola is one song. Schism and Mantra come off as one to me. Lateralus flows into the earlier spoken triplet with a certain ease and the way Ticks and Leeches flows into Lateralus is striking, although maybe a bit strange. The second half of the album is certainly better in almost all respects. Let me rephrase that, tracks 4 through the end. The Grudge, Eon Blue Apocalypse and The Patient are good, but a bit more stand alone without the same power as the others.

For an album with only one succesful single (Schism. People didn't hear Parabola on MTV more than once unless they are some sort of junkie) this sure as hell sold well and promises a huge fanbase to buy up the next album due sometime in '05. I will always remember and have this album, but it has slipped form my favorite of all time. It just doesn't carry the same weight it once did. A classic yes but not with everlasting replay value. It is on the other hand, a gateway drug of sorts. It introduced me to new styles of music and new tastes. Without this album, my love for avant-garde metal may never have began.



Recent reviews by this author
Verse AggressionTool 10,000 Days
Found Dead Hanging Dulling Occam's RazorJob for a Cowboy Doom
Me and Him Call It Us The (C:) Drive Of Love StoriesEphel Duath The Painter's Palette
user ratings (5087)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Adam Jones is GOD
May 6th 2005


113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I so agree with every word. People bash this album pointlessly as they have some problem with Tool fans, and others rate it far too highly.

This album can lead to many good things in influences, which is why I stil love it, its probably the milestone album in my collection.

Great review

SonorKen
May 6th 2005


3 Comments


This is one of my all time favorite albums. This album is one of todays best works of music. Certain tracks off this album continue the theme that Tool untook from thier first recording. I hope that thier next work will be the one to complete the journey that they have so cleverly laid out before thier targeted audience. If you have no idea what I am speaking of I challenge you to revisit all of thier works and look for a common theme amongst them. While there are certainly a few other themes, the theme I speak of is the only one still being wrote about in Lateralus.

From a musicians standpoint this album, along with Aenema, is literally a work of art. Understanding the tecnhical aspects of this album can be challenging at times but I feel I grew as a musician by learning from the work that the members of Tool put forth here.



Pig on the wing
May 6th 2005


25 Comments


I'm going to be honest: I hardly know who Tool are, let alone what they sound like. It is apparent to me, however, that this album is a true work of art. From what I've heard, it is on a par to (correct me if I'm wrong) Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon (To use an example that most have heard of) in its conceptual strength and artistic approach to both music and lyrics.

Can anyone back me up on this? Because it sounds like I'd love this album!

Dancin' Man
May 6th 2005


719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes. It is musically not that far removed from DSotM. There is more distortion but the concept idea and the flow is there.

Lateralias
May 6th 2005


10 Comments


You should definitely check it out! This album has got some major progression that Pink Floyd acheived often also... and no, I'm not comparing the two bands.

If Tool would have never created the music THEY wanted to create, Lateralus (or any of Tool's albums for that matter) would have never existed... Musical Art at it's best.

Werny
May 6th 2005


148 Comments


If you haven't heard this record, buy it now, turn all of the lights off, lock all of the doors, put headphones on, lie down on your bed and be blown away.

This is perfection.

This is Tool.

Thai Noodles2
May 6th 2005


4 Comments


Yea, this king crimson and rush are more of relaxing music that puts me to sleep than anything else, but I love this cd.

Dried Muffin Remnants
May 6th 2005


297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think that the review was dead on. However, I disagree with your opinion on the musicianship. While I agree that Adam's and Justin's playing on the album are not "special," I have to greatly disagree with your thoughts on Maynard and Danny Carey. Especially with Danny.

Danny Carey was BRILLIANT AND SPECTACULAR on this album, I don't see any two ways about it. He plays complex music with great precision and tone; he also has many memorable peformances such as from Ticks and Leeches, Triad, Reflection, and Lateralus.



Dancin' Man
May 7th 2005


719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I said Carey was superb but not the best, there being better drummmers out there. I also said Maynard was good but over rated.

Dried Muffin Remnants
May 7th 2005


297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I stand corrected. And on your latter point, I guess he could be overrated for that album. His vocals on nima were much more impressive, IMO. Lateralus was much more of an instrumental album.

JacksonPlayerA7X
May 7th 2005


8 Comments


I'm not a drummer, so my opinion doesn't really matter that much in that aspect, but Danny Carey is the best drummer -I've- ever heard. I think he's in a league of his own compared to say, Neil Peart.

I also think, as a guitarist, that Adam is one of the best guitarists out there. Sure, he bases songs on a couple of chords, but I don't think you have to be playing sweep arpeggios up and down the neck to be a great guitarist. He can create sounds that are totally unique, and he's about as far away from a 'riff stealer' as I've ever seen.

I say everything about this band is underrated. But that's just me.

Iai
Emeritus
May 7th 2005


3553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I say everything about this band is underrated. But that's just me.

Try spending 2 weeks in the R&M forum.

It gets a 3/5 from me. Marginally Tool's worst album.

br3ad_man
Emeritus
May 8th 2005


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is an ok album

3.5/5

PeEpHoLe_10
May 8th 2005


31 Comments


My favourite album of all time. It just never gets old to me.

Dancin' Man
May 8th 2005


719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I honestly think they aren't filler, or at least, very very well done filler. Just think of all the bands out there with super long intro's that are different from the rest of the song. Then think of the fillers as just that. Especially Mantra.

Shattered_Future
May 8th 2005


1541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First Tool album i got (and so far only).
At first, i couldn't stand this album. There seemed to be no point to it, and it just dragged on and on.

However, as my taste and understanding of music has grown, so has this album. Its not the best, but it flows really beautifully.

Fave song on here: The Paitent. Its just stunning.

Huber
May 9th 2005


66 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review. Coming from someone that thinks it's an "oldie but goody" and not just giving it infinite praise because it's there new favorite album after a few listens makes it much more accurate.

learn 2 swim
May 9th 2005


1 Comments


someday you will all wake up, untill than go back to sleep.

"over thinking over analyzing"

Dancin' Man
May 9th 2005


719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What the hell was that? Clearly we have a Tool fanboy in the thread. Your lyrical choice is entirely out of place. The whole point of this is that I didn't dive into those wild assumptions of Fibonacci or alternate stories. I reviewed the sound and coherency of an album and commented on the luck of the composers that certain other orders work.

Adam Jones is GOD
May 9th 2005


113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^^ And thats why its such a good review. You analysed the music.

This has actually moved past nima at last for my favourite Tool album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy