Alice in Chains
MTV Unplugged


4.5
superb

Review

by comm USER (1 Reviews)
March 31st, 2005 | 78 replies


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist


1. Nutshell - 4/5
Great opening track. The bass stands out in this song more than any other song in this album. Layne's vocals really merge in with the melody to make a great AiC song. Good for an opening track to get warmed up, but not one of the best songs on the album.

2. Brother - 4.5/5
Wow. That is about all I can say for this song. This song just sounds like Alice in Chains to me. Layne's vocals seem weak in the beginning of the song, but really pick up later in the song. They pulled this song off pretty good. The beginning is kind of weak, but they really pull it together by the end of the song. It makes for one of the better songs of this performance.

3. No Excuses - 3/5
A good AiC song, but they just didn't pull it off for this performance. There seems to be something lacking. The drumming gets annoying about halfway through the song. One of the low points of the CD. The only part I like about this song is at the end they start to play the intro to "Enter Sandman" by Metallica. Its pretty funny if you're not expecting it. I usually just skip to the end of the song.

4. Sludge Factory - 3/5
An average song for this CD. Nothing really stands out. I often skip over this song just cause it doesn't have any outstanding points that catch my ear.

5. Down in a Hole - 4/5
Good song for this performance, but they just couldn't get the sound. The vocals are great like always, but the lack of distortion on the guitar really disappointed me.The little bit of distortion on the "Dirt" version makes for a totally different song. Great song, but it just sounds flat without the distortion. Nirvana used distortion for "Man Who Sold the Wolrd" on their MTV Unplugged, I think AiC should have done the same thing for this song. Not alot, I'm just asking for a little. Without it, the bass kind of overpowers the guitar.

6. Angry Chair - 4/5
This had potential to be a great song acoustically, but there is one thing that stands out as "bad." Between lines in the chorus when Layne says "Little boy made a mistake" and "Pink cloud has now turned to grey" where he says "Hey!" it just sounds flat. Its like theres an empty space there. Besides that small point the song is great. Layne's voice sounds great, so does Jerry's guitar.

7. Rooster - 5/5
Great song. Second only to "Would?". Vocals are amazing. Verses and chorus both sound great. One of the highest points on the album. This song is definetly worth a listen.

8. Got Me Wrong - 4.5/5
Great guitars. They stand out more in this song than on any other song on the album. Layne also pulls off a killer vocal performance that makes songs like "Sludge Factory" and "No Excuses" sound wimpy. Probally my fourth favorite song on the album.

9. Heaven Beside You - 4.5/5
Great lyrics. I have always appreciated the lyrics of this song. This fights with "Got Me Wrong" for my fourth favorite. Guitars are average, and thats all that keeps this song from being in the top 3.

10. Would? - 5/5
This is a great song. Not only is it my favorite song on "Dirt," it is probally my favorite song on this album as well. Vocals, bass, and guitars all sound great. Along with "Rooster" and "Killer is Me," this song is what makes this album worth listening too. I love this song beyond words. My favorite song of AiC.

11. Frogs - 4/5
Wierd intro. It kinda freaks me out. Ends up being a good song though. Worth a listen.

12.Over Now - 3/5
Way too happy. All others AiC songs seem so depressing that this one almost seems out of place. Good song. The change of mood is pretty interesting. I usually don't skip over this song. Good song, the mood kinda sets it out of place though.

13. Killer is Me - 5/5
Great song. Probally my third favorite song on the album. This song is my goal when listening to this CD. This, "Would?" and "Rooster" really make this album. Without those this album is not that good. This song makes for a great outro because when people are listening to the other songs they are thinking of this song. At the end of "Over Now" they talk about how they are done with this show, but then they decide to do one more song. This album would have been incomplete without this amazing song.


Overall:
This is a great acoustic album with its high and lows. Worth a listen if you are a hardcore Alice in Chains fan, and maybe worth a glance if you are a casual fan. A great change of pace from the usual hardcore AiC albums. I give the CD an overall 4.5/5


user ratings (819)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
Matthijs van der Lee (5)
Is there a better way to complete an artist's legacy?...

teamsleep698 (5)
A great, great, album. So great a classic in my book. Rivals the live unplugged show of Nirvana. Wil...

Spence D. (5)
A stripped down live accoustic performance from Alice In Chains which grasps at the ehart of its lis...

temporary (3)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
comm
March 31st 2005


26 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is my first review. Enjoy.

I don't know how those smiley faces got up at the top though.

mranti
April 1st 2005


50 Comments


i agree with what you said for the most part. too bad so much caught up with them and they were only able to stick together for a handful of albums.

ESP47
April 2nd 2005


6 Comments


I think you were a little rough on them in some areas. Its really hard to make every song as good as it was on the original albums with only one take....and acoustically at that.

I really like Down in a Hole. I think the acoustic version is better than the electric. I love the raw sound of it. It goes along with the lyrics really well.

Nice review though. Im gonna have to give "Brother" and "Killer is me" another listen now.

Werny
April 28th 2005


148 Comments


I've heard Brother, Got Me Wrong, Over Now, Sludge Factory, Down In A Hole and Would? from this performance, and I'll be buying this someday.

Considering his status at the time, Layne is brilliant doing the singing.

I don't know if it's because I'm strange or manically depressed, but Alice in Chains always get me energetic and happy. So songs like Over Now (come on, it's gotta be one of the greatest riffs ever, and the lyrics are masterful) and Swing On This aren't strange to me.

Rainier
May 30th 2005


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

As stated by ESP47, on some parts you were a little harsh on the rating, example: Down in a Hole. I have never seen the Nirvana Unplugged show, but if they used any bit of distortion, then it is truly not an unplugged show. Down in a Hole is great, and truly unplugged because they did not use distortion on it.

heavy metal kid
October 3rd 2005


174 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is indeed a 5/5 album.

The best under the unpugged category.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 3rd 2005


15737 Comments


Nirvana's Unplugged >Alice In Chain's. IMO

Digging: Ricky Eat Acid - Three Love Songs

Electric Eye
October 5th 2005


7 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is one of my favorite albums EVER. This is the album that got me into Alice in Chains... The set is perfect Nutshell is an amazing introduction to the album, and the songs that follow are beautiful.

Some of my favorite songs on this album are "Down in a Hole," "Rooster" "Sludge Factory" and "Nutshell" Really though, there is no weak song on this album. This is prety much my #3 most listened to album this year, and I listen to ALOT of music...compulsively.

HIGHLY recommended.

JAStewart
December 27th 2005


180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sludge Factory is an amazing song!

Neoteric
January 31st 2006


3243 Comments


I (heart) this album (well, I have the DVD)

ktstein
January 31st 2006


438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent stuff...awesome guitar solos, great vocal harmonies. I like this version better than the studio version!!

Bassplayer101
January 31st 2006


34 Comments


this is the best album alice in chains released.I have the cd and the dvd. they are both incredible. good review

Manticore Guy
January 31st 2006


20 Comments


This is an amazing album.

Trexrosphere
January 31st 2006


50 Comments


pretty good first review.
some song descriptions are a little... O.K. but otherwise, nice detail.
i agree with IamJaco2; amazing alblum

man_in_the_box
April 20th 2006


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is an incredible album. I think you did a good job on your review but I disagree with your comment on Down in a Hole. I think it's perfect the way it is. Also I think Over Now is a definate highlight on the album. Other then that though I liked your review. Killer Is Me is an amazing song. I wish they recorded it in a studio.This Message Edited On 04.20.06

Mathias HIMSELF
May 30th 2006


161 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ive heard this was theyre last ever concert, is this true?

Whats in a name?
June 7th 2006


9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Alice in Chains are a great band but with the exception of the songs you mentioned as stand outs, this cd just seems like a good quality bootleg.

VoD
August 20th 2006


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I\'m afraid I have to completely disagree with electric city. Cobain only wished he could be half the leadman Layne Stayley was. If you\'ve heard one nirvana song you\'ve heard them all. AiC is the greatest band of their time. As far as the album sounding like a good quality bootleg...did you download it? I have the DvD and it sounds incredible.

Decent review but I disagree with you on No Excuses and Sludge Factory. You have to remember this is not only a live album but it's accoustic. Studio albums generally sound better than live one's because they are edited (not the words). They use little tricks to make the vocals sound better/smoother. Not only that but it's what is heard on the radio and it is usually what people are used to. This is an amazing album.

AiC and 96.25% of every other band in existance > NirvanaThis Message Edited On 08.20.06

Whats in a name?
August 22nd 2006


9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It is a good live album which is obvious but the band doesn’t exactly sound tight on every track and Laynes vocals aren’t always on key. It’s definitely not a 5 dude.

MrKite
November 5th 2006


5020 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

rooster is amazing. the intro to sludge factory sounds like the chorus from big long now.This Message Edited On 11.05.06



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy