Obituary
Cause of Death


4.0
excellent

Review

by Atreyu_LambofGod_666 USER (3 Reviews)
April 30th, 2005 | 28 replies


Release Date: 1990 | Tracklist


Obituary - Cause Of Death

I assume most of you donít know that much about Obituary, so Iíll write some brief background information about them.
- Originally formed around 1984. Back then the band was called Xecutioner.
- Signed with Roadrunner Records
- Has one video with the song ďDonít Care"

Obituary is:
John Tardy - Vocals
Allen West - Lead Guitar
Trevor Peres - Rhythm Guitar
Frank Watkins - Bass
Donald Tardy - Drums

Ok, where do I start. This is death metal at its finest. I always find that the older death metal almost always has better quality musicianship. I heard of Obituary a long time ago, but only recently started listening to them since I got into death metal. The album Iím reviewing is ďCause Of Death." It was released in 1990.

Iíll start with the vocals. John Tardy is just meant to sing this way. His voice is similar to the singer of the band Death (not sure what his name is.) He has a mean growl. Not quite as low as some other death metal bands (ie Cannibal Corpse or Deicide), but I think it sounds better. The lyrics are typical of this genre. With song titles like ďChopped In Half" and ďBody Bag," I think you know what I mean.

Iíll move onto drums and bass. There is a lot of double kick action on this CD. The drums arenít extremely fast, but it definitely gets the job done. Many different cymbals come into play on this CD. The bass guitar on this CD pretty much just follows the guitar. It is actually fairly drowned out, which is something I hate in a CD but happens often.

I saved the best for last, the guitar work. Something that is lacking in a lot of death metal bands nowadays. Allen West and Trevor Peres put together a lethal combination of punishing power chords and insane solos. Iím pretty sure every song on the CD has at least one solo in it. All the guitar work is technical and fast. In my opinion, I think this is what the band is centered around, and Iím glad for it.

Well, there you go, a review on a CD I hope you all will go out and listen to and find out for yourself how great of a band these guys are.
-Joey


user ratings (504)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
K. McNichols (4.5)
Obituary masterfully blend simplicity with jaw-dropping technicality for their seminal second releas...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dead_Trench
April 30th 2005


159 Comments


Death's singer is Chuck Schindler.

Dancin' Man
April 30th 2005


719 Comments


Good CD and good review but not a 4/5. Pretty standard DM in my opinion. Check out Gorguts - Obscura. The guitar work (and everything else) will blow you mind.

Atreyu_LambofGod_666
April 30th 2005


26 Comments


I'll be sure to check them out. Cattle Decapitation one of my all time fav DM bands


Arrakakaka
November 1st 2005


685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great old school death metal.

Shadows
Moderator
November 1st 2005


2530 Comments


This guy doesn't sounds like Chuck though.

Good stuff anyway.

Apocalyptic Raids
February 27th 2006


810 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Best Death Metal album ever

Just so you all know, James Murphy played Lead Guitar here, and his soloing is godly.This Message Edited On 02.27.06

hardspot
October 10th 2006


39 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is the first death metal band I've started to like, Im usually only intrested in thrash or black metal.
Chopped in half is an amazing song. I can actually understand the lyrics and sing along, it's not in the imposible CC range and you can hear everything. I also like that the drums aren't so fast you don't hear the strokes. Yeah. Hey,in the track listing: Circle of THE Tyrants This Message Edited On 04.11.07

ExhumedandConsumed
May 29th 2007


1 Comments


THIS REVIEWER IS OBVIOUSLY A DUMBASS

First of all its JAMES MURPHY ON Lead Guitar. (Thankyou buzzment) Which is one of the reasons why the album is so good (No offense to West). James has also played in Death as pointed out.

Next, Death's main man (basically the only member) is C-H-U-C-K S-H-U-L-D-I-N-E-R not "Schindler" as some retard pointed out.

Lastly, chuck sounds nothing like Tardy. There is no comparison

and stop comparing Tardy's incredible vocals to CC's.

rattlehead42147
June 3rd 2007


1345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

james murphy is god and the review is average
and chuck SCHINDLER?! are you fuckig kidding me?This Message Edited On 06.03.07

kalkal50
June 29th 2007


2386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ok, where do I start. This is death metal at its finest.


This made me lol for some reason. Cliche statement and no question mark.

Tyler
Emeritus
June 29th 2007


7926 Comments


I dont know why it made you lol, this album is absolutely essential death metal in every way.

Angmar
July 6th 2007


2689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great album, not sure what to rate yet.

rattlehead42147
July 7th 2007


1345 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

alright i have to be the first to say this: this review is done poorly and incorrectly, expect one from me soon that does this justice, its not descriptive and it is honestly mediocre.

kalkal50
July 9th 2007


2386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I dont know why it made you lol, this album is absolutely essential death metal in every way.


It may be essential, but it's not really elaborate. I would've cleared that up instead of saying "death metal at its finest".

KILL
March 3rd 2010


72285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just got my cause of death t now my life is complete, btw gay fuckin username reviewer

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

BringMeTheWaffles.
August 18th 2010


221 Comments


lol'd at this user's name.
Too many fuck ups in your info to pos, so i negged. sorry bro.

SBG
February 14th 2011


4 Comments


Ok... once and for all: Chuck's last name isn't Schindler, nor Shuldiner, but Schuldiner.

KILL
February 15th 2011


72285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol

asylum667
February 23rd 2011


141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album fuckin slays. The title track owns, and I barely got into Death Metal.

KILL
March 18th 2011


72285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dying



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy